Few rivalries as big as Leitrim and Roscommon

I know people say that its a Galway v Mayo and that Connacht is a 2 horse race but there are few rivalries as big as Roscommon and Leitrim. It will not get the media attention it deserves on account of the Tyrone v Armagh game but make no mistake this is a huge game that has been talked about non-stop on both the Leitrim and Roscommon pages. Personally even with our past problems and the players we will be missing I am expecting a 3-4 point win in Carrick. Leitrim will be up for this as they always are but the loss of Mulligan is huge for them and Roscommon have a decent record in Pairc Sean. Just wondering what are the thoughts of other people about this game. Will the winner give Mayo a good game or even win? can either team make an impact in the qualifiers? What do ye think?

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 25/05/2009 19:20:35    293430

the battle of the boyne-louth v meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/05/2009 20:47:02    293506

Bang on rosfan i have cousins in knockvicar who go to school in Droim Seanbhó and the naked enmity is frightening in full view

an tseabhac (Kerry) - Posts: 441 - 25/05/2009 22:57:13    293704

Armagh and Down
Tyrone and Derry

massive rivalries

corrinshego (Armagh) - Posts: 305 - 25/05/2009 23:12:24    293719

fair play to ya rosfan...gaa rivalries are not just about successful teams playing against each other its all about what it means on a local level regardless of the population or how many people attend...im sure it will be a cracking match and best of luck!!!!

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 25/05/2009 23:14:54    293726

Biggest rivalry is Dublin vs Meath full stop.

mossy93 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 25/05/2009 23:20:35    293735

The biggest rivarly is always your own, for me its Tyrone v Derry

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 25/05/2009 23:28:53    293754

Football: Galway-Mayo

Hurling: Galway-Clare

(Yes I'm a Galwayman!!!).

Leitrim-Roscommon should be a good match to see.

pwalsh67 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 26/05/2009 01:06:06    293817

"Rosfan : It will not get the media attention it deserves on account of the Tyrone v Armagh game"

Don't you mean because of the Tipp v Cork game- the two have been rivals forever and the games are nearly always a sellout. The have won over 50 All Irelands between them and the counties border each other. Tyrone's main rivals are Derry.

eiregocroi (Cork) - Posts: 201 - 26/05/2009 04:50:06    293864

For me this is the most intense rivalry, I have friends on both sides and they hate each other footballing wise more than any other county. Its really all because of where Carrick is located right on the border. Its way more intense than galway mayo, although the Sligo mayo has gotten more intense since a Sligoman plays with mayo. If I were home i would definitly go to this game, its great to watch as a neutral as they hate to lose to each other, the passion in the stands will be ferocious. Sadly for Leitrim Mulligans a huge loss and swings the balance of this game to ros. If ros cant beat them without mulligan then ros football is in big trouble. Looking forward to listening on the internet anyhow, but rossfan your right deserves more coverage but I dont think anyone in Connacht underestimates the rivalry.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1852 - 26/05/2009 07:39:57    293872

sure to be a great battle! even with the loss of mulligan through injury i think we can swing it though. very little between the 2 teams really

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 26/05/2009 09:34:51    293929

Sligonian
County: Sligo

293872 For me this is the most intense rivalry, I have friends on both sides and they hate each other footballing wise more than any other county. Its really all because of where Carrick is located right on the border. Its way more intense than galway mayo, although the Sligo mayo has gotten more intense since a Sligoman plays with mayo. If I were home i would definitly go to this game, its great to watch as a neutral as they hate to lose to each other, the passion in the stands will be ferocious. Sadly for Leitrim Mulligans a huge loss and swings the balance of this game to ros. If ros cant beat them without mulligan then ros football is in big trouble. Looking forward to listening on the internet anyhow, but rossfan your right deserves more coverage but I dont think anyone in Connacht underestimates the rivalry.

Yes Exactly also seeing as their is a Mayo Man Playing for Sligo!!!!!!! Alan Costelloe

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 26/05/2009 09:56:31    293941

for me meath have the most rivals, dublin,kildare louth cavan and westmeath are all big games for meath.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 26/05/2009 10:07:07    293955

Well said Niamh

The biggest rivalry is the one that YOUR team is in! It's personal to you and your county.

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 26/05/2009 10:07:46    293956

I think the point rosfan was making is that outside of the two competing counties,nobody will raise an eyebrow at this fixture.However inside the two counties it is the most important game of the year by a long way.I can assure you 80000 people in croker for Dublin United and Meath Rovers wont be a patch on 15000 in carrick,with a lot more at stake than National media attention.For those in doubt,local rivalry is alive and well beyond the pale.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 26/05/2009 10:22:56    293967

Bring the rossies on....c'mon leitrim.

johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 26/05/2009 10:23:35    293970

tyrone v derry is always nasty.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 26/05/2009 10:35:45    293983

well said fredrickwood !!!!!!!!!

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 26/05/2009 10:55:11    294000

25/05/2009 19:20:35
Rosfan
County: Roscommon

293430 I know people say that its a Galway v Mayo and that Connacht is a 2 horse race but there are few rivalries as big as Roscommon and Leitrim.

That may well be but it is also the case with many clubs around the country but I'm afraid there is nothing particularly special about your rivalry. The limelight will rightly be on Armagh V Tyrone as it will also soon be on Kerry V Cork, Galway V Mayo and God help us even the drubs V mead!

Sorry dude but nobody cares!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 26/05/2009 11:06:20    294012

Real Louth fan County: Louth Posts: 1643 294012 25/05/2009 19:20:35 Rosfan County: Roscommon Posts: 121 293430 I know people say that its a Galway v Mayo and that Connacht is a 2 horse race but there are few rivalries as big as Roscommon and Leitrim. That may well be but it is also the case with many clubs around the country but I'm afraid there is nothing particularly special about your rivalry. The limelight will rightly be on Armagh V Tyrone as it will also soon be on Kerry V Cork, Galway V Mayo and God help us even the drubs V mead! Sorry dude but nobody cares! Never Mind this WUM lads. I know i am looking forward to that game, alot more then i would be watching Tyrone and armagh

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 26/05/2009 11:36:43    294043