Championship predictions

Very exciting game yesterday evening, with clonguish getting out of jail with the late goal. It was hard on ballymahon who really put it up to them throughout and deserved a draw from the game at least. This game will stand to clonguish, and I fancy them to go on and beat dromard. Dromard were well fired up on Saturday, abbey just didn't come out in the second half, I thought they were really disappointing.

It's the final most people had hoped for and should be a high scoring affair with the best forwards in the county on show.

SonicDHedgehog (Longford) - Posts: 150 - 31/08/2009 13:22:22    410003

Fair play to Clonguish. They deserved the win after having 5 other goal chances saved and put wide and also kicked a few pointable kicks wide as well. Its the first time I seen Paul Barden miss a penalty but was told he was suffering with the flu prior to the game so can forgive him for that!!

Dromard destroyed Abbeylara in the second half. It was probably more to do with Abbey not turning up in second half then Dromard been that much better. It should make for a cracking final with two out and out attacking teams going at it. Dromard by 2 I think!!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1365 - 01/09/2009 10:41:57    411267

Well lads. Hows your senior championship going? What stage are ye at and who's the favourites to land the title?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 961 - 01/09/2009 17:17:20    411977

Well, you should read the trads. Clongluish will play Dromard in the final. If you look at all the players on both sides, then you can see some of the best footballers in Longford over the last few years. Yes, I know that every club has some excellent footballers, so lets not go there. For Clongluish you have the Barden brothers, the Dowds, Colie Clarke, Joe O'Brien, Burke (the Gooch) and Darren Quinn (excellent in the Semi-final) all in the forwards, then you have young faughlin at midfield, whose father comes from Dromard as far as I know. For Dromard you have Masterson Brothers, McGee, Martin Brothers, Mimnagh, Donie Conefery and young Ronan McEntire (made the difference when came in). There midfield of Reynolds and McEntire worked against Abbey, but will struggle against Clongulish. Their backs have young Sheirdan (I think he is an excellent reader of the game, maybe a few inches too small to be a county star), Cathal Conefery and Pettit hold the back line together. Of course you have the two county goal keepers in opposition also.
I am not calling it yet, but it could be an excellent game, if they two teams go for it..

acomeon (Longford) - Posts: 82 - 01/09/2009 23:07:58    412506