Minor and U16 championships

Oh clane lost?its a pity when yere panel was only comin together as u said earlyier!Nass to go on and win with ease?u make me laugh

whoisthegeek (Kildare) - Posts: 37 - 08/09/2009 22:14:14    419904

johnnylips how were they seperated the men from the boys? athy won by a point maynooth were better team with a hell of a lot more chances just didnt take them! hardly men from boys!

shergar45 (Kildare) - Posts: 106 - 08/09/2009 22:16:03    419907

Naas to go all the way..without doubt the best team left..nas na ri ABU!

mcgrath90 (Kildare) - Posts: 60 - 08/09/2009 22:19:38    419911

What was the score?

whoisthegeek (Kildare) - Posts: 37 - 08/09/2009 22:24:16    419919

Naas 1-13 clane 0-10

mcgrath90 (Kildare) - Posts: 60 - 08/09/2009 22:34:13    419933

There is no point arguing about it shergar45,take your beten for once!!

minorstillidie (Kildare) - Posts: 46 - 08/09/2009 22:38:14    419939

im not arguin bout da fact dat hes sayin dat it was men and boys is ridiculous! athy won it fairplay i hope they go on and win it but there was nuthin between them!

shergar45 (Kildare) - Posts: 106 - 08/09/2009 22:41:44    419945

Celbridge peaking at the right time

JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 08/09/2009 23:35:08    420009

Athy and Maynooth was a great match, but yet again Maynooth fall short to beat Athy when it really mattered. I think Naas are a strong side but they beat a team that was never going to win a minor championship. Im delighted larries were bet because they would have added nothing to a semi-final because lets face it there dirt. As for Celbridge fair play to them everybody wrote them off but they showed there no pushovers. Naas and Athy would be a great final but it all depends on the draw. Balyna could spring a few surprises, there very strong down the middle

JarginJaws (Kildare) - Posts: 6 - 08/09/2009 23:42:14    420020

so athy,naas,balyna and celbridge left?naas look the strongest as a team but you couldn write off this young athy team..balyna are on a run and are a serious team with the big matches..suprise packages celbridge should give anyone a decent game even a shock goin by some of their results..i was at that maynooth athy game 2nie..wasn a great game football wise but still was a cracker..athy showed that extra bit of experience in the end taggin on the last 2 points.it was there fr maynooth but they didnt know how to finish it off..some great personnal perfromances from either team..

joeyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 412 - 09/09/2009 00:33:22    420067

I was at the match this evening in Naas between mfield & celbridge.........not a pretty site by any means.........but being a neutral I have to say that Celbridge have improved and will be a challenge to any of the other 3 remaining teams. Laugh al u like but dismiss Celbridge at ur peril. Excellent performance from the backs.Mfield didn't have anyone who stood out...... entire team very average. Celbridge have 3-4 very good players besides the one or two that are mentioned here all da time.
No. 5 for Celbridge was very steady..... vgood overall player and when asked excellent pace. They have not'n to loose................. My team have exited this evening so here's to whoever wins.............. by da way I was spy'n.....has 2 b done

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/09/2009 02:11:36    420105

alri shergar i know what ye mean but when ye hype your team to be so much and when there beaten by a team that you said you were gonna hammer, it doesnt say much for you or any1 else who make statements like that, celbridge look to have it judged perfectly.. massive win last nite.. but naas are still the team to beat

johnnylips (Kildare) - Posts: 214 - 09/09/2009 07:43:09    420130

heard about the c/bridge v m/field match last nite, c/bridge very even and fit team, have good sprinkle of players throughout, pat markey at centre back, connor kenny at midfield (scored 1.2), a shaw, a guthry (1.1) to mention a few. for a team that was been ritten off, they could well take another scalp or 2.

stickywicket (Kildare) - Posts: 61 - 09/09/2009 10:54:46    420259

so athy,naas,balyna and celbridge left?naas look the strongest as a team but you couldn write off this young athy team..balyna are on a run and are a serious team with the big matches..suprise packages celbridge should give anyone a decent game even a shock goin by some of their results..

joeyboy... your synopsis is very diplomatic, I can't make out what mast your colours are pinned to. However you are right as the 4 teams left deserve to be there. I believe the result of the draw will be known later today. A lot of people still wouldn't give Celbridge any chance of even making the final yet alone winning it." Horses for courses " lads , ye never know what's around the corner.

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 09/09/2009 11:59:27    420346

was at the moorefield v celbridge game last night and as a moore was very disapointed with our performance,
we had enough chances to win the game but also celbridge kicked a lot of wides,
one thing that was way out of order last night was the fact that there was no linesman on either side of the pitch,
the referee decided he could do the line as well as ref the game (ridiculous),
if naas were unable to provide linesmen for the game ?????? why did the ref not ask both teams to provide a linesman
he was trying to give line ball decisions from the middle of the pitch (authority taken a bit overboard)
i wish a bit of common sense would have prevailed
well done to celbridge and best of luck in the rest of the championship

cornerman (Kildare) - Posts: 1 - 09/09/2009 12:49:49    420421

minor draws..naas/celbridge

athy/balyna(3rd year in a row)

joeyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 412 - 10/09/2009 21:47:09    422490

Naas vs Celbridge

Athy vs Balyna

h2o (Kildare) - Posts: 50 - 10/09/2009 21:56:44    422515

2 good semi finals but looks like we're set up for a cracker between naas and athy in the final..really couldn't call it

mcgrath90 (Kildare) - Posts: 60 - 10/09/2009 22:28:35    422579

As I said all long Naas are the team to beat U14 Feile Champions 4 year ago beat celbridge in final Won the under 16 championship 2 year ago beat Sarsfield and have not lost a Championship match ever This is a super team I Dont think mellBridge will get near them Naas to win by at least 6 points if not more.

Athy will be favourites to win the other match after beaten Maynooth who I hear may object to a player playing that should hve not played Balyna can not be written off as they have an excellent spine and peaking at the right time. I will go for a Naas / Athy final this should be a great match.

Does anyone know when the semis are on

Kildareaido (Kildare) - Posts: 61 - 10/09/2009 22:29:23    422582

Any predictions for the under 16s matches this weekend??
Athy vs Coca's...Athy by 3
Castledermot vs Naas... Castledermot by 1
Celbridge vs Sarsfields..Celbridge by 8
Moorefield vs Clane... Draw

minorstillidie (Kildare) - Posts: 46 - 11/09/2009 09:55:25    422810