Dublin V Meath isn't everything it is cracked up to be

Neither of them would hold a candle to Cork and let's not even discuss their chances against Kerry.

Here's another one though. Would either of them even beat Limerick or Tipperary? But didn't Meath play Limerick last year?

How did tht finish?? tee hee

mildred (Cork) - Posts: 108 - 01/06/2009 14:13:06    298758

Cork lack the concistancy to win an all lreland..and i personally hate to watch any game they are involved in

inniskeenbull (Monaghan) - Posts: 682 - 01/06/2009 15:20:57    298808

nice one deborah...no signifance at all!!!it will prob be one of the highest attended sporting occasions in europe this weekend...but like ya said that means nothing...can i have a drink with my chips pleasse????????

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 01/06/2009 19:25:04    298942

Dublin v Meath is great,for dublin and meath people, so really why would we give a damn what the rest of you bitter,horrible little culchies think of it.do i comment on Mayo v Galway rivalry? no i dont because i could not give a damn about Mayo v Galway or any other rivalry in gaa bar one that involves the super Dubs.the Jacks are back,roll on Sunday

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 01/06/2009 21:13:30    299016

Agree with you RLF i have said this so many times before but i feel dublin will hammer meath.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/06/2009 21:22:41    299024

Finglas full ba-gud luck to the dublin rowvers and meath unioted game at the weekend-and you do realise that the jacks is a derogatory term and yet youse use it yerselves,priceless!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 01/06/2009 21:50:07    299057

fredrickwood we dont take ourselves that seriously,but in any case jacks is short for jackeens and go and find out what the term actually means .and no its not because we hung the butchers apron from our windows so the black and tans would not kill us.it actually means a few things but it was mostly used as a way to describe an aggressive dublin drunk in the 1800s.you might be offened if somebody called you that but not me sir,iv much more important things to worry about.
oh the jacks are back
the jacks are back
let the hill 16 go crazy
cause the railway end has never seen
the likes of gilroys army.

priceless

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 01/06/2009 22:12:17    299087

Finglas full ba your a poet and ya dont know it.proiceless
Now put down tha can a dutch gowld an tell is who's gonna win on sunday?I reckon the dubs will run out comfortable winners by 5/6 points.Your confidence is well placed ffb gilroy has inherited a good squad and its hard to know where to look for inspiration from a meath point of view.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 01/06/2009 22:59:16    299128

Lads we don't expect you to understand.. So keep out of our business. This is between us and Meath. It's a very old rivalry that goes back decades...and it means a lot to both sets of players and supporters. We've never asked to be acknowledged in anyway for our rivalry, but it's a valuable traditional rivalry that exists and has existed for a very long time, it's a Leinster thing. It's a shared border thing. It's between us and them.

The atmosphere will be fantastic. So sit back and enjoy, You're welcome.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 02/06/2009 13:14:55    299531

Someone from Louth slagging the historical legacy of Dublin and Meath is a bit like, I don't know, maybe a Celta Vigo or Barnsley supporter claiming that the Champions League final was a bit dull and over-rated.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 02/06/2009 13:45:01    299558

Yes Jimbodub..

You hit the nail right on the head..

Unfortunately though theres plenty of imbeciles who are envious of our rivalry and would love have such a thing to enjoy themselves...

BRING_ON_GURTY! (Meath) - Posts: 712 - 02/06/2009 14:09:24    299588

So Leinster rivalry, history and hard tough football/hurling is OK but when Ulster neighbours compete against each other it's thuggery? You can't have it both ways lads, there is an awful lot of hypocrisy and double standards going on here. I love these matches with the proviso that they can get out of hand BUT a lot that is down to parochialism and provincial rivalry. While not condoning some of the nonsense that goes on you have to accept that it will, it happens in all sporting derbies across the globe. I bet if they knock seven bells out of each other on Sunday there won't be a tenth of the negative criticism Ulster got last week. Look at the Leinster hurling matches, Laois and Galway descended into a free for all while there were some awful dirty strokes and very bad swipes in the Wexford/Offaly game. It was all virtually ignored so you can see why Ulster fans, managers and pundits get annoyed and angry at the two faced nature of the Association and Southen media.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 02/06/2009 14:28:23    299608

Some posters like RLF brag about Ulster football all the time, but becomes very angry over Meath's prodigious history and say it wasn't fair.
Well playing games can be a lot of fun, but boasting when you win, or getting angry when you lose spoils the fun for everyone, and pretty soon, nobody will want to play with you. So take a tip from me, be a good winner and a good loser. You'll enjoy your games more and so will the people who play with you.

Royalty (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 03/06/2009 18:50:11    301059

02/06/2009 13:45:01 hurlingdub County: Dublin Posts: 709 299558 Someone from Louth slagging the historical legacy of Dublin and Meath is a bit like, I don't know, maybe a Celta Vigo or Barnsley supporter claiming that the Champions League final was a bit dull and over-rated. You MIGHT have a point if that were true. However, there is no historical legacy to this derby. Certainly not in the same way as there is with Dubs V Kerry or Kerry V Cork. Finally and more importantly I was noting how their clashes (of the 90s) were very forgettable experiences (apart from the fisticuffs that would put Ulster to shame) and apart from the unusual nature of the 1991 series there is absolutely nothing of note that any young player or GAA fan would want to learn or remember. As I said a veritable YAWNFEST so stop the senseless hype!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 03/06/2009 21:17:17    301182

RALF: Listen in order to experiecne a Leinster Final against Meath.. you need to reach one. There's an incredible atmosphere.. I cant describe it any better.. memories that stay with you for life..bad and good. Now please stop the non-sense, it's very obvious that you really dont have a breeze about Leinster football.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/06/2009 13:08:27    301654

RLF says the clashes of the 90s were forgettable apart from the unusual nature of 1991...

1993..Jack Sheedy last minute point wins it for Dublin
1995..possibly the best Dublin performance ever in this fixture gives Dublin a 10 point win
1997...Bealin hits the crossbar with a last minute penalty handing Meath victory

some yawnfest

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 04/06/2009 14:13:21    301717

bubba not SOME yawnfest an ABSOLUTE yawnfest and exhibition of bad football and pulling & dragging as the phrase was coined.

The poor football merges them all into one. I have never missed a Leinster final and seen countless Leinster championship matches yet apart from 91 not one match of the 90s stands out.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 04/06/2009 15:40:58    301817

RLF, what about meath v kildare in 97, 3 clsaaic games and the royal come out on top yet again.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 04/06/2009 15:55:24    301841

RLF those "yawnfest" Leinster finals in the 90s gave the province 8 All Ireland finalists and 3 Sam Maguires...so much for the poor standard.

Maybe it will improve vastly if Louth ever make it to the final!

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 04/06/2009 16:09:40    301861

Below are some classics from the 90s

Meath Kildare 3 games 1997
Kildare Meath Leinster final 1998
Louth Kildare Stefan White show

Goal (Kildare) - Posts: 117 - 04/06/2009 16:19:55    301866