London hurlers

Kilburn 1-9 Gabriels 1-15 very dead game not much life both missing at least 5 due to county... This game was proof of how much the county is effecting club hurling!

Sean Howlin (None) - Posts: 175 - 22/06/2009 23:50:34    320179

Stranded:

It said in the Examiner yesterday that the Meagher, Rackard and Ring finals will form a triple header in Croke Park on July 4, throwing in at 12pm, 2pm and 4pm respectively. Should make for a good day out assuming London can beat Fingal. Good to see these finals getting the recognition they deserve but didnt get under Nickey Brennan's tenure.

They better hope it doesnt rain heavily early in the day though, or there mightnt be a blade of grass left by the last game.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 24/06/2009 12:53:50    321705

Make that July 11th instead of July 4th

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 24/06/2009 22:54:44    322364

Any final thoughts on the team selection ahead of Saturday. Big game with everything to lose so bit of pressure on the lads, I hope they can do it. Any injury worries etc? Personally I would go with the following
Gannon
Burke
Tierney
Phelan
Fox
Healy
Kennedy
McMahon
Forde
Mythen
Dwyer
Twomey
McMullen
Finn
Vaughan

If Downes is back training then Id love to see him get a game, along with both Cody's if needed.

apache (UK) - Posts: 36 - 25/06/2009 12:53:02    322733

The team is usually picked on the final training before the game so it should be known tonight or tomorrow. I'd say Apache you could be 100% right with your selection, i'd say it's between Twomey, O' Grady and O' Dwyer for the 2 half forward line positions with Twomey possibly being the only one playing well yet didn't start the last two games. I heard Downes is back and Hurling well in training but it'll be hard to break into a team thats winning, also here Graham Power is back too so a bit more strength on the bench. I'd love to see Vaughan getting a few scores and hurling well, it's never nice getting criticised the lad is trying his best.

Outsider222 (UK) - Posts: 95 - 25/06/2009 14:41:45    322869

I see Vaughan got a few scores at the weekend for Kilburn. That should help boost his confidence.

Best of luck London. Keep it going.

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 25/06/2009 14:45:58    322875

Whatever team is picked might be good enough to beat fingal,but if london get to Croke Park against maybe Meath then i would be pretty sure that without Kevin Downes at Midfield London will not beat Meath,now maybe Armagh will beat Meath but i would doubt it,possible though.Anyway, the best team should be picked regardless,and i mean the best team and for that to happen Downes has to start at midfield.He is way better than Forde,no argument about that.best of luck to them on saturday.

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 25/06/2009 17:49:01    323142

Its all a matter what team we think should start. But if young Jason cody dont get a run out on saturday at some stage he might as well cut his hurley in two and fire it in over the ditch.

illbustya (Leitrim) - Posts: 76 - 25/06/2009 20:00:19    323223

Best of luck tomorrow lads!

Sean Howlin (None) - Posts: 175 - 26/06/2009 18:10:49    324270

Saw London beat Fingal yesterday and Henry Vaughan scored 1-5 from play. No wonder there is no posting from his critics. After the Roscommon match there were at least 3 to 4 posts immediately knocking him and the selectors. Where are they now? Not even a post on yet to say well done to London or wish them the best in the final. Maybe I'm wrong and people have posted but there just not up yet. If that's the case then I apologise. I hope that London go all the way now and win the Nicky Rackard.

thebull7 (UK) - Posts: 17 - 28/06/2009 12:39:14    325254

Bull7 how right you are ... Stand up now and admit that ye were wrong all doubters of Henry Vaughan, he was awesome yesterday when London needed him the most and fair play to the fella. It says alot about him that he stepped up to the mark in a big game when things hadn't always been going his way scoring wise the last couple of days.
I was at the game yesterday and have to compliment both teams on a fine game with some very committed passages of hurling. I wish all the best to london in the final and give great praise to the selectors for showing faith in vaughan Londain abu

Scrapheap (UK) - Posts: 97 - 28/06/2009 15:23:16    325363

Congratulations lads

Sean Howlin (None) - Posts: 175 - 28/06/2009 21:32:44    325694

Fair play to young Vaughan, hopefully another performance like that in Croker and they'll have the cup, well done London.

