Joe Brolly

Monaghan posters. How are the chips holding up after 4 weeks. I think it's time for ye to move on. Every time I go into a thread about the Sunday game, Brolly or Derry ye are still giving out. Are ye all really that bitter. Time for ye to move on and look forward to what could be a cracking game against Armagh.

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 22/06/2009 11:17:42    319115

give me a hug YOP;-)

superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 22/06/2009 11:47:55    319171

Yop, the way he talked about Monaghan in the aftermath of the game and his general behaviour, he obviously left a bad taste in the mouth for alot of people. Of course some are going to be annoyed and go on about it a bit. It would be the same on here if he did that to any other county.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 22/06/2009 12:05:06    319203

superfarney
County: Monaghan

I don't give out hugs willy nilly but this time I'll make an exception :)

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 22/06/2009 12:16:30    319232

Joe Brolly needs to show a bit more respect and stop natterin on about nothing. Last night in the analysis of the Derry v Tyrone game...he dominated discussion and at one time told Pat Spillane to sssshhh. Brolly, with resect won a single All-Ireland......and here he is in the presence of O'Rourke and Pat Spillane with a total of maybe 12 All Irelands between them and he is behaving like a Barrister in Court which is his day job. If he wants to play Barrister....do so daily in Belfast but when on the Sunday game....would someone mention to him that its a GAA programme about Gaelic games. Micheal Lyster needs to be a bit stronger and tell him to be quiet.

If however he wants to rant about "how dissapointed" he was in Derry....I suggest he stops his 7 Series BMW in Owenbeg three times a week and give something back to his County instead of self-publicising on RTE weekly. These ex players who take their glory and medal(s) and give nothing back but blabbering are an annoying part of our great game......and yes TV is part of our great game.

atlanticgael (Donegal) - Posts: 207 - 22/06/2009 12:34:21    319245

Hello there, just going back to a discussion on the TV pundits a couple of weeks ago. No one mentioned Bernard Flynn. Although he does'nt get much Airtime I think he is the best analyst of all. He is very accurate with his analysis, not afraid to speak his mind when he feels strong about it and does not seem the need to make it "His Show" unlike the likes of Spillane and Brolly. They seem to think they are bigger than the programme itself. Flynn was on live for the Kildare v Wexford game a couple of weks ago and he was a joy and easy to listen to. RTE should have him on more as I feel it would shake the programme up and make it fresher.......Up Down!!

mournemachine (Down) - Posts: 1 - 25/06/2009 08:15:01    322505

How come everyone is on about Brolly and Spillane. O Rourke is the one who annoys me. In my opinion he loves to pontificate and Brolly doesnt allow him to do that. The thing that strikes me most is that there is a very bad atmosphere between these lads. I wonder if that doesnt put viewers off?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 25/06/2009 10:23:01    322572

BIG SACKS Totally agree, In my opinion, O Rourke sits there stirring and then comes put with some of the most hypocritical comments about the style of play certain team carry out...

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 25/06/2009 11:09:12    322625

Have to agree with mournemachine, I think Bernard Flynn should be given a chance. He is great to listen to and knows what he is talkin about. Anthony Tohill and Dara O'Cinneide also could be moved to the main show.

tir_eoghain_abu (Tyrone) - Posts: 773 - 25/06/2009 19:19:57    323187

You must be jokin,TOHILL!?! Spillane is the best without doubt,bernard flynn?remember when he said the round of the tie about a qualifier game 1 year,I fell around the place laughin.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 26/06/2009 11:57:34    323748

Honourable mention for toe-knee davis,great lad as well.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 26/06/2009 11:58:21    323749

Before Tyrone played Dublin last year and just after they had squeezed past Mayo by a point Bernard Flynn referred to Ulster football as a 'one trick poney' that had been found out and that Dublin would turn them over in style. Thats from a man yis think knows what he`s talkin about!

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 26/06/2009 17:11:14    324188

Watched the Galway Sligo game today, unfortunately couldn't hear what the pundits were saying, but Brolly - I have totally lost what ever little respect I had for him. I have never ever seen such a lack of respect shown by an pundit. I thought that his slouching was bad enough last week, but have you ever seen a pudit or for that matter anyone on an sports panel holding their hand against their head while they were talking. It was one of the first things I was taught at school when speaking to anyone in public. A total lack of respect shown to his colleagues and to you and me who were watching, a disgrace he should be ashamed of himself.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 28/06/2009 22:02:55    325725

gaelantrim

324188 Before Tyrone played Dublin last year and just after they had squeezed past Mayo by a point Bernard Flynn referred to Ulster football as a 'one trick poney' that had been found out and that Dublin would turn them over in style. Thats from a man yis think knows what he`s talkin about!

In fairness he didnt say anything that the entire southern based media hadnt said as well, the entire pundit race were caught out well and truly so Flynn was not an isolated case.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/06/2009 22:38:02    325765

He was in a huff over something that is for sure, fair play to spillane and o'rourke for disagreeing with him. He was a disaster on there today

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/06/2009 22:43:10    325771

Have to agree Bernard Flynn is a great analyst. I would like to see him, Dara O Cinnede and Peter Canavan on. Them three actually can relate to todays game on not give their medieval view of the way football should be played.

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 28/06/2009 22:45:32    325775

Heard him having a go at the ref this afternoon for actually applying the rules as they are written and also dismissing a player punching/attempting to punch a player on the ground as nothing,

cmx (Monaghan) - Posts: 446 - 28/06/2009 22:47:13    325780

dara o cinneide, tony davis, and mc stay are the best analysts going- stick to blowing kisses joe

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 29/06/2009 18:04:07    326823