Should Roscommon quit football altogether?

at least i big enough to appolgise squid

withualltheway (Louth) - Posts: 570 - 24/03/2010 16:55:19    597617

collosal squid?

Patch_eyes88 (Leitrim) - Posts: 217 - 25/03/2010 15:52:51    598657

No hassle withualltheway.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 25/03/2010 19:32:38    599135

After Cavan's victory last night division 4 beckons

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3182 - 28/03/2010 12:20:49    601075

Have to say todays game was extremely scrappy. We made simple mistakes and it cost us the game. We should have won that comfortably, but Wexford were lucky in the end. Our team is VERY young, we were missing so many players, and alot of this team will be playing before the seniors next weekend so i cannot see us beating Sligo, due to that. Referee was usual, when reffing our games was poor. I won bother naming him as I know HS will block my post. Some of the match and decisions were painful to watch. We had plenty of goal scoring opportunities that we didnt put away, Donie Shine scored some nice points but Wexford pulled away in the dying minutes with that goal and point.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 28/03/2010 17:22:39    601391

Lassie, dont't portion any blame with the referee, througout the game he was very generous to us !

A SO referee and WX in contention with SO for promotion...???? Strange appointment !

Two years of terrible fare, record championship defeat in 2009.

Div.4 for the first time ever ! (maybe pre 1960, 1950)

Average club players in the jersey!

Anyone to ask the Q why so many will not play for our Rossies, ...... Hoey, O'Neill, Cox, Devaney, O'Connor, Mannion (playing with St.B).

Some reasons have been put forward................but ?

Double standards by contributors to this forum, sheepstealers and local press.

Tarmon (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 28/03/2010 19:09:24    601553

I feel that Roscommon may have a long stay in D4. When you consider the teams there, Wicklow, Waterford, Leitrim, Longford and Fermanagh. Promotion will be very tight with anybody capable of beating anybody on a given day. I do not think Roscommon have the fight in them to challenge for promotion.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3182 - 28/03/2010 21:43:28    601796

Rossielassie, i wouldnt come on here to gloat, but HOW can you say that wexford were lucky ?? We had a good goal disallowed and a good point waved wide by the umpire.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 28/03/2010 21:48:39    601805

I honestly do think that, I didnt think ye were the better side. Ye had a goal disallowed because yer player Doyle was in the square before the ball came. Ye got a lucky decision that should have been a free for us in the last mins to get that goal. And you know that happened. If it didnt, we would have ended up a draw.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 29/03/2010 10:52:38    601941

Yesterday was a very sad day in Roscommon football. Playing div 4 football? I remember the days when we were in div 1 and 2 beating dublin,galway and tyrone..look how backwards we've gone! As per usual Duffy was dodgy, but we've no one to blame only ourselves. I fear the worst and it pains me to say I agree with Jack L. It could be 5-10 years before we play div 2 football again. Time to forget about the seniors and focus on the u-21s. Hopefully they'll win on saturday and give the county the lift it so badly needs1

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 29/03/2010 10:59:49    601953

Which point was waved wide?
I know in the second half, a ball went wide for wexford, that looked to curl wide, but i had my headphones on me and Willie Heagarty on Shannonside Fm thought it might have been a point but it 100% wasnt and the umpire actually made a correct call on that. Ive no beef with ye winning but i did think it was a lucky win. Wexford didnt run rings around us. And with the team we had (missing Ger Hen, The 2 Kilbrides, K Mannion whos only started back training after injury, R Cox, M O Carroll, J Dunning(?)) And if i included Gary Cox just on this, its alot of players who were around when we last played Wexford.
I understand ye didnt have Mattie Ford. Dont know if ye were missing other players. We had a v young team, i thought. Does anyone know how many on that team are on the U21 team?

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 29/03/2010 11:00:44    601955

Pipe down rossie lassie.We deserved to be beaten.By the way who is R.Cox?

