Monaghan V Derry

Derry I think-but close

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 20/05/2009 21:54:31    289422

I think Monaghan will win this game. The injuries Derry have accumulated will hit them hard. With the forwards that Damien Cassidy has selected in conjunction with the absence of Mark Lynch, a most unusual combination of 6 left footers has occurred. The shrewd Banty will take note. One suspects the Derry possession will be worked down the left side of the Monaghan time after time. I would also have to pour water on the fantasy that Derry have a superior bench. I think someone even mentioned Caolan O'Boyle as some kind of impact sub. O'Boyle has never even played for Derry at senior level and was quite unremarkable at minor and U21 in my opinion. I believe Cassidy called him up on the basis of a one-off club game, a non-knock championship tie against disinterested opposition. The Genius has spoken

The_Genius (Derry) - Posts: 16 - 21/05/2009 00:58:32    289540

Very hard to call. Monaghan have won the last 2 championship meetings but since then Derry have improved their manager and have introduced several new players to the side over the course of the league, and even with that experimentation they got to the final. Monaghan are a serious outfit and have real quality throughout but I am not sure they have progressed as much over the past 12 months. Derry have a few absentees but I still think they will shade it by 2-3 points becuase of the Bradley brothers and a team unit as opposed to the group of individuals that Derry were in recent times.

Not much apparent interest on this board on the Kildare / Offaly match but that should also be an interesting game. Leinster posters such as Dot Cotton(loyal) only show interest in discussing Ulster football. McGeeney has had a year to settle in and will have managed to riase the standard of football in the County. I am expecting Kildare to win by 3-4 and for that county to make a genuine assault on Leinster this year. Can't see anybody else in Leinster to threaten Dublin at present.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 21/05/2009 06:12:57    289569

Would love to see that dream come true seanog. Will be a tough game sunday but if the passion is back I think we will win it! Monaghan are not afraid of Derry but yet respect them which I think is vital for them! The lads are capable of a big performance and there is no better way to get to an Ulster Final than through the hard way!!!!! Muineachain abu

aineb (Monaghan) - Posts: 11 - 21/05/2009 07:40:36    289571

Mystic Niamh on that one. I can see derry winning but not by a lot. its championship football, nobody (not in ulster anyway) is goin to run away with any match. I dont think the injurys will effect derry too much. cassidy showed in the league, change the players, keep the system. i havent been overly impressed with monaghan of late. their reliance on freeman and the off colour henratty could be their downfall. woods is a key player for them though. i could see them movin him out the field if they're strugglin at MF.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 21/05/2009 09:23:29    289596

Derry 1-13
Monaghan 1-11

pridengalway (Galway) - Posts: 327 - 21/05/2009 10:15:36    289651

Also, theres little talking about Monaghan playing Derry last year as just 5 players from last years Derry team in Clones remain.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 21/05/2009 14:03:07    289939

I think it'll be a close match but Derry pull through....... just about.
A lot will also depend on the ref. If Monaghan are let get away with some of there off the ball stuff it could be different.

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 21/05/2009 14:41:20    289977

Niamh has apoint theres five Derry men starting from last years team, and by the looks of it there will be at least twelve Monaghan men... It will be a very different team to the one we played last year...

And i dunno what your on about Yop theres only a couple of Monaghan boys that do be at the 0off ball stuff, just cause were a physical team boesnt mean we are a dirty one.

Omen (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 21/05/2009 14:51:28    289996

Yop ye needn't be talking like that, every team has players who play to the limits of the rules, Wexford no different.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 21/05/2009 15:21:35    290026

The notion that Monaghan are a 'big physical side' is just another example of lazy thinking and assumptions by media pundits. Fair enough, Rory Woods does stand out on the TV, but he is surrounded by a small set of forwards (Gollogly, mcManus, Freeman, Downey). Clerkin plays hard but is compensating for a lack of natural physique (6'0 flat is not a modern midfielder) while his partner in the engine room frequently shirks the robust exchanges. Add that to McQuaid & the elder Freeman at halfback, and the absence of a commanding no.3, and suddenly Monaghan look more like a team of doozers than 'dozers.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1201 - 21/05/2009 15:24:18    290034

mid-mon man
County: Monaghan

290026 Yop ye needn't be talking like that, every team has players who play to the limits of the rules, Wexford no different.

