The hypocrisy is nauseating!

When it comes to the North the Southern media are a disgrace. It appears to be politically incorrect to criticise any Loyalist sectarianism but they are constantly demonising Irish Republicans at every opportunity. I for one gave up buying the Sunday Independent. There was never an issue that didn't contain 3 to 5 negative articles or news stories about Sinn Fein.The number and the venom would of course increase pre election time. To my Republican brothers in the North please dont think all HS posters are apathetic to your position, I for one am with you 100%.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 17/06/2009 10:23:05    314397

Ah lads,its never a good idea talking about politics or religion.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 17/06/2009 10:26:06    314403

Real Louth fan County: Louth Posts: 1853 RTE news this morning reported the attacks on the Romanian families as their first headline. However, they said the attacks were acrried out by "local people" No mention of Combat 18 or Loyalists whatsoever. Conjuring up an image in the mids of all southerners "oh sure they are all as bad as each other"Could you imagine what RTE would say if this had happened in a Republican area? RTE didnt report anything about Combat 18 or loyalist involvement because the local police said there was no evidence of that. The Irish Times today reports that it had been suggested that these groups were involved and also reported the Nazi salutes and Mein Kampf stuff - YESTERDAY. The reason they said only local people were involved is because thats what Lisburn Rd police said from reviewing CCTV! These proper news organisation dont engage in speculation...this may seem to you like theyre blaming this on random "mad Northerners" but all there doing is avoiding making links to organisations that its not confirmed were involved. I personally think they were involved or at least that these thugs are sympathisers (I live a 2 minute walk from Wellesley Avenue and have seen certain graffiti in the area so I do, unlike you RLF, know what Im on about here)...but its not for news reporters to report they are if the police say theyre not involved. News reporters shouldnt make the news. But then, Im sure you'd probably prefer to see a solid bit of tabloid sensationalism

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/06/2009 10:38:59    314417

The Irish State has forgotten these people to.In 1996 relatives of the victims of the bombings, Justice for the Forgotten, launched a campaign for a public inquiry.[9] As their name implies, the group stated that they had been 'forgotten' by the Irish state.[10] On July 23 1997 the group lobbied the European Parliament. MEPs from many countries supported a call for the release of files related to the Dublin and Monaghan bombings. However, on August 27 of that year, an Irish Court declined to order the release of the files.[11] In August 1999, Irish Victims Commissioner, John Wilson, reported on the demand for a public inquiry. He proposed a judicial inquiry, held in private. In December 1999, the Taoiseach Bertie Ahern, appointed Mr. Justice Liam Hamilton to undertake a thorough examination of the bombings, in a private inquiry. Justice for the Forgotten agreed to co-operate. The inquiry began work early in 2000. In October 2000 Justice Henry Barron was appointed to succeed Justice Hamilton. Relatives then campaigned for publication of Justice Barron's initial report. It was presented to the Taoiseach on October 29, 2003, and published with five names redacted on December 10, 2003. The Irish government demanded that the British government hand over official documents relating to the bombings, that were denied to the Barron Inquiry. The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, John Reid, delivered a 16 page letter, but refused to hand over original documentation, claiming security concerns, despite the passage of time. Barron observed, "Correspondence with the Northern Ireland Office undoubtedly produced some useful information; but its value was reduced by the reluctance to make original documents available and the refusal to supply other information on security grounds. While the Inquiry fully understands the position taken by the British Government on these matters, it must be said that the scope of this report is limited as a result."[12] On February 16 2005 The Joint Committee on Justice, Equality, Defence and Women's Rights recommended that the Irish Government bring a case before the European Court of Human Rights to force the UK Government to hold a public inquiry into the bombings. In June 2005 the Irish government threatened to bring the British government to the European Court of Justice, to force the release the files on the bombings.[13]

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 17/06/2009 10:42:43    314422

So what Ulsterman? You to me area just a big whinger who likes the sound of his own voice and thinks its cool to be a 'chucky'
Wise up man...

jimmyjoebob (Armagh) - Posts: 137 - 17/06/2009 10:43:25    314423

Ulsterman - that was some rant. I understand that your feelings are running high and probably rightly so
but making such cutting comments about us in the Republic is pointless.
I think you will find a lot of sympathy for your (and others) suffering down here. However you are certainly
going the wrong way about it by posting in such anti-southern terms.

We are all on the one side and your post is playing into "enemy" hands by only serving to divide us.

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 17/06/2009 11:37:53    314487

17/06/2009 10:38:59
spudenator
County: Laois

I do, unlike you RLF, know what Im on about here)...b

?

