Lads, does anyone know when the final is fixed for? I see on the master fixture list that it's down for next weekend but I don't see it on the 'fixtures' page of the LondonGAA website yet. Wexican (Wexford) - Posts: 36 - 05/10/2009 11:05:47 445164 Link 0 |
Well lads it is the big showdown of emmetts and gabriels that many had predicted from once the semi final draws were made, where do we think the game is going to be won and lost?? I am going to put my neck on the line and go for a Gabriels win because I think they have the better forwards and a better settled team. emmetts have been very patchy this year and are only playing in fits and starts, looks like they are missing their big players McMahon and McMullan. Gabriels have a very strong midfield and Finn is the best hurler in London by a mile in my opinion. gabriels by 7 Scrapheap (UK) - Posts: 97 - 06/10/2009 18:16:37 446596 Link 0 |
Well after reading the irish world and Martin Finns interview im beginning to wonder do the Robert Emmetts have any business turning up on sunday for the final against the Gabriels. He has shown no respect what so ever to the Emmetts lads.Well he surely lit the fuse well and truly now with that interview. The emmetts beat them by 6 points in 2007 with only 14 men for 55 mins and he says they beat themselves,HELLO!!!!! and to make it worse he says they wiped them off the field in the championship this year already when in fact it was by only a single point and a dodgy ref and emmetts missing half their team. stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 08/10/2009 04:39:10 448312 Link 0 |
Big weekend for the Emmetts Jinglebell (UK) - Posts: 1 - 08/10/2009 10:31:07 448412 Link 0 |
Your bitting stranded your bitting. You know finn as well as anyone let the hurling do the talking. Beast of luck to both teams Sunday may the best team climb up the green metal steps to accept the cup! We're all hopeing for a classic now don't let us down. H O T D (UK) - Posts: 9 - 08/10/2009 14:36:20 448651 Link 0 |
if standing around loose makes you the best midfielder in london i might go back playing myself as such, are any clubs looking for a stylish bald midfielder that talks a lot of dung oh yeah emmets have one of tose aswell as such , emmets by ten cyrilfarrell82 (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 10/10/2009 15:01:15 450655 Link 0 |
Emmetts through it away lads, by far the better team, like the All Ireland a dubious penalty decision changed the game. Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 12/10/2009 14:51:50 451858 Link 0 |
Agree with Buster. I thought squawky Quinn was man of the match in all fairness. Emmets were too comfortable after going 5 up. However, I think it was the Emmetts lack of marking for the first goal which changed the game and not the penalty. Gabriels supplied their forwards with a mountain of balls! In my opinion, which was shared by most neutrals on the bank it was a penalty and the ref was right next to it. Thought the ref was fair enough and one of the better hurling refs. MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 12/10/2009 19:19:43 452194 Link 0 |
cheers mo but if i am 2 b honest Healy was the best player on the field by a country mile finn scored 1 point from play he was kept very quiet. WaWa29 (Antrim) - Posts: 22 - 13/10/2009 05:38:45 452651 Link 0 |
Buster 66 i think your definitely right to question the selection of Finn for man of the match, thought there was players for both teams better than him, Wa Wa Quinn was excellent for Emmetts in the first half especially and Healy and the corner back for Emmetts were all very good, for me Colm Burke was the best player on the field, cleared an amount of ball when the game was still tight and set his team on the attack alot. Gannon would be my choice for the goals but to say that the penalty should have been blocked is probably a bit harsh on the lads on the line, it looked a poweful shot. Overall I don't think the Gabriels will be overly competitive in Ireland, they scraped a victory over an Emmetts team that was short a good few. Even a full strength Emmetts team would struggle because the London teams can't really get challenge matches for preperation. Scrapheap (UK) - Posts: 97 - 13/10/2009 15:32:56 453112 Link 0 |
I think the penalty looked as if it was half stopped that's why maybe it's been said it should of been kept out although I myself didn't even see the ball. I heard last night Finn said himself that not alone was it not a penalty but it wasn't even a free, and he only stayed down due to a recurrence of an injury he picked up in the first half. MOTM would go to Healy in my opinion, he was outstanding although it was close between himself and Quinn. Emmett's 6 backs never really looked under pressure until that last 5 minutes where probably the introduction of 3 or 4 new forwards from Gabriel's probably brought out their lack of training all year. Gabriel's won't go far i'd imagine, after years of winter hurling Emmett's can finally enjoy a break and not have to worry about making excuses on why their not going training........joke. Best of luck to Gabriel's anyway in their All Ireland journey, it's not an easy one. Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 13/10/2009 17:19:27 453251 Link 0 |
