Meath v Dublin match analysis

dubsforsam09 It was hardly the biggest match of the year but dublin will not win sam come september for sure . Out of the two teams today meath will he the happiest as there in tranistion.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2009 18:21:22    303997

2 matches today first Kerry getting a free into the 3rd min of added time 1 min to much and Dublin getting only 2 mins added time at least 2 mins to short if I was a Cork or Meath fan I would be disgusted at the contempt that the GAA hold for yous.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 07/06/2009 18:31:28    304005

Just home from the game, absolutely rubbish, Dublin were terrible and that was the worst Meath team i have ever seen.

no.10 (Dublin) - Posts: 125 - 07/06/2009 18:38:04    304010

Sorry dubsforsam09 but on that showing it will take longer than 3 months fpr Dublin to get it right, try three years! As for Meath, there were times, especially in the 1st half, when their attacking play was nothing short of comical and the fact that they ended up just two points behind says it all really. SAM will not be residing in either of these two counties, that is definite.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 07/06/2009 18:50:18    304020

no.10

304010 Just home from the game, absolutely rubbish, Dublin were terrible and that was the worst Meath team i have ever seen.

have to agree with you defence was shaky.but dublin created more scoring chances had bad wides.something to work on why was bernard taken off he had a few misses but i would never take him off.in the last few minuites you need scoring forwards theres no better than him.dublin lost there shape with so many changes late in the game

dubsforsam09 (Dublin) - Posts: 205 - 07/06/2009 18:52:41    304022

Dublin could not have asked for better result.They won barely and played poorly but now know exactly where they have to improve.Whether they can improve enough is questionable but at least hype machine will be slowed for a while.
Imagine hype and pressure on Dubs if they'd taken all their chances and beaten Meath by 8-10 points??

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 07/06/2009 19:05:15    304032

Back from the game and it was an awful game. Dublin were much the better team. Dublin had so many wides but we gifted them far too many scores in the first half.
But the refereeing at these games has gone beyond a joke. Firstly, Ger Brennan threw a punch at Brian Meade in the first half and got only a yellow. Less than 5 minutes later, he pulled down Seamus Kenny and the ref pulled out his notebook as if he was going to book him again. However, I presume when he saw he was already booked, he feared the wrath of the Hill if he sent him off and bottled it. Brennan went on to score a point and set up two.
The injury time played was a joke as well. Davoren was down for at least three minutes while there were at least 9 substitutions in the 2nd half with 2 blood subs thrown in as well. In my mind there should have been 5 minutes injury time at least. 2 points in three minutes wasn't beyond the realms of possibility (we even scored one just as the referee blew the final whistle).
However, bad referee or not, we shot ourselves in the foot in the first half when we gifted the ball to Dublin in our own half resulting in 3 points. I'm getting sick of losing to these. Neither team will go far in the All-Ireland.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1396 - 07/06/2009 19:09:56    304041

Im just home from the game so From a Meath perspective - at times we were good but for the majority of the game dublin were the better team and deserved to win. we made too many simple errors and only for the bad wides by dublin we could have lost by a lot more. I would also question some of eamon o breians decisions - taking off shane mac was an absolute disgrace as he was our best player in my opinion and we should have letf on stephen bray as a scoring threat.

as for the referee - as a proud meath man i will not lay any blame at the feet of the officials however everyone could see what was happening - unashamed bias it sickens me

Rags_2_Royal (Meath) - Posts: 43 - 07/06/2009 19:13:20    304044

Dubsforsam09 (i doubt it on that performance!!), i agree with you dublin created alot of chances but they had so much possession around midfield you would expect this. Shooting was appalling and always seemed to take the wrong option in the final third. The three fists they missed and the Magee goal chance early on typified the finishing!!