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 29/03/2010 11:45:58    602015

In my opinion the sligo referee should never have been appointed a connaught referee for a connaught team doesnt seem very fair to wexford .
rossielassie the square ball rule is no longer enforced so the whole wexford team could stand in the square before the ball arrived and if that is why the goal was dissallowed it was unfair to wexford .we dont have mattie forde any more and probably wont have him anymore but we are trying to rebuild and getting to division 2 is crucial for us .
all i can say to roscommon fans is have patience ye have the under age players coming through and winning division four next year could be the spring board to bigger and brighter days ahead .

bogstandard (Wexford) - Posts: 799 - 29/03/2010 12:03:34    602043

It is sad to see a "proud" football county like Roscommon plying their trade in D4 next season with no guarantee of a speedy exit out of it either. Relegation confirmed with one round of games remaining. Where has it gone wrong.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 380 - 29/03/2010 12:39:42    602126

Ronan Cox. I dont know where he went to. Maybe hes gone longer than that, he just popped into my head so i said i would say it.
I actually thought we played alot better than we did against Cavan and no i wont pipe down. I assumed he ruled against that goal, for that descision but i probably am wrong on that.
Yes we lost, but we didnt make a disgrace of ourselves, the way i think we did against cavan. I could see potential in the younger lads.
Maybe people on this dont want to give the team any credit for that as we are religated now. And with the u21s playing before us on sat, we will have alot missing with them, and those who are missing. So a win against Sligo will seem impossible, as all our hopes are on the U21s.
Im sick to the teeth of people giving out about the team and calling for the managers head. What can we do if we dont have the players, or if we have alot of injuries and a young team.
Yes we are religated, but hopefully its only for the 1 year.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 29/03/2010 13:14:18    602228

To frederickwood and all the other reasonable roscommon supporters, i hope roscommon make a quick return to where they belong, in higher leagues. You have a proud tradition and a obvoiusly a decent under-age set up, you'll be back. I always enjoy going to the Hyde.
But rossielassie, get your head out of the sand. The "wide" i referred to kicked over the bar by R Barry in the first half, the goal should have stood because there is no square ball in the league.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 29/03/2010 13:25:30    602249

Give up football?
Im not a roscommon man but I know that if you were to give up football that would be ridiculous. Yere whole county would miss it and all the factors that come with it. Whether it be the trips to the matches, the pride of having your own club man playin for the county or just the pride in the jersey. I know its hard to keep pride when yere getting bet so badly but you just can't give up.

Under14_Div2_09 (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 29/03/2010 14:00:36    602337

Rossies4life, maybe the reason we have such an exodis of older players is because all they hear around the county is to forget about the seniors and focus on the younger players. Why would they want to stick around bursting themselves for a public who doesnt value them in the slightest. In my opinion roscommon supporters are the most fickle of the lot. it wont be long before were sayin forget about shine,ogara,domican and focus on the young players.

jjj (Roscommon) - Posts: 6 - 29/03/2010 14:02:36    602342

yellabelly
County: Wexford

602249 To frederickwood and all the other reasonable roscommon supporters, i hope roscommon make a quick return to where they belong, in higher leagues. You have a proud tradition and a obvoiusly a decent under-age set up, you'll be back. I always enjoy going to the Hyde.
But rossielassie, get your head out of the sand. The "wide" i referred to kicked over the bar by R Barry in the first half, the goal should have stood because there is no square ball in the league.

Yellbelly im not begrudging you the win, Ok so the wide we were both talking about is a different one. I only commented on that one as it was mentioned on the radio as it happened. Regarding the goal, yes there is no square ball, but nobody in the crowd, on the radio or indeed on todays paper (check the Star) could see why it wasnt allowed and assumed that as the reason.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 29/03/2010 14:17:16    602383

The rule is that you are not allowed in the small square before the ball is kicked. I'm assuming that the ref decided that the Wexford player was in the square before the free was taken and therefore disallowed the goal.

thelongfella (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 29/03/2010 15:08:55    602510