Minor Championship

i know for a fact that the game between knockbride and finbars is being replayed because the teamsheet wasn in irish!!

deano1991 (Cavan) - Posts: 10 - 14/09/2009 21:55:41    425856

yes cavanforever he might have scored 1-3 but he was lucky to get that goal an from were we were standing it even looked like it took a deflection..lackens back's were on top the whole game.and back to what you were saying about niall mc kiernan.yes he did give a little bit but he was just given as good as he got an he must have scored at least 1-6 or 1-7 and castlerahan had no one to handle him.i just cant wait to see how they are going to handle the lavey forwards and the lavey mid field.

sack (Cavan) - Posts: 13 - 14/09/2009 21:58:29    425861

knockbride sore losers..think every1 in cavan agrees,,bull about the lights,,,i dont think st.finbars wer wearing night vision goggles..maybe im wrong?,I could see perfect from stand.!!

cavansgenious (Cavan) - Posts: 12 - 14/09/2009 22:45:38    425934

not sure what went on but if you can see from the left hand corner flag to the top right hand corner flag light is good enough simple as that. Feck sake lads we played with rain lashing down and could nt see twenty feet ahead of us and no complaints, I wonder if they had won would they say sorry lads but fair is fair lets have a replay.???

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4602 - 14/09/2009 23:04:04    425960

why is there so much more talk about the cavan minor championship than the senior cahampionship,is it because everyone on the cavan page is 18 and under and they love talking about themselves

bananarama (Longford) - Posts: 354 - 14/09/2009 23:47:01    425997

a lot changes from u16 to minor

lad09 (Cavan) - Posts: 239 - 15/09/2009 11:47:22    426261

I hear that Knockbride beat st finbars by a point this evening after a very entertaining match. The fact that the match had to be replayed in the first place leaves a bad taste in the mouth though. An old man who used to train us years ago used to say that if we lost a match [which was quite often!] that we had to learn to take yer batin and go home-and this is what st finbarrs have to do tonight. Pity knockbride couldnt do the same last week. Anyway hard luck to st finbarrs try and be dignified in defeat. Knockbride?-Naire oraibh.

Rosie8 (Cavan) - Posts: 19 - 16/09/2009 02:40:02    427381

Although knockbride were within there rights in what they did, it was a very unsporting gesture after being defeated fairly on the pitch in a good game. My own minor team were in a similiar situation last year when an illegal player was used against us in the c,ship in a game we lost by a pt, but having lost the game we saw no reason to kick up a fuss. The fact that knockbride have now won the replay leaves a Sour taste & is bad for cavan football.

Geronimo (Cavan) - Posts: 31 - 16/09/2009 12:49:45    427641

Knockbride and Finbars With dismay the minors had to replay this match. What has Cavan GAA come to ? The days of winners & loosers are coming to an end by the looks of it. Until we know that there are no objections, will we know if even a minor or underage team has actually won a match. What a picture this paints for the future of GAA matches ! No cheers, no celebrations just wait and see if any objections are raised. If this nonsense is not stopped soon, we will have no 'real' football in the future. The players & the supporters will just 'give it up'. For god's sake stop this 'legalisation' of a sport & it's mine-field of rules. Play the game we all love the way it was intended and let the winner BE THE WINNER. The question to ask is "would this happen in any other sport ?" - especially at minor level.

mexpat (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 16/09/2009 14:27:58    427769

Does nobody else not think that it is unfair to fix minor games for a weekday? I am in a minor final which is fixed for a monday night. It is also the day I start college. I am not the only one. There are others on my team in the same boat and I'm sure the same is true of our opponents.

RedBoots15 (Cavan) - Posts: 51 - 16/09/2009 15:10:31    427809

I agree with the statements regarding how the objection by Knockbride leaves a bad taste in the mouth but it does however raise another question which maybe Knockbride have unwittingly highlighted. Is the rule stupid and should it be discontinued. I mean it is a technical thing. If you don't submit the team names in irish should you be punished by having to replay the game. I think this rule is outdated and serves no purpose any more. I know that one of the aims of the GAA is to promote the irish language but this is just silly. Translating names into irish (some of them that are not remotely translatable) is ridiculous. Names are names and should not be translated. if you have an irish name well and good but don't go trying to translate all players names. try translating Polish or Latvian names .
STOP THIS RULE NOW.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 16/09/2009 15:14:41    427812

A Selection Joe's Quotes before they got knock out by a disjointed Killann Gaels(who lost to drumgoon and Lavey in friendlies)
teddy22i play for the joes and i think we have a good team but so do other but after what happen last year getting to 3 finals and not wining one has made the team so hungy for something so my money is on us winnig 1,2 things this year

PaddyBradley09 sly___ram i think ur wrong no more are they st.joes or balyhaise guna win it

Thirstyseagulls I think st Joes will win it for sure.The loss to Ballyhaise will be driving them on and we should see the strenght of an AMALGAMATED team shine through.

TheBoy_Wonder : Div 1: St.Joes......They won't mess up like they did in the league. They'll show that they should of won the league.Personal Favourite
lad09

Div1-Joes..Wont slip up again

tomhunter mighty joes div 1

RedLefty09Balyhaise v joes in div1Anyone agree.

00babyblue00 (Cavan) - Posts: 11 - 16/09/2009 16:48:44    427947

everything is getting very tense now with all da semis comin up now....wats da verdict now for the remaining teams left in all divisions now....

verybig1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 3 - 16/09/2009 19:42:17    428139

the situation between knockbride and st.finbars was unfair but its over now..st.finbars will be sick for a while but hopefully this rule will be looked at for the future.!!why was young mc phillips not starting for st.finbars?,I reckon it could be lavey v knockbride final,with lavey coming out on top?

gaao9 (Cavan) - Posts: 1 - 16/09/2009 20:13:29    428174

i agree that the situation was unfair on st.finbarrs but to be honest they didnt really look like a team that wanted to win the match on tuesday.if they felt that annoyed about the whole mix-up then they really should have gone out and win the match but they just didnt seem to want it enough.

and regarding cian mcphillips from what i could hear from the stand he has some sort of calf/shin injury.but if he had have been fit i think he would have made the difference for st.finbarrs.

however i honestly can't see knockbride beating castlerahan.knockbride dont seem to have enough good players to match castlerahan who are quite a good unit.
it'll be a lavey v. castlerahan final and its lavey's to lose.

bigcavanman (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 17/09/2009 10:57:18    428596

killinkere have strong chance of winning divison 3!! have a very strong back line!! mid field are ok ! em only really av 3 forwards!! emmet fitzimons darren smith nd some peter lad! der centre half forward can be dangerous at times!

lavey should win division 2 wer dissapionting in league! have strong forward line nd a all right back line best players, teirnny conroy aaron smith nd gerry smith

theoctagon (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 17/09/2009 14:35:37    428838

When are Div 1 Semi finals being played

bigone (None) - Posts: 75 - 18/09/2009 15:37:06    429954

bigone

When are Div 1 Semi finals being played

Ballyhaise already knocked out mullahorn by 4 points last Sunday And the other semi between killane gaels and de gaels has yet to be fixed

footballmaan (Cavan) - Posts: 114 - 18/09/2009 18:31:14    430120

the st joes crowd are gone very quiet now, lads hope ye learn your lesson this year

bountyhunter (Cavan) - Posts: 302 - 19/09/2009 22:25:18    430704

1 of them comments that babyblue posted were from a joes player! The rest were observations ... Joes deserved to lose to kilann on the day , they were awful

sly_ram (Cavan) - Posts: 56 - 20/09/2009 11:31:38    430887