Anyway, through to the next round is the main thing. Davoren showed lots of ability but was sadly taken off after what looked like a bad injury, hope he makes a speedy recovery cos the team needs him.

no.10 (Dublin) - Posts: 125 - 07/06/2009 19:14:04    304045

Hard to be down when you've just beaten Meath but it was a very poor game from a Dubs point of view. The shooting was atrocious and there was a complete lack of cohesion in the forwards. The Brogans unwillingness to pass the ball to players in better positions is very frustrating. Keaney was ok but Andrews and Flynn were unconvincing. Felt very sorry for Davoren with the injury thought he was doing alright on his Campionship debut. Hope the injury isn't as serious as it looks. The midfield played ok but I thought the Meath midfield was pretty poor. The half backs were solid enough but the full back line did look shaky.

We can only get better - onwards and upwards.

Fair play to Meath too they hung in there well and could have snatched a draw if Duffy had played a reasonable amount of stoppage time. Two mins is a joke considering the length of time Davoren was down and all the substitutions made by both teams. The refereeing was pretty poor I thought. Even as a Dub I can admit that the ref gave us a lot throughout the game.

bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 07/06/2009 19:42:04    304076

jus home from game meath didnt deserve to win but could have if ref didnt give so many decisins to dublin but dont think it was refs fault. the meath line waited too long to make any changes and shouldve had big joe on much earlier. king looked lost whenever he got the ball after his 2 wides at the beginning of the second half. anyway lets give the qualifiers a good shot. UP THE ROYAL!

ggig (Meath) - Posts: 77 - 07/06/2009 19:48:50    304085

dubsforsam09

B brogan did not have a great game and manager was right to bring him off .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2009 20:17:41    304125

It was a very poor game overall!! The Meath managment are a joke in my opinion. I would like to compliment the managments decisons on the Dublin Team as they knew where the changes were to be made and when to do so..Well done on winning the game lads..but as my loyalties stand I want to say well done Meath on giving your best. Some vital decisions need to be made before the qualifiers. In all fairness some of the best scoring from play came from Meath. Up da royals!!

updaroyals (Meath) - Posts: 53 - 07/06/2009 20:25:14    304132

have to say fair play to ya blu boy what a very fair assesment of the ref .I was fumin about the injury time im really lookin fwd to c if its highlighted on sunday game have but i have my doubts

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 07/06/2009 20:42:33    304151

updaroyals

Very harsh on the meath management there trying to build a new team with there good players over the last few years retired.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2009 20:49:22    304169

Well i really thought the ref should have added six minutes that what i had on my watch but apart from that some posts are slating meath and i think your harsh because there a county building again after the loss of good players retiring . And now dublin where tipped to claim sam by many in dublin and poeple said gilroy will bring sam back i feel after todays game this dublin team have gone back wards than forward and the tactics where totally gone wrong .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2009 21:27:53    304239

Dublin are as far away as they ever were to winning SAM. You could have driven a truck through the middle of them today and their defence is very weak. Teams like Tyrone, Kerry and Cork will have a field day against their back 6 and while the Dubs are capable of putting up good scores their poor defending means they will concede more against really decent sides. Meath are an enigma, they play some lovely flowing football at times then go into meltdown.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9829 - 07/06/2009 21:56:15    304269

Dell, in fairness to Gilroy he's doing his best to bring Dublin forward. It was a brave decision to leave experienced players on the bench in favour of the younger ones. We all know that the Dubs didn't exactly set the Championship alight with their performance today but I for one would be happy just to see the team improve and have a decent run. I'm totally behind the manager and what he's trying to do. To me there seems to be a big problem in the forwards that needs to be adressed, apart from the poor shooting. They do not play as a unit and often shoot when there are players in better positions waiting for a pass. Very frustrating to watch. It needs to be sorted out because we'll get nowhere playing as individuals

bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 07/06/2009 22:05:05    304288

bluboy

Well i feel he got alot of things wrong today including leaving whelan on the bench and to many lads in the dublin team not up to it. Maybe he is trying to clean up on a few positions but i feel it is not working .On today going there a long way off .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 07/06/2009 22:11:34    304296

whelan had a calf strain so was unfit to start.

SouthDerryGael (Derry) - Posts: 159 - 07/06/2009 22:27:22    304312