Who can break Dublin's grip on Leinster?

I don't think Cian Ward is just a freetaker now - although he's handy enough at that as well! He's seems to have an extra yard or two of pace about him as well this year. Of all the Meath forwards, I'd rate him the best point scorer. He has two equally good feet too. In fairness, Shane O'Rourke has been unlucky witth injuries and that but I don't think anyone ever said he was the next big thing. I think he's good if not rated a bit too highly purely because of his father. Brayer hasn't been playing that well of late with either the club or the county but potential is still there when the big day comes. A fit Brian Farrell would be a help.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 20/05/2009 16:22:38    289140

I've been reading this meaningless mindnumbing thread for the last couple of days and am shocked at some of the views and opinions of some posters. First off let me say that my own County Wexford have fallen down the pecking order in Leinster and rightly so after their dire league performances, alot of fellas need to take a good look at themselves and pull it together for the championship and im confident you'll see a different animal when we start off against Kildare/Offaly. But we have it all to prove. Meath?? come on now, yes historically they were a fantastic team, some superb players and epic battles with the Dubs/Kerry etc but now?? People come on, where is your Cop on?? Meath are a very average side with very average players.. FACT!! they got abbsolutely hammered by Limerick last year and were lucky not to get relegated as well in this years league. Just because a team was great once does not automatically make them contenders every season. Do people still think Notts Forrest are a fantastic team?? afterall they used to be great and won the european cup in consecutive years 78,79 (apologies for my soccer analogy) Bottom line is Dublin will hop off Meath and Meath will go out in the first round of qualifiers as it will be a mine field Laois have fallen back in recent times and i find it hard to make a case for them, but maybe with Kingston etc he might add a bit of much needed bulk to the attack. Kildare, again i think it's too early to pass judgement. McGeeney is builing a team in the image of the Armagh old and is making them hard to play against, but is the quality there to really hurt teams? Johnny Doyle is not getting any younger, Rainbow etc.. But i do think Kildare possibly have the most potential this year. Personally my View would be (and i apologise to any Offaly fans, its just my opinion) that winners of the Kildare Wexford game will get by Laois in the semi and play the Dubs. but that's where it ends, The Dubs will win Leinster again but hopefully not by the same margin as last year. I cant see them being stopped in Leinster, Although they had an up and down league there are some serious additions to the squad this year, the likes of Davoran will be a revelation and i fancy him to be a nailed down starter this year. Gilroy is being very clever and has give himself a lot of options with regard to players and i think you will also see a different style of play form the Dubs this year as well.

Crumbum (Wexford) - Posts: 65 - 20/05/2009 17:00:10    289179

Crumbum - agree with you 100% in all those assessments.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 20/05/2009 17:28:56    289208

I reckon Meath can stop Dublin. Tradition does matter and Meath traditionally play well v Dublin.

To the Wexford fans. I'm no fan of Meath but I do know that once Meath get knocked out of Leinster they lose interest and generally play rubbish. If Meath beat Dublin they will go on and win Leinster. Their performance against Wexford was very unMeath like in so much as they made a ridiculous amount of subs in the second half allowing Wexford back in the game (Wexford took the chance to their credit)

Anyway can anyone else stop Dublin?....Not sure

Kildare: Very good in the league but we've seen this before with them. They have the physicality but can they minimise the wides? Of all the teams in Leinster Kildare probably get the most possession but end up wasting it. They will get to the Leinster final but they can expect a nervous game v Offaly.

Westmeath: My own county. Very bad league but played well in some of the games with new inexperienced forwards. Played well against Galway ( Played well enough to win) and Tyrone ( Should have won that game as well) only for a last minute Colm Cavanagh goal. Really didn't want to know against Dublin but we were already relegated. We now have Wilson, Flanagan, Dolan and Healy back who we missed in the league. That basically is our midfield, forward line and best half back returning. I expect us to beat winners of Longford/Wicklow and to give winners of Meath/Dublin a real hard game. We can win Leinster but Dublin/Meath would have to be favourites on this side of draw.

