Moan moan moan. It's all a big conspiracy - rte, southern print media, southern politicians, southern voters. Heard mcguinness on radio today saying the racist thugs that forced the romanian families from their homes were probably from a loyalist area. So what? What does that have to do with what happened. I might add I heard him on rte - a bastion of anti-northern republican sentiment. The truth is that the vast majority of people in the south couldn't care less about what happens in the north, it simply doesn't cross their minds. Anyway we've all got bigger fish to fry at the moment, north and south, the economic situation is what is on most peoples minds. bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 17/06/2009 16:46:54 314958 Link 0 |
The fact of the matter is that for years Southern people have learned to switch off when it came to Northern Ireland, always moaning about this and that, and never happy. Yes there is no doubt that for years to be a Catholic in Northern Ireland was extremely dangerous, but the fact of the matter is that Northern Ireland is now a vastly changed place for the better, and I have a fair idea of what I'm talking about, as I lived in Belfast both before and after the Good Friday agreement. Yes there are still major problems up there, with sectarianism still rife ON BOTH SIDES, but please do not try and make out that its all one sided, the fact of the matter is that generally down here we would only get one side of it anyway, as sectarianism towards loyalists would never make the news down here. Either way, rightly or wrongly we automatically switch off whenever we hear of it. gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 17/06/2009 17:17:48 315012 Link 0 |
Do not. I repeat...DO NOT Listen to bluboy or paddyogall! These seoiníns do not speak for all of us and should rephrase their posts 'I dont care..' and 'I have no interest'. Lads, dont assume to speak for me, even as part of yer childish windup. Admittedly, Northern news is not top of the bill like it used to be during the Troubles in Southern papers/news programmes, but I can assure you that when something happens up North, the vast majority of people who are interested in Irish affairs of any kind treat it as a pressing Irish affair (e.g. Murder of soldiers in Antrim, Murder in Coleraine). A Northern affair is an Irish affair the same as gang violence in Limerick and Dublin! I remember when Omagh happened I was at a parish field day thingy at home in Laois and it was announced that something terrible had happened in Omagh. The whole place fell silent and many people started crying when the news came through that many people had died...this was in Co Laois where apparantly Im told people dont care!! spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/06/2009 17:25:41 315023 Link 0 |
Jaysus Ulsterman youre some pain in the bottom.....! fair play to you. You shoud run for Sinn Fein.. you'd fit right in. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 17/06/2009 17:26:33 315025 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2009 17:39:20 315045 Link 0 |
dhorse tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 17/06/2009 17:48:08 315058 Link 0 |
the truth is its british propaganda. and they irish media are once again taking their side to stay on the brits side. its pathetic. who do these loyalist think they are driving out people from another land. not so long ago it was their families who came to ireland from scotland. hypocrites 32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4140 - 17/06/2009 17:49:27 315061 Link 0 |
paddyogall once more you show your true colours. You are some tulip, mate. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 17/06/2009 17:54:25 315066 Link 0 |
ballinderryman tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 17/06/2009 18:01:17 315076 Link 0 |
What definition of republican are we running with here dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2009 18:01:40 315078 Link 0 |
spudenator bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 17/06/2009 18:06:24 315082 Link 0 |
spudenator bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 17/06/2009 18:36:11 315110 Link 0 |
I think bluboy post was honest,and hes not a Wum he has an opinion and hes intitled to it as is paddyogall,that is what democracy is tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 17/06/2009 19:29:20 315143 Link 0 |
democracy was also when in 1921 the will of the irish people throughout the whole 32 countys wanted freedom and it wasnt given. we dont live in a democratic world but we think we do 32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4140 - 17/06/2009 19:35:16 315156 Link 0 |
A seoinin or shoneen is basically an Irishman who prefers English customs and attitude to Irish ones. Twas a derogatory term used in Anglo Irish literature by the likes of Yeats and James Joyce. I was told somewhere along the line that the name originated from North American Indians to describe a member of an Indian Tribe that embraced the culture of a different tribe and that it is a mish mash of the names of two tribes such as The Sioux and The Cheyenne. I am not certain on this and if anyone has information to the contrary on its origin I would love to hear it. corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 17/06/2009 20:36:42 315205 Link 0 |
corkcelt bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 17/06/2009 20:49:32 315213 Link 0 |
corkcelt spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/06/2009 21:02:58 315230 Link 0 |
bluboy. I dont think you actually are one by the way. I called ye that in a brief moment of humour in an otherwise serious post. Its not a nice thing to say about a fellow Gael so your not one. My apologies in advance! However, if I remember my classes well and I usually dont, its basically the same as Jackeen or Jackín for a Dub, the Jack being the butchers apron, but as Im sure you know, people dont use that term in that sense anymore either ;) spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/06/2009 21:08:29 315238 Link 0 |
32_4_1 dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2009 21:09:25 315241 Link 0 |
corkcelt dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2009 21:14:51 315250 Link 0 |