I'm not saying Monaghan are the only team doing it but it still don't make it right.
I know from talking to a few of my Ulster friends that Monaghan are not liked due to there hard / dirty style of play.

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 21/05/2009 15:36:44    290055

There will be very little in it - The 50yr celtic park factor IS a factor silly as it sounds - I know Monaghan haven't exactly played there in every one of those 50 years but I do have some very bitter memories of decent Monaghan teams playing very poorly there and some OK Monaghan teams getting a bit of a trimming there. None of the current crop every played there in the Championship as far as I can work out so hopefully that will dimisish the CP factor a bit.
Monaghan will not be short of hunger because this year it's either put up or shut upp for Banty and the boys after throwing away a really good chance of an Ulster title by losing the Fermanagh - And that will stand to them - I don't think they will be over or under confident either, so that bit's OK.
What worries me though is that nobody knows just how good this Derry team is. They'll not want to lose 3 in a row and whether or not they are consistant will matter not a jot on Sunday because both teams really need a straight run through the Ulster Championship.
mmm I don't know - I was thinking Monaghan all week - But I'm starting to slip a bit as it gets closer.

Niamh - Your thoughts please

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 21/05/2009 15:43:19    290064

Eddie the Exile,

Cant agree with you on that one. Admittitly the full back line cant be considered to big and bulky, but with Vinny in there he adds a bit of strength, and you cant honestly say the two Mones arent very physical defendeers?
In the half back line Mc Quaid and Hughes are well big lads and will hit any man in the country a good hard shoulder, i wouldnt wanna meet them in a back alley! Again, ill agree that Freeman is a more versatile player.
I dont think anybody could argue with the fact that Dick and Lennon are pure tanks!
Up front Mc Manus and Downey are pretty light, but no matter what size the rest of them are, they are all extremely well built and have done some serioius gym work in the last few years... For example wee Jinx plays harder than most even for the size of him.

Omen (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 21/05/2009 15:45:38    290068

Here we go again......!!!!
Cassidy is already starting the pyschological baloney by calling Monaghan a "Physical Team"
Will he say the same thing about Tyrone if they Play them, will he say it about Fermanagh, Dublin, Cork, Kerry. Cop on Damien!!!
Monaghan are one of the smallest teams in the country. Against Cork each Monaghan player was giving away about 6 inches. They have 3 forwards under 5' 8' and we are sadly lacking a Physical McCloy type to protect us from the high ball.
We are and always have been a small quick team who have some close marking defenders and some skillful forwards. The one thing that we have learnt in the last few years is to stand our ground and not be bullied by the bigger teams. We try and play at a high intensity but this is only to match the bigger teams, if we manage to do this then it's up to the score getters to win the game for us. But to call Monaghan a physical team is only a poor effort to influence the referee..

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 21/05/2009 15:46:37    290070

Yop theres a big difference in playing hard and playing dirty, and Monaghan play hard.

And i dunno what kinda Ulster friends you have up here because most of us play ggod hard football around here.

Omen (Monaghan) - Posts: 205 - 21/05/2009 15:49:45    290073

yop if other ulster counties did like playing them then they'd be in trouble! if u have d attitude that u want other counties to enjoy coming to line out against ye your on a road to nowhere my friend. id say there physical but not overly dirty. interesting that there never seems to be any talk of the way cork approach kerry games in media?? just a thought. id say derry will have the extra incentive to pip this one. should be a good game. also think kildare will be given a good game but will come through. people say league form is no predictor but i think after leinster shock the lillies had a good back door campaign last year, won some tight games. id have them as dublins biggest danger in leinster

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 21/05/2009 16:16:53    290109

A bit closer to the game now and the nerves are a bit more jittery.We know what Monaghan are going to bring...100 mile an hour in your face football which has been their trademark under Banty.That's what I like about them and something that some of the Derry boys have been lacking for various reasons.If Derry can match that passion and still play composed football then they can win but it sure won't be easy despite the game being a home one.there should be a decent crowd at this maybe 15-20 thousand so there will be a good home support.Nobody here is overconfident we've seen Derry flatter to deceive before They have the players despite the injuries and if the two Bradley boys don't think it's a kickabout to each other in the garden then a cautious nod for a Derry win.How are the Monaghan people feeling about this one?