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 17/06/2009 12:06:31    314533

I think there is an even bigger ignorance among unionists about Ireland and its history and even their own history.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 17/06/2009 12:28:54    314563

This is a pathetic thread, Rte news and southern Media give regular coverage to goings on North of the Border. I also watch BBC Northern Ireland news coverage, you would think that the south of Ireland does not exist, sure even when they give the weather forecast the map of Ireland is just a map Of Ulster, how sad is that. The headline on this Thread could also refer to Ulstermans first post.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 17/06/2009 12:51:18    314597

17/06/2009 12:51:18
PJ

314597 This is a pathetic thread, Rte news and southern Media give regular coverage to goings on North of the Border. I also watch BBC Northern Ireland news coverage, you would think that the south of Ireland does not exist, sure even when they give the weather forecast the map of Ireland is just a map Of Ulster, how sad is that. The headline on this Thread could also refer to Ulstermans first post.

Dem chips'll be gettin cowld. Better make a shtart on em!! :D

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 17/06/2009 13:00:16    314612

Was there A
also some poor catholic killed in a crowded bar in belfast, but no witnesses saw anything. do you boys ever stop whinging

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 17/06/2009 13:29:58    314662

some elements in the southern media do a total injustice towards northern republicans/nationalists in their reporting of events. if they had brains they'd be dangerous. anyway the only people i have faith in are the cork people. they are true republicans! they've always held solidarity with the northern nationalists throughout difficult times.

ballinderryman (Derry) - Posts: 98 - 17/06/2009 13:52:36    314694

PJ - its not the quantity of coverage - its the quality. I'm a long term resident in the republic and I can tell you for a fact that a significant proportion of the reporting of news relating to the six counties is of a really poor standard. Given that most senior journalists and editors were trained while Section 31 was in force from 1971 to the mid-1990s, its not really a suprise. The success of Section 31 probably means that a lot of the people reading this have never actually heard of it...

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 17/06/2009 14:23:34    314736

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

314612 17/06/2009 12:51:18
PJ

Dem chips'll be gettin cowld. Better make a shtart on em!! :D

I speak my mind openly and honestly . I will not be detered by your apathy or negativity. have a nice Mr Wum

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 17/06/2009 14:36:12    314748

ballinderryman
County: Derry

314694 some elements in the southern media do a total injustice towards northern republicans/nationalists in their reporting of events. if they had brains they'd be dangerous. anyway the only people i have faith in are the cork people. they are true republicans! they've always held solidarity with the northern nationalists throughout difficult times.

Bit of a generalisation there to say the least, plenty of chips on ballinderryman RLF

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 17/06/2009 14:49:38    314774

pearsesabu

314736 PJ - its not the quantity of coverage - its the quality. I'm a long term resident in the republic and I can tell you for a fact that a significant proportion of the reporting of news relating to the six counties is of a really poor standard. Given that most senior journalists and editors were trained while Section 31 was in force from 1971 to the mid-1990s, its not really a suprise. The success of Section 31 probably means that a lot of the people reading this have never actually heard of it...

So is the reporting of news relating to the 26 counties from the Northern based media of a higher standard, I think not.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 17/06/2009 14:58:18    314788

ballinderryman
County: Derry

some elements in the southern media do a total injustice towards northern republicans/nationalists in their reporting of events. if they had brains they'd be dangerous. anyway the only people i have faith in are the cork people. they are true republicans! they've always held solidarity with the northern nationalists throughout difficult times.

This is all really getting quite silly. If what you equate with being "true republicans" and solidarity with Northern nationalists is activity in certain organisations. It might interest you to note that last new years eve when 30 year old classified info could be released, the government info from 1979 on IRA activity revealed that outside of the border counties, Laois and Offaly were the 2 counties with the highest levels of such activity. Also, there were more active IRA members from Monaghan than there were in Fermanagh. So if thats what you mean by true republicans (and it certainly isnt my interpretation of the word), then youre skating on very thin ice criticising us Southerners. The Republic and true republicans like myself, my parents and grandparents have, since the border was established, never abandoned our Northern brothers and sisters and frankly, Im getting quite sick of ye thinking we did.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 17/06/2009 15:02:46    314800

when one of my relatives was on the run in the early 70's he and his family were subject to a torrent of abuse from their so called southern bretheren. the filth hurled at them wouldn't be suitable or appropriate to post. i am not particularly bitter or hung up on what happened but i can understand why notrthern nationalists are annoyed and feel let down by people in the 26 counties. when i say cork are true republicans i'm not trying to state that in terms of ira activity duroing the last 40m years of conflict, because quite frankly that is a non-issue. people in cork i believe would be quite sympathetic with our cause compared to other counties that's all i'm trying to say.

ballinderryman (Derry) - Posts: 98 - 17/06/2009 15:38:52    314854

PJ - I didn't know this was a southern v northern news media competition. Having lived on both sides of the border, I'd say they both have their pros and cons. In terms of censorship, though, at least journalists in the north made some attempt to resist political censorship.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 17/06/2009 15:50:39    314878

why should we in the south pander to the you in the North?, lets call a spade a spade here most people in Ireland dont really care about what happens in Northern Ireland.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 17/06/2009 16:20:59    314933