London senior hurling championship

Jaysus lads its an interesting draw alright. I would say the Emmetts will still be difficult to beatalthough 2 of their best hurlers now missing for the year,this will give their opponents a lift surely. The other 3 teams now have a mighty chance of wrestling the title from the holders and to be honest they will never get a better chance now. I fancy Murphys to beat Gabriels cos all they have to do is put their best defender on finn and thats the gabriels finished for scoring.Ill go with an Emmetts V Murphys final lads,hows that!!!!!

illbustya (Leitrim) - Posts: 76 - 27/08/2009 13:28:51    406166

I'm going to take a chance and say Emmett's V Murphy's in the final. If the Murphy's can put one of their best players on Finn and hold him that's half the battle. Plus who knows what players Murphy's will have playing. Emmett's win at the weekend I think will gel them and with the lose now of McMullen and Fergus to the side if they do go on and win it, it'll be some achievement.

Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 27/08/2009 13:50:48    406202

Emmetts for four in a row, although they have lost two good players, with a full team out they will have too much strenght around the field and not just down the middle plus they know how to win county finals.

sdarby (Tyrone) - Posts: 7 - 27/08/2009 16:43:56    406602

I dunno lads, i'm just a casual observer but ye seem to be saying that Finn will be easily enough stopped 'if Murphys put a good man on him' (like they would put a poor one on him!!?) , if it really was that easy he would hardly rack up the tallies he has in other games now would he. Who says Murphy's best defender will fare any better than the other clubs' 'best defenders'. Emmetts have a few handy backs and Finn still racked up 3-8 and its not like he came in under the radar...

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 31/08/2009 18:31:31    410590

stoolpigeon,the day that Finn scored 3.8 against the Emmetts was the same day that Emmetts were missing 8 and only had 2 of their first 6 backs playing that day.You would be foolish to think that either the Murphys or Emmetts would allow that to happen in a semi final where its knockout.!!!!!

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 31/08/2009 20:09:53    410725

Strandad, i'm not that interested tbh, it just strikes me as being a little simplistic for people to say that its as simple as putting a good man on him and this will completely close him out of the game. He is the main man for the county upfront after all, racking up some big tallies, and i dont think there are that many Emmetts backs starting for London? Surely if they were able to handle him they would be in the side? And every team is missing players every week in club games, its a fact of life. Finn is an exceptional player at this level though of course Gabriels wont win anything unless others step up to the mark.

I dont care enough about it to make a big deal of it, but i know from watching Galway that people say 'stop Joe Canning and you stop Galway' yet 4-7 against Clare last week indicates that sometimes these things are easier said than done..Knowing the threat is one thing, dealing with it is another.

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 941 - 01/09/2009 03:31:50    411148

stoolpigeon, it would be an awful lot easier stop Finn than it would be Canning!!!!!

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 01/09/2009 20:05:23    412245

There is ONLY ONE WAY to stop, make sure they are well and truely stopped!
For me the Murphy's do not have enough steel to do it! Maybe the new centre back or Howlin but that would probably result in an early shower! Most of Murphy's fight is out of their sideline, like Mike Tyson, they would start a row in a grave yard that has been out of use for three hundred year! The language skills of a top model and always feel hard done by. Semis their lot!
Gabriels are like a childrens film or CITV firstly their sideline contains a wizard, I think you get my meaning (tongue in cheek of course!) and secondly because once they're rattled they throw the toys out of the pram and abuse turns to each other, not much team cohesion; of course this is more evident in the fact they have one main scoring forward.
Kilburn are like Jack Dee live, more craic in the chapel of rest, dreary sideline that NEVER smile, come to think of it I don't think i've ever seen anyone on their members list smile... not even the young fellas! Full of potential on the field couldn't be-grudge them a title, unless your sick of hearing how they will win it every year? Good for the future of London hurling with the young lads hurling intermediate.
Robert Emmetts....FAVOUITES by a country mile, fierce pulling in the last game but thats how them lads hurl in Antrim, full of flare. Great team work and fancy hurlers. Tend to avoid the rough stuff against teams that can match them punch for punch but overall worthy 3 in a row champions. Although their sideline is like a hungry baby, never stop crying when a free is given against them. Sometimes think they have a divine right to win by fielding. The crying game alright! Diverse accents of course, but sound like crows on that sideline!
Stand out players: Dan Hoctor, Dwyer emmetts co. lad, Burke, Kilburn corner forward blondie lad, Murphy's keeper and no. 6.

MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 01/09/2009 22:10:13    412433

Murphys wont be bet ,theyve only be goin thru the motions so far,they have far better players this year than last year

d_jingler (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 02/09/2009 14:12:11    413116

moteaue, you should be a comedian,altho i have to say its pretty near the mark alright.

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 02/09/2009 15:30:46    413216

Stranded: I do try, myself and you could be a bit like Laurel and Hardy; reading some of your post, great craic, even the serious ones. Although i'd say we'd be more like French and Saunders!

MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 02/09/2009 17:03:40    413342

Jaysus lads 3 weeks away from the semis, has it been decided who will referee these games? Can only be between the three... Sean Corridan, Matty Maher or Beano Collins. Doubt it'll matter these men won't have any say......Gabriels and Emmetts final. Gabriels to beat Murphy's by 5. Expect a punch up with a few red cards for the Murphy's! Emmetts to beat Kilburn by four, with squawky squawky back a bit of much needed fire power. Kilburn lack of experience will be their only let down...wouldn't mind KG progressing!

MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 07/09/2009 20:51:24    418522

Con Dee could ref one of these Semi's.

London Gaa (None) - Posts: 134 - 07/09/2009 22:11:29    418627

The emmetts have alot off fire power 4 the semi we will just have 2 wait n c if they can all click on the day. dnt 4 get emmetts have not had a full team once this year. kilburn should not b wrote off yet as if ur a hurling fan u wud no wee were lucky 2 beat them in the league so its not as clear cut as every1 thinks, as 4 the 2nd semi both teams r good enough 2 beat each other if their big players play well so its 2 close 2 call. if kilburn n murphys get 2 the final do not b surprised lads its all about who plays well on the big day. quick question lads y is every1 under false names??????? its bad when u r 2 scared 2 say ur point of view grow up n next time u come on tell us who u really r.

WaWa29 (Antrim) - Posts: 22 - 07/09/2009 22:18:13    418634

Well i think it's the gabriels year defantly they have looked great in games..I think the days for the emmets is over they are overated and there players are not getting any younger..plus there best player fergus is injured..good luk 2 all the teams..

kerryykerryy (Kerry) - Posts: 85 - 07/09/2009 23:42:53    418756

WaWa, thats the nickname i was trying to recall. Although squawky squawky has a certain ring to it ;). I agree with you on the game regarding your good selves and Kilburn, it's anyones game. I do believe the winners of this game will see out the rest of the championship and be crowned winners. However I disagree with the Gabriels and Murphys. Murphy's have a good spell in every championship year, in years when they've won it they have peeked near the end and gone on to win it. This year, like the last few, their peek came in the middle and is/will tail off. Gabriels started well and had a patchy middle but have come to form again with a convincing win against the Murphy's in round 5. If the Gabriels can keep the slagging of each other to a minimum on the field and get a run on the Murphy's the only fight will once again be from the Murphy's sideline. In their case a bite being worse than a bark.
You can expect new faces on any of the four teams and expect three out of the four to object!
I have also learned Bolger jumped ship, did a good job in a terrible weak standard, not unusual for successful managers to get out when the goings good..... ;)

MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 10/09/2009 13:07:15    421827

Saw Gabriel's and Emmett's play yesterday in a Micky Mouse Cup game, The Gabs were shocking, I think O Dea was even playing and scored if i'm right. Both teams missing a lot but Emmetts were missin far more and hurled a lot better. Could be a disaster for the Gabs seen as there playing next week. Saying that I saw an Emmetts player get split open could be a doubt for their match too if he needed stitches. Can't wait for the game next week, we could be in for an awful shock yet.

Buster66 (UK) - Posts: 119 - 14/09/2009 16:07:22    425456

I was very surprised by the reports about the Emmetts beating the Gabriels on sunday in greenford.Heard both teams were missin a few alright but it seems the emmetts were without 7 or 8 of their first 15.I said it here before if the murphys play there cards right they will most likely beat the gabriels on saturaday.Things are not right in the Galway (gabriels) camp..too many chiefs and not enough indians and they are nowhere near as good as they claim to be!!!murphys abu.

illbustya (Leitrim) - Posts: 76 - 16/09/2009 16:05:47    427881

Crunch time, up ya boy ya! Mighty Gabriels by 7points, fighting Murphy's to fight but ultimately lose the game and maybe a player or two! Hoctor, Gannon, Burke and Finn to cement all-stars!
Any thoughts girls?

MoTeaue (Offaly) - Posts: 68 - 17/09/2009 22:58:29    429399

MoTeaue its crunch time alright, I hear both teams have upped the training in the past few weeks for this 1! Seen a bit of their last game and thought the Gabriels were always in control after Finn scored the 2 goals early on. That said the Murphys were short a few and will be going all guns blazing to get back in to their first county final since 05. I think your man in the Irish world got it fairly spot on when he said that the midfield battle of Fitzsimmons and hoctor versus Mythen and Power will be an interesting 1. The Murphys will have to put some one other than Darren Howlin on Finn though or he will score about 3 - 10. I am going to put my head on the block here and say the Gabriels by 5 cos the Murphy's are a bit light up front. The winner of this game will surely win the champo with a developing Kilburn and a severely weakened Emmetts the other semi.

Scrapheap (UK) - Posts: 97 - 18/09/2009 10:06:18    429598