Ballyhaunis

Oh ya u got me, she ran off to 'the Haunis' was back the same evenin though, after a romantic evening killing lambs.
I have little interest in aghamore actually, although I think their recent achievments are an example to all clubs. So again you have me baffled with the personal stuff.
Why is it so unbelieveable that they could go down? They are third from bottom in 1D. Thats how relegation works isnt it?
so you think they are doing well? Please explain to us where exactly we are wrong and you are right...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2009 19:42:32    290332

Yeah it tends to get personal when anyone cuts to the bone with ``Ballyhahahaunis``.Any wise football heads from`` the Haunis``capable of outlining their actual record in the Junior and Intermediate
championship over the last decade.? Someone pointed out to me recently that ``Ballyhahahaunis``are to sign a naming rights deal for their new ground ,it is to be called aptly enough ``Mother Hubbards Park``,yes you guessed it,the cupboard is always bare!!

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 21/05/2009 23:24:28    290560

Mr Master i never said Ballyhaunis were doing well. But i do think it is blindingly obvious that they will win some games. 2 defeats in a row without a lot of first team isnt the end of the world. No, my point wasnt that you were wrong or right. Read my comments again and then once more really slowly and answer my question: Why the negativity? If you dont have anything good to say dont say anything all. You wouldnt catch me picking some club and then going into their threads and just bad-mouthing them. Whats the point or the attraction in that?

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 22/05/2009 09:26:23    290685

Trixy is a solid poster and always makes sense. Keep it up, you might be rattling a few of them

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 22/05/2009 10:12:28    290731

look the thread is about ballyhuanis, they arent doing well so why say any different? The negativity comes from the clubs performances and the attitude of people like you who cant have a genuine argument about it without trying to make it into something personal. I say again, why is it so unimaginable that they could go down? They are showing poor form, the worst of all the intermediate teams. Im simply following the facts. So how am I picking on them? There is a similar thread is about hollymount, dont hear them moaning

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/05/2009 11:42:28    290828

I never pay too much heed to those who dont say which club they are from. They are obviously from poorer-off clubs that want to take a pop. So i will leave ye mired in your negativity lads, obviously that is what HoganStand is now about. Instead of analysing why Ballyhaunis might be going through a poor patch, all we get is incredibly unoriginal jokes like "Mother Hubbard's Park" (saw the exact same joke on Arsenal last week so congrats Trixy - solid post) or some constant picking like we see from Mr Master.
No wonder the rest of the country thinks Mayo football fans are complete bumpkins.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 22/05/2009 14:21:08    291014

I'm with Batigol on this. As soon as I saw a thread on Ballyhaunis I knew that both TheMaster and Trixy would be posting in it, and not posting anything nice.

For the record, someone asked what Ballyhaunis' record in the intermediate championship was in recent years - if you look through it we have been very rarely in a relegation playoff situation, the last one I recall was when we beat Davitts easily enough about 5 or 6 years ago.

Not looking good this year so far though, a lot of lads that were around the last few years aren't playing ball this year. Despite being a decent sized town (by Mayo's standards at least!) we are a very small club with very few lads around for training during the week. A club such as ours can't afford to lose players like Paul Prenty (one of a few) and are bound to suffer because of it. That said, a lot of the young lads coming through will be good players in a couple of years, just got to let them take their chance.

Maybe TheMaster and Trixy could take into account all of the given facts around the team this year before slating us. Pretty obvious from both (Trixy especially) that there is some sort of personal motive behind the posts, regardless of how TheMaster denies it.

Does anyone else get really annoyed reading Trixy's posts with the use of `` all the time? If you insist on putting everything in iverted commas, then why can't you use inverted commas? It's not that "difficult" is it?

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 22/05/2009 15:30:03    291103

im sick of this, repost exactly what i have said that is so unfair. Where is the personal bit? im only posting on what balyhaunis' form indicates. The facts dont follow what you lads are selling, if ye are such a great side why are ye stuck in division 4 for so long? Ye scraped through the group of last year's championship and got convincingly beaten by aghamore. Thats all true isnt it lads? So what does that tell you? Ye can spin it however you want, but that is what im saying and you havent addressed it yet. Im not looking for some slagging match and dont understand why ye keep trying to turn it into one. So lets have less of the soft talk and instead a straight answer

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/05/2009 22:18:38    291458

Im goin to have to second the master on this one lads..we have been waiting a while now for this mighty 'haunis side to stun us..still waiting. If anything, its backwards they're goin

In the Parish ! (Mayo) - Posts: 448 - 22/05/2009 22:40:12    291474

Lads ye are missing the point of our complaint. Missing it completely.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 22/05/2009 23:03:56    291485

TheMaster - the thread was 25mins old when you arrived and said that Ballyhaunis are looking like going down. Which is harsh considering the facts - 2 teams get relegated, Ballyhaunis are third from bottom, both teams below them have lost all 5 games. Which puts Ballyhaunis 3 points ahead of both. Ballyhaunis also have a game in hand to come against Crossmolina B at home - a win there puts us to 5 points and 5th from bottom. You later clarified that you meant relegation in championship - and while that is possible, it is impossible to argue that saying we look like getting relegated to championship is anything but negative considering we haven't played a game yet.