Offaly: Underestimate these guys at your peril. They are always good for a surprise and love to be underdogs. I reckon they have the best corner forward in Leinster and give away nothing in the physical game. They hit plenty of wides as well but make up for it with goals. Kildare will be favourites but if Offaly cause a shock they could go on to the Leinster final. If Offaly get momentum they will be very hard to stop.

Laois: I think they will deal with Louth as they have speed and accuracy. Laois will struggle against a physical team like Kildare. Serious class especially in the forwards. They will get to semi final in Leinster before losing to Kildare but could get to Quarters in qualifiers.

Wexford: They need to play better in defence than last year. It's no good saying "you score 1-10 we score 2-10". If they sort out backs they could repeat last year. Very good forwards and solid midfield but average backs.

Louth: I never know what to expect from Louth. I'd expect Laois to beat Louth but maybe Louth like playing clean, fast teams like Laois. If Louth did win they could get a bit of momentum. The struggle against Carlow sounds worrying. You never know.

Longford: Longford have very good footballers in forwads and defence but no midfield. They just can never get the ball from kickouts. Longford are a very good counter attacking team and their players love to carry the ball as opposed to kicking the long ball in. I think they are a better overall team to Wicklow but Wickow's midfield is better. If they can disrupt here they will win on Sunday.

Wicklow: Small players but very fast. Leightin Glynn and Paul Earles are class but need to minimise the wides. Winning of game v Longford depends on who wins midfield.

iarmhiman (Westmeath) - Posts: 140 - 20/05/2009 18:15:09    289259

Meath will beat the dubs,westmeath will beat meath and then beat a very ordinary kildare team in the final.Wexford,LAOIS WILL FLOP,OFFALY COULD SPRING A SURPRISE

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 20/05/2009 18:56:57    289300

liamwalkinstown.

i think your forgetting about the man himself.

BIG JOE

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4202 - 20/05/2009 19:41:00    289329

Ive just read every post on this thread and cant believe i spent the last ten mins doing so.
Meath cant wait to take on the Dubs, there has been talk in the county since the fixtures were made. True weve been crucified with injury with O'Rourke and Farrell, but every team gets this and the lads will be back. A disasterous league campaign possibly but O'Brien wasnt aimin to win the league, he was trying his players out, its the championship that counts isnt it??
While the Dubs will be difficult, if Meath keep their act together and play for 70 full minutes then i see no reason why they cant win. And yes they were hammered by Limerick last year, but the previous year they were knocked out by Dublin after a replay, went through the backdoor system and ended up in the All Ireland Semi Final. Surely not the actions of a team that through in the towel when beaten by Dublin.
All Royals will be behind Meath on 7th June whether they win or lose.

royal4ever85 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 21/05/2009 02:01:00    289556

32_4_1

289329 liamwalkinstown.

i think your forgetting about the man himself.

BIG JOE

I ididnt realise the big man was gracing us with his presence this year....sure how long before he walks out again. And he is absolutely nothign special whatsoever. Dont rate him atall

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 21/05/2009 10:15:07    289647

