Another Leinster epic

paddyogall

310822 PJ

310775 Kildare would beat every team in Connacht easily,

Really, well some one forgot to tell Kildare players that, Sligo beat them in a challange match last week

I think you will find Kildare beat Sligo by 6 points. Get your facts right

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 14/06/2009 20:14:47    310994

"mayo are a joke for a county that does nothing else only play football"

I'm sure i could make a list of counties INCLUDING Meath who have achieved less than Mayo in recent years.... who play nothing but else but football.......

at least Mayo have recently reached an All Ireland final recently which is more than can be said for a lot of counties

summerof69 (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 14/06/2009 20:25:47    311010

14/06/2009 20:14:47
JJ1

310994 paddyogall

310822 PJ

310775 Kildare would beat every team in Connacht easily,

Really, well some one forgot to tell Kildare players that, Sligo beat them in a challange match last week

I think you will find Kildare beat Sligo by 6 points. Get your facts right

No Sligo beat Kildare by 6 points

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 14/06/2009 20:32:18    311023

paddyogall

Paddy no leinster team would fear connacht,only 1 connacht team has beating Dublin since the 30s

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/06/2009 20:41:01    311035

What is the deal with all this anti-Leinster stuff? There's rubbish football being played across the country, and whenever a serious match is played in Connacht, I'm sure it'll be the same there. Or was Letrim v Roscommon the wonderful match of everyone's dreams?

Besides, Leinster people are among the first to acknowledge the weakness of their teams. But the last few years have been more about Ulster and Munster than the other two provinces. And both of those two provinces have problems of their own.

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 14/06/2009 20:51:10    311048

In recent years Westmeath played over half the teams that play in Connacht championship and beaten them in the Championship, including Galway and Mayo. And apparentlyWe are the weakest county in the weakest province, It doesn't quite make sense.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 14/06/2009 20:53:06    311051

For all those Leinster - bashing Connacht posters here , can we have some recent facts to back up your statements ?
For example , which the only province to have had 3 teams in All -Ireland quarter finals in 2008 ? Leinster ( Dublin , Wexford , Kildare )
Which provinces had 2 semi - finalists each in 2007 ? Leinster and Munster. ( Meath v Cork . Kerry v Dublin )
Wexford easily beat the Ulster champions Armagh in 2008 .
Laois and Meath were the last two teams from outside Ulster to beat Tyrone .
God it must be tough to win Connacht when you have to face the might of New York or London in a quarter final . Beating two division 4 ( from 2009 league ) teams gets Galway to a provincial final this year . What a joke .

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 817 - 14/06/2009 21:13:33    311089

ridiculous thread

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 14/06/2009 21:17:40    311096

I think its our farm land that they're jealous of!

What was that Cromwell said???

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 14/06/2009 21:56:12    311141

i would much rather have the likes of Kildare Laois Offaly as my provincial rivals then Leitrim Sligo or the Rossies. Leinster has proper football counties

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 14/06/2009 22:12:45    311159

bring on gurty ,was it not mayo men that had to show ye how to farm the land,hence the great footballers wit mayo blood o malley lyons o rourke (leitrim) etc etc full of west of ireland names is meath

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/06/2009 22:37:41    311191

i dont think by any stretch of the imagination that leinster is the only province suffering here...granted leinster hasnt been competitive on the biggest stage in recent years but the standard of football in general this year has been pretty awful...i really enjoyed the cork/kerry replay but apart from that the rest has been pretty shocking...terrible shooting/pulling dragging/persistant fouling/bunching the lot...we all have our own theories how the game got like this but in my opinion as a life long fan of gaelic football i think its in crises....i also feel that if people think that this is just a leinster problem they really need to have a good look at themselves...

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 14/06/2009 22:52:00    311209

Malonemagic
County: Laois

Some solid facts there. It reminds me of the last 4 semi-finals (2007 and 2008). How did the Connacht teams get on in them - I just can't put my finger on it, but I'm sure Galway won, didn't they? ;)

Agree with the poster who says the problems extend far beyond Leinster.

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 15/06/2009 00:24:17    311300

I love an auld plate of spuds and butter.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 15/06/2009 10:01:40    311418

The_Real_IA

311300 Malonemagic
County: Laois

Some solid facts there. It reminds me of the last 4 semi-finals (2007 and 2008). How did the Connacht teams get on in them - I just can't put my finger on it, but I'm sure Galway won, didn't they? ;)

Agree with the poster who says the problems extend far beyond Leinster.

Well last year Mayo got beat but the All ireland champions Tyrone by a point and Galway got beat by the All Ireland finalists by 2 points

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 15/06/2009 10:26:51    311444

squidword
County: Louth

311418 I love an auld plate of spuds and butter.
------------------------------------------------------------
Thought you were more of a fish man?

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 15/06/2009 11:13:14    311496

No derfil1 I'm partial to the auld spud and the wee bita butter.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 15/06/2009 11:29:36    311527

When are we going to have to endure the first Connaught football match?

SuperCats (Kilkenny) - Posts: 101 - 15/06/2009 12:38:06    311660

i think leinster has stronger teams overall than connaught,but i think mayo and galway are stronger now than any of the teams in leinster,thats just my opinion.though i do hope kildare get stronger,i love geezer.and lads,for once and for all,stop bringing up results of challenge matches,its embarrassing,and try and stick to recent memories when making a point!someone went back pre war when comparing the two provinces records eh tomo?we are realists,believe!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 15/06/2009 13:03:22    311701

BRING_ON_GURTY!
I think its our farm land that they're jealous of!
What was that Cromwell said???

I'm a rock farmer from Connemara. You keep your sprawling, lush, fertile green meadows, I'm happy with my lunaresque landscape thank you very much.

As for the rows going back and forth, it's just that time of the Championship. Once the runners and riders are in place for the cups, all of this carry on will slow right down as a quality side will be facing an equally quality side. And don't worry, if Galway & Mayo get through their upcoming matches (and neither looks certain at this moment in time) we'll start throwing sods of turf at each other instead of at Leinster etc in the run up to the Nestor cup. Once the Connacht final has been settled we'll then return to poking every other province. Sure it's what we do best, and by God we're good at it.

Up the West.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 15/06/2009 13:20:43    311732