So your original post was negative and the way it was put was very dismissive, with no attempt made to consider any reason behind our poor start.

That's why I think you are being overly negative to Ballyhaunis. I also recall you being similarly negative last year too when we were coming into an Intermediate quarter final having come out of a pretty tough group.

This year we'll be first to admit we're not going great, but our best player (Higgins) was in Oz until recently, since then himself and a few others have been concentrating on the hurling championship. Of the others, Paul Prenty dropped out this year, John Prenty has been doing exams and injured, Niall Prenty was with the under 21s for a long time.

So not a good start but massive opportunity to pick up. Saying that we loom like getting relegated is harsh so early in the year.

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 25/05/2009 13:09:28    292929

Ballyhaunis got the points for the Crossmolina B game as they did not show up seemingly. Mayo Gaa website has not been updated to reflect this for some reason, so Ballyhaunis actually have 5 points currently

hillbilly (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 25/05/2009 15:04:07    293076

why are the Prenty's not playing. They need them, lack of quality replacements doesn't bode well for them. Ballyhaunis will struggle this year in Championship. Realistically, if they can avoid relegation in League and Championship, it would represent a relative success to attempt some re-building. Just not sure how much emerging talent there is to rebuild with!

EternalOptimist (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 25/05/2009 16:26:54    293186

Hey ``Ballyhahahaunis``its all about performance ,just reflect on that.Prentys? Who?

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 25/05/2009 16:53:25    293235

I have heard that Paul has moved to dublin and has taken a year out from football, John also in dublin is injured. There are also 4-5 more of the last 2 seasons starting teams that are not playing for various reasons....hurling etc. To stay Intermediate would be a great success. Have been told they have plenty of young players coming through, but it will a couple of years at least......

hillbilly (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 25/05/2009 16:58:16    293243

Hillbilly, if on the one hand you're saying avoiding relegation to Junior would be a great success, how are you predicting Ballyhaunis to get through to QFs. Given all the players they are missing/have lost in recent seasons, you're being incredibly optmistic.

EternalOptimist (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 25/05/2009 17:08:30    293265

EternalOptomist......we live in hope, optimism all the way! Too much negativity on this thread already!

hillbilly (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 25/05/2009 17:19:56    293281

Well jason, if you put it in context with the question of the thread; surely they should be climbing divisions, and them third from bottom, I think my assertion that they are more likely to be going down is fair.

What do you mean they havent played any games, do they have a different set of players for the championship or something? If you go down to the bookies the odds follow the form of teams in the league, why should it be different here?

If they are missing players this year then fair enough, but that doesnt explain why ballyhaunis are in division 4 in the first place.

It doesnt matter to me, they could be in division 1 or 6 for all I care, this is a mayo gaa forum so dont take it so personal when someone says something you dont like, particularly when its backed up with facts. As I said before, there was a similar thread about hollymount and they answered it with a turn in form, the right way to do it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/05/2009 19:21:45    293433

Do you really think that Hollymount said to themselves "Lets prove The Master wrong" ? The narcissism is striking. Hold on there Master while the world revolves around you!
Look Mr Master, you say it is championship not league you were referring to. And that you are basing your sourness on facts. But there hasnt been a ball kicked in the championship yet. So how can you say Ballyhaunis getting relegated from the championship this year is factual when the championship hasnt even taken place yet? Surely at this point the factual position is that Ballyhaunis are in fact level with everyone else?
Admit it, your a bitter lemon arent you

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 26/05/2009 10:43:57    293989

more personal stuff. I didnt even start the hollymount thread, or this one. And i think its pretty obvious they didnt take their encouragement from hoganstand. The point is if its on hoganstand then that opinion is in the public domain. And these opinions dont come out of thin air. Hollymount deserve credit for the way they improvemed their game. You seem to believe ballyhaunis deserve the same. For what exactly? Its people like you batigol who give people a bad impression of ballyhaunis. The other lads who posted admitted they their form was bad and they would be under pressure this year. You always seem to want some1 else to blame. I read a post from you on another thread saying you had given up football because of the the gaa were wasting ur precious time. Thats as good an indication as any. Why not actually go and tog out? Surely such a great clubman would be itching to put ballyhaunis back on the gaa map?

As I said before, what is so different between the mid point of the league and the championship? The games are being played alongside one-another by the same players.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 26/05/2009 12:52:30    294173