Outsider222 (UK) - Posts: 95 - 29/06/2009 09:54:16    326033

Am gobsmacked by the silence of one or two posters. I think dizzyrascal and stranded may have to step up and admit that they may have been a little harsh on Vaughan. What do they think of the selection team sticking with Vaughan now? Was there politics evident in the slection and substitution? I think the six backs that finished will have to start the final with Downes and Forde midfield. There are a couple of places up for grabs in the forwards still. Who do people think numbers 10 to 15 will be? Come on lads ye know that if London had been beaten or Vaughan was bad there would have been 20 posts in by now.

thebull7 (UK) - Posts: 17 - 29/06/2009 16:50:21    326714

Im delighted for the hurlers they deserve their outing in croker. I think most ppl who posted were not against the selection of vaughan rather the lack of opportunites to other players. I was glad to see the 5 lads get a run out which should have been the case in every game. I think the team will pick itself now although o grady did well when he came on i thought the forwards did well in general even though finn and mcmullen were quite by their standards. The team that started second hal will surely now be the most likely team to start in final! Fair play to Vaughan he stepped up his game when it was required lets hope he can do it again in final and perhaps it will be some1 elses day to step up next time round.

apache (UK) - Posts: 36 - 29/06/2009 19:41:07    326916

Who were the six backs that finished the final and whats the verdict on the likely team for the final? Didnt get to see the semi but well done to all involved. The only concerning thing is that London seem to save their best form for the second half of games, if they start sluggishly in the final a good second half might not be enough to save them.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 29/06/2009 23:49:40    327181

thebull7, Where was i harsh on young Vaughan in any of my posts, maybe you can remind me. I think you will find if you read all the posts was that people were commenting on how anyone who was playing poorly was being substituted with the exception of Vaughan who had not played well all year and was always left on the field.By the way bull7,where were you when all this was going on then,you appear all of a sudden now and jump on the Vaughan bandwagon.Nobody on here likes to see anything being wrote about anyone in a bad light,its just their point of view of what they see at any given time regarding a team selection or who is playing good or bad. Young Vaughan did score a goal and a few points against Fingal but probably does not do it often enough and London need everyone to be on fire against Meath.I hope you are happy with my reply bull7,if you are not im sure you will let me know soon enough.

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 30/06/2009 08:55:52    327289

I think stranded summed it up well here, everyone is happy Vaughan hit form so lets leave it at that and lets concentrate on our views fot the game ahead. I suspect Meath will be fairly strong favourites for this? Does anyone know much about them? Someone asked who the 6 backs were and what team would be well I was accurate last time Ill give it another go here.
Gannon
Fox Burke Phelan
McMahon Healy Kennedy
Forde Downes
Mythen O' Dwyer/O Grady Twomey
McMullen Finn Vaughan

Subs to be used, both codys.

apache (UK) - Posts: 36 - 30/06/2009 11:47:20    327435

fair play to the london team hope ye beat meath but its a shame club hurling has come to all but a standstill in the meantime i know the tipp championship is well under way and their boys are in a munster final. i think it would help players if they had a few good club championship matches under their belts before going into the big games.

barrow (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 01/07/2009 01:02:00    328315

Stranded you'll find that you've dais that Vaughan doesn't score enough and that he is 5 ft 3 or 4 so doesn't have a physical presence and I may be wrong here but when the redbaron said Vaughan will come good your answer reads a little sinical in my opinion but it is only my opinion. I also asked you about the politics involved in the selection team which you haven't replied to. I did a little research and apparently Vaughan was taken off against Donegal in the league and didn't feature in the first 2 league games (I thnk) but did win the match for London against Roscommon in the first league game scoring 1-2 or 1-3. From discussion the players have said that a considerable amount of scores have come from him forcing errors from goalies and defenders from hassling and wins more than his fair share of frees and I have no doubt that he will start against Meath.

You ask where I was while all this was going on, well the answer is I was watching lads give themselves enough rope to hang themselves with. Actually I thought to myself that I haven't given up one minute of my time this year to train, select or manage the London team. The players and selectors have so who am I to criticse any one of the London players or selection team. If you have nothing good to say about somebody who is making an effort to do their best then it's more helpful to keep quiet. But at least stranded you made an effort to defend yourself. Where is dizzyrascal? By the way I agree with the team that apache (I think) selected.

thebull7 (UK) - Posts: 17 - 01/07/2009 12:39:27    328621