I don't think it was a penalty, Finn played the ref and fair play he played back. Shocking game, the standard this year as been poor. Emmetts looked like they had no training done yet still where 5 points up with 10 to go! Hopefully a influx of new players over the winter will improve things a bit. Emmets fullback, centreback and centre forward where the best players on show. Anfearrua (Cork) - Posts: 4 - 13/10/2009 19:26:26 453433 Link 0 |
Lads, this is an interesting one. Now we all know I like a bit of controvesy and I think it ties in nicely with whats been happening in 'soccer' but shouldn't we try and stamp out this gamesmanship or do we all think Finn was well within his rights to play for the penalty? Hurling has always been a game of honest sportsmen that would go through the gates of hell taking hardship to win a game, it seems now like our foriegn counterparts we're partial to a bit of "simulation"..... absolutely disgusting I think! Or am I wrong is it part of the game now, do I have to accept it? I doubt the Emmetts see this as being within the fairness of the game. Why should honest men train all year for a fraud to try and decieve the ref, ultimately leading to the loss of a county championship. And this man should not be going around saying it shouldn't have been a penalty, i'm sure if it hadn't of been given we would have heard a squeeky cork accent saying how useless the ref is. Should the man in question be punished? Or am I going to far? In that case exepct a lot of diving and shouts of 'Ref' in and around the penalty boxes of Ruislip next year! I don't think the ref can be balmed its a split second decision and he gave it, like in the All-Ireland. Half the population would have given it and the other half not but we're all expects looking at it from outside. I think the refs will have to meet at the start of next years campaigns and stamp out this nonesense, flash the cards for diving and get back to playing hurling and not snakes and ladders! MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 13/10/2009 22:06:15 453636 Link 0 |
Possibly a bit harsh Moteaue, Finn is an intercounty hurler and a god amongst London Hurling followers, refs are bound to be over cautious when it comes to these players because they do get singled out in games. I personally don't think he dived but I don't think it was a penalty either. If they can't combat this in All Ireland finals then what hope have they got in little old Ruislip. If ya ask me refs are too quick to get their cards out over here, imagine what they'd be like if they could book a player for manufacturing a free!!! Speaking to some Emmett's lads they don't seem bitter at all, they've graciously accepted that in order to win finals you need to put teams away and they failed to do so. I do agree though that the standard was pretty poor, best game I saw was probably Emmett's V Treacy's, that was a cracking game. There were possibly too many of the London panel involved in just 2 teams for it to be more competitive. Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 14/10/2009 07:07:08 453844 Link 0 |
How many of the London team did emmetts and gabriels have? Presume the majority where backs? Anfearrua (Cork) - Posts: 4 - 14/10/2009 13:16:08 454097 Link 0 |
Of the top of my head Emmett's had 7 starting off the London panel not including their Goalie who is away with the army, McMullen and Fergus who are suspended and injured respectively and Sean Quinn was an important member of the panel before so you could say 10 or 11 altogether. Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 14/10/2009 15:55:21 454377 Link 0 |
well done to thew gabriels,any one have an idea of the all star team? d_jingler (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 14/10/2009 16:18:57 454409 Link 0 |
Congrats to the Gabriels on winning last sunday prob wern't the best team on the day but was the best and most consistant team all year. Wa Wa and healy were v good as were all of the emmets panel and mentores clapped the Gabriels off the the field and carried themselves well in defeet. Well done to all involved on the day it wasn't a classic but a good sporting day. H O T D (UK) - Posts: 9 - 14/10/2009 17:29:48 454506 Link 0 |
all stars 4 the london senior c/ship thats what it should b pick as , n not have anything 2 do on what people done 4 london this year thats my view, its the all stars 4 the club c/ship in london lets remember that lads. WaWa29 (Antrim) - Posts: 22 - 14/10/2009 17:42:19 454527 Link 0 |
Why havent you put sean quinn up for an all star?robert emmets londonladd (Mayo) - Posts: 165 - 14/10/2009 18:40:11 454589 Link 0 |