Disgrace these players got bans halved. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/06/2009 17:17:33 308531 Link 0 |
Yop I would take at guess at the fact Mc Guigan got 4 weeks for the same incident a few months ago. It's hard to argue with that. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 11/06/2009 17:17:45 308532 Link 0 |
Oh dear oh dear......... The GAA is a feckin joke! jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/06/2009 17:24:07 308546 Link 0 |
Yop, the ban is officially for "attempting to strike", it wasn't an actual headbutt. My point is he didn't throw the head straight into McGuckin, they clashed heads which Tommy initiated. What's so funny about this, did you even see the incident? As I say, I'm not at all saying Tommy is blameless, but he doesn't deserve as much of a suspension as the other 2 lads. Instead he gets double. Extraordinary stuff altogether, you have to wonder what kind of idiots are in charge of this. mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 11/06/2009 17:26:47 308550 Link 0 |
Doherty was suspended for being sent off. He shouldn't have been sent off, well not for what he was dismissed for, if you follow. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/06/2009 17:27:31 308554 Link 0 |
We have double standards here by the GAA but that is not unusual because some counties get better treatment that others. What Monaghan County Board should do is refuse to pay the fine until they are treated the same as Derry because we all know the only way to hurt GAA Ireland is through the pocket. When the like of the president of the GAA and all his paid cronies don't get their extortionate weeks wages you would find the decision would be soon looked into and changed. Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 11/06/2009 17:50:04 308585 Link 0 |
Mulligan Eamonn, don't you understand? The CCC had no option to half Mullans ban, I'm sure the defence likened it to that of Mc Guigan who got 4 weeks. I agree Freemans should have also been halved but for those to say it weasn't an attempted headbutt are absurd. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 11/06/2009 17:53:33 308590 Link 0 |
Niamh, why did they have no option but to half Mullen's ban? I know McGuigan only got 4 weeks but 2 wrongs don't make a right, and they should have the balls(no pun intended!), to give him the proper ban that he deserved for a horrible act which doesn't belong on a football field. But instead they bowed to pressure and copied the ban given out to a similar incident from months ago so there wouldn't be uproar from Derry, complaining about favouritism to Tyrone. mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 11/06/2009 17:59:52 308597 Link 0 |
enda.muldoon, I can see where your coming from but your wrong to think of Tommy Freeman in that way. He is actually very quiet. Its the brother who is the cocky one! Tommy only clenchs the fists and stuff like that when he scores to rally the rest of the team and the crowd, because everybody responds well to a Freeman point around Monaghan! His points have lifted Monaghan many times, thats why he gets so excited after he scores. And in my opionan the 3 of them should of got the 8 weeks. Omen (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 11/06/2009 18:19:38 308615 Link 0 |
Also Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 11/06/2009 18:21:40 308620 Link 0 |
re niamh 11/6 Please don't treat me like a child course i know it was over the other decision but why was Mullins ban made at 8weeks in the beginning if the committee knew it would be halved on appeal. Tommie's incident was no better or worse than the other two, all us ordinary Joe soaps want is consistency and a level playing field for all not favoritism for some. The Gaa should treat each case on its merits not listen to Brolly and Spillane who think they are important. Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 11/06/2009 18:21:56 308621 Link 0 |
MMM exactly there would have been uproar and the inconsistency of the CCCC would have been questioned even more. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 11/06/2009 18:42:00 308639 Link 0 |
Niamh Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/06/2009 18:50:58 308651 Link 0 |
re niamh 11/6. Course i know the ccc had no other choice but to halve the ban, but why did they dish it out in the first place if they knew it would be halved on appeal.Tommie's incident was no better or worse than the other two and he should have been treated the same way.This is why all us ordinary people want is fair play for everyone not special treatment for some. Now the whole thing got out of hand from the beginning when the Gaa listened to Brolly and Spillane rather than judging the match on its footage and merits. What them pair of boys should do is take up bally-dancing seeing they want to cut out all man to man contact in our game Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 11/06/2009 19:04:22 308666 Link 0 |
i'm not exactly sure who the people are who give out these suspensions, but in the fairness to all players, the gaa need to start up POD09 (Limerick) - Posts: 486 - 11/06/2009 19:28:18 308682 Link 0 |
Doesn't matter if there would've been uproar Niamh, the men in power should have had the guts to give an appropriate punishment and not pander to those who will complain. Will this set a dangerous precedent now? Seriously, like it seems you can go and forcefully knee a player in the crown jewels and only get a month for it, now that they've let off Mullen when and how are they going to come back from this? A joke. mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 11/06/2009 19:49:57 308697 Link 0 |
Disgraceful what happend to Freeman i hope Monaghan county board challenge them all the way to the High courts.The Gaa deserve that after this its a joke they can pick and choose who they want suspended.I have never seen Tommy freeman as a dirty player. tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 11/06/2009 19:53:44 308705 Link 0 |
Louise wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 11/06/2009 20:01:26 308708 Link 0 |
all right dell, just because your a ref dosn't mean you have to get their back and the disiplanary baords back every time wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 11/06/2009 20:06:37 308711 Link 0 |
Niamh Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/06/2009 20:09:24 308714 Link 0 |