Probably no one but it will be their hardest test for a few years.... Meath are a team they don't want to be playing first as this is when Dublin are at their weakest and could be caught up short...The rest of the chasing pack look even but Kildare might fancy doing a bit more this year. The way I see it. MEATH:strong team that only 2 years ago reached an all-ireland semi final.They have physial aspect to their game have the the extra support that does matter against the dubs in croker,but I think they lack a few quality players and a pace to take on Dublin... KILDARE:Certainly stronger under McGeeny and have showed well in Div 2 this year if they reach the Leinster Final they wont be a push over and with Johhny Doyle they have the best forward in Leinster LAOIS:New manager but still the same problems have some good young player but never seem make that step up.Unlucky that two all-star defenders are out injured and also there best half back in McMahon.Still have probably the best young footballer in Leinster in Donie Kingston and could reach a final.Will be tested against Louth. WESTMEATH:Hard to call always suprise every year and have some strenght and steel in the team.Could be a good bet for a back door run again. OFFALY:The men that they say are too thick to know when they are beaten..always makes me laugh.Never easy altough I cant see them keeping with in 5 points of Kildare...Then again thats when Offaly always pull off a result and look what Wicklow did last year! LOUTH:Could be a dark horse I expected them to go better in Div 3 and maybe win it.In shane Lennon they have a real quality forward and they will fancy themselves against a Laois side in transition. WEXFORD:Hard to repeat the form of Last year were poor in the league but came up against teams flying early on like,Monaghan,Cork and Kildare.This can only help them and if Lyng and Ford get into shape for the championship who knows.. WICKLOW:Can Micko work the magic again I really think their leinster final is the Longford game if they get thru that who knows cetainly improving as a force in leinster LONGFORD:threaten to come to the fore a few years back and nearly caught the Dubs out on their own patch a few years back.Would be hoping to beat Wicklow and maybe win two more matches in the back Door.That would be a good year for these passionate fans CARLOW:Have really slipped down the last 5 years or so already Gone

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 21/05/2009 11:00:55    289711

I'll say Kildare, probley the only team with the physical presence to unsettle the Dubs.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 21/05/2009 11:15:33    289734

Many people laugh at this suggestion but I think Kildare could win Leinster this year.I don't think Dublin will win Leinster and I think the extra matches in the qualifiers will do the team the world of good and maybe take them one step closer to Sam

dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 21/05/2009 12:18:18    289810

Liam, Big Joe will be ready for the Dublin lads on 7th June. Have no fear on that score.
If we win against Dublin then well be ready for anybody, but the back door system has always served us well, as we have always gotten better with more matches.

royal4ever85 (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 21/05/2009 16:24:46    290120

Mr T?

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 21/05/2009 16:28:52    290126

I dont like saying this but I think Meath could get a good beating on dublins way to win their 5 in a row

John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 21/05/2009 16:44:51    290148

kildare

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 26/05/2009 02:32:49    293850

Cant see Meath troubling Dublin on Sunday week. Meath lack far too much physically to compete at the top level.

qprmeath (None) - Posts: 434 - 26/05/2009 11:18:17    294024

Don't think anyone will trouble Dublin this year.... possibly Meath or Kildare next year.....

I do believe Kildare are improving in every area, fitness, scoring, mentally, but Dublin have 4 or 5 years of work done...still, there may be a shock yet

yearofthelily (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 26/05/2009 12:00:57    294080

I don't see anyone stopping the dubs this year but kildare are certainly one's to watch in the next year or two if they keep improving which I hope they do. They have gone from strength to strength since we bet them last year

Concept82 (Wicklow) - Posts: 440 - 26/05/2009 12:17:32    294105

I think Kildare are real contenders.
They are big and physical in the right places as they always have been but they hav a method of playing not that wasn't there before.
I always would have liked to see them coming through but over the past number of years they were very frustrating to follow as they could look like world beaters and self beaters all in the same match and frequently fell short.

Now they look like they have got it all together and not depending on one scoring forward. Good solid team.

I hope they make an impact this year (no disrespect intended to the others)

The Sage (Monaghan) - Posts: 351 - 26/05/2009 12:51:57    294171

McGeeney has Kildare playing well. Certainly not like the tippy-tappy Kildare teams of old where it took them about twenty short 2-yard hand passes just to work the ball out to midfield.

But if you only have a limited bunch of players, you can only go so far. Certainly Kildare's players don't compare too well with Dublins. Even against Meath, I'd iagine we'd have way too much for them.

Whatever about us losing to Dublin, it would be an awful tragedy for Meath football if we succumbed to this Kildare team, well that would be my take on it anyway.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 26/05/2009 12:59:45    294188