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 22/05/2009 11:05:45    290782

Really tough to call after the 2 league finals but looking forward to it. I'm going for a drawn match. Dont think Monaghan's blanket defence will allow Derry to play

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 22/05/2009 11:56:05    290839

This will be a very tough assignment for Monaghan. Everything points to a Derry win on paper it has to be said; Playing in the fortress of Celtic Park, the factor of a great new manager in Cassidy, wanting to make amends for the last two years etc, there's no shortage of incentive for the Derry men. They've a few injuries but more than enough in their squad to make up for it. On the other hand we've our own worries and certainly don't have the resources of Derry to cope. Paul McGuigan has been injured on and off a good while and will be lucky to even come on, while JP Mone has had similar problems and I doubt he'll be near 100%, if he starts at all. Add to that the poor form of Lennon in midfield recently and it doesn't make nice reading. We will need a marked improvement and a bit of luck in the injury department. This will be the toughest Derry game for us of the last three years.

Having said all that I'm still very confident in our team's ability, just as I was before the games the last two years. Sure, it will be extremely tough, but better that and be prepared than go in favourites and get caught(see Fermanagh last year). If the team that lines out plays to their potential then I'd be very confident of a win. Of course that's a very big if, but you need things to go your way in games like this if you are to win. From our point of view, alot will depend on how we deal with the Bradleys. We've managed to keep Paddy quiet enough the last two years(and long may it continue!), but alot of the talk is how we'll deal with Eoin aswell. I'd say Vinny Corey will be on him, and won't give him an inch. He's got both the speed and power you need to mark a player like Eoin Bradley. He's a tough job as Eoin's in great form but I'm confident in Vinny's ability to stop him. Another option is Dermot McArdle to mark him, and he was one of our best performers in the league, but I think Vinny's better equiped to deal with him. Then you have another tussle between Dessie Mone and Paddy Bradley, if that goes the same as it has the last two years I'd be happy enough. Derry may keep the two brothers isolated inside which would be very interesting.

But the area where the game will be won and lost for me is midfield. This makes Lennon's form all the more worrying, as Doherty and Diver will be very tough opposition. On the other hand, Dick Clerkin is probably playing the best football he ever has in a Monaghan jersey, and we'll need a big game from him. We'll still need a big improvement form Lennon though if we're to even break even in the middle. But what will also be crucial is the breaking ball, and we have some players there who are excellent at winning the breaks, none moreso than Stephen Gollogly. The wee man was excellent over the two Derry wins in the last two years, and hopefully he can continue that form on Sunday. Then you've the likes of McQuaid, McManus, Hughes and maybe even Woods, they'll all be around the middle so it'll be a real war of attrition. We'll need to win alot of breaks and deliver the ball in very quick to Freeman and Downey. Finlay, Woods and McManus are all excellent long-range passers but they'll need to be on top form as they'll not have a second to spare when sending it in. Those three are also great at scoring from long-range, but again they'll need their shooting boots on as they'll be under pressure.

It promises to be a real high-octane affair, going at 100mph at times and with some hard hits going in. It may come down to who is the fitter team in the end, as the teams may well be ran ragged by the 60th minute.
Overall it's a very tough one to call, I'd give a hesistant vote to Monaghan by 2. It's a cliché but goals win games, and I think we can get two, and if we do I think we'll win, Freeman and McManus to hit the net.

Derry 1-14 Monaghan 2-13

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 22/05/2009 12:49:30    290919