Galway Hurling Team

I'm just going to make a few suggestions for the Galway hurling team. Maybe Ollie Fahy for the full foward position and Padraig Walsh for the full back position. Eoin Lynch at midfield.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 12/05/2008 16:19:12    18092

Ah lads come on... You have to be joking here... Ollie Fahy... That is the best one I've heard all day!!!! He had his day in the sun...A long time ago. NO WAY he is good enough for a senior intercounty team.
In all fairness to Padraig Walsh hear he is hurling very well at full back for Turlough but same as think he has had his day... Big difference between club and county at their age!!

hurlerondditch (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 12/05/2008 16:49:57    18110

I was at the Clarinbridge-Kinvara match at the weekend, and the no. 2 stood out for me, Jamie Cannon. He was on the Galway u-21 team a few yrs back and I think he'd deserve a chance on the county senior team seen as we're obviously struggling in the full back line. I know we have two great corner backs so maybe they could try him at full back. It was interesting to watch his performance in comparison to his team mate David Forde, really no comparison.

Ballinderreen Girl (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 12/05/2008 18:01:17    18151

i agree eoin lynch will be there or there abouts olie fahy played well again cashel in athenry on saturday evening but the cashel full back wasnt upto much.olie is to old now and there are a lot better fowards around the county.walsh although a good club hurler never really possesed the speed for inter county.

manawatu (Galway) - Posts: 34 - 13/05/2008 15:20:47    18516

Ollie Fahy though was the one player that Brian Lohan used to hate playing against. He could be Galway's Brian Corcoran.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 13/05/2008 19:37:14    18665

Although a good player over the years, he would not be in the same league as Brian Corcoran. Probably shouldn't have been dropped by Hayes some years ago however over the top now for that level.

nailhimstones (Galway) - Posts: 114 - 15/05/2008 09:54:23    19166

I think there surely has to be a decent full back and full foward playing club hurling in Galway? Dont like the idea of playing Shane Kavanagh full back, I think he is playing well in the half back line.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 15/05/2008 10:00:54    19173

all ill say clash of da ash is im glad your not over the galway team.ollie fahy and padraig walsh- give me a break.

catch the ball (None) - Posts: 90 - 15/05/2008 17:43:38    19582

Hey catch the ball whats wrong with padraig walsh getin a go as co fullback have u seen him play this year he goin great,unless u have seen him play then dont be sayin give me a break then.

Hurler14 (Galway) - Posts: 31 - 15/05/2008 20:53:46    19641

all ill say clash of da ash is im glad your not over the galway team.ollie fahy and padraig walsh- give me a break.

catch the ball

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You criticize my suggestions and don't make any yourself. Who do you think should be playing there so and don't say Tong óg Regan.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 15/05/2008 23:04:24    19683

With David Tierney hurling so impressive for K-Leitrim in the Intermediate c-ship so far do people think Ger-Loc should bring him back into the panel.
He will be marking Andrew Keary when they play Killimor tomorrow evening and if he continues his superb start to the c-ship bagainst Keary I think he should be brought back into the Galway set-up.

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 243 - 16/05/2008 10:35:02    19769

ger mahon should be full back.played very well last year against kilkenny.i know he made a mistake which led to a goal but you have to remember he was only 20 at the time and will learn from the experience.i believe a full backline of moore,mahon and canning has a good look to it.as regards the other end of the field i think kevin hynes should be centre forward.this is where he has played all his underage hurling.this move would release fergal healy to his best position of midfield.by doing this you would be losing nothing in midfield but you would definitely strengthen the centre forward position.ollie fahy and padraig walsh should be no where near a panel with aspirations of winning the all ireland.

catch the ball (None) - Posts: 90 - 16/05/2008 14:49:28    19968

Ger mahon is on critches just shows what some of ye know

g0 (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 17/05/2008 15:40:38    20212

Michael John Quinn from athenry should be there, the man can play anywhere and has definaely enough quality to make that team

lash_it_over (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 17/05/2008 20:45:26    20242

Eugene Cloonan is back on the squad. Ollie Canning made captain.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 18/05/2008 23:22:12    20435

I'd agree that Michael John Quinn should be on the panel.

nailhimstones (Galway) - Posts: 114 - 19/05/2008 11:42:36    20588

clash of the ash your way off the mark.. wel win no all ireland the way were carring on.. kennedy dropped last week wel win nothin with that craic goin on no way.. very surprised with gerlock some chang in character since the clare days

niall h (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 19/05/2008 17:59:23    20917

Should Damien Hayes not have been made captain before Ollie Canning,

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 19/05/2008 20:07:22    20964

People on this only talk about football even though the hurlers have a better chance of winning the All Ireland.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 22/05/2008 14:17:13    22270

How will Galway fair against Wexford tomorrow?

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 01/06/2008 23:17:06    26674