Club forum and county grounds

I agree with rover. The weather must be affecting you. Firstly monaghan county board would not let it happen. Navan only let louth play a handful of games there and your expecting inniskeen to let you s play there til louth get a new ground GET REALISTIC

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 12/05/2009 21:53:32    281625

damonaghan Your main issue here is not Inniskeen opening up there facilities to others or Monaghan Co Board your main issue(problem) is LOUTH plain and simple you don't like LOUTH you can put it any way you like but that is your position. Your response to this speaks for itself you should be trying to assist any county or club at every opportunity thats how the GAA is supposed to work. Not a single positive suggestion coming from you but, you cant do this, they wont let you do that, no no no never never never and you call yourself a GAA person it will take more than a change of weather to sort you out..

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 13/05/2009 01:21:55    281799

damonaghan Your main issue here is not Inniskeen opening up there facilities to others nor are you in the least concerned about what reaction Monaghan Co Board might have if any at all. Your gripe is LOUTH it very clear to see that from your response you don't like LOUTH full stop so you can use any excuses you like but really your petty excuses are only a smoke screen for the real issue underneath. You should be trying to assist other Counties and clubs with constructive and positive suggestions and not this never never never attitude that is clearly there for all to see it's no skin of your nose anyhow. If you consider yourself a genuine GAA person then please start act like one should act. Regards Squidword

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 13/05/2009 10:18:38    281891

louth has never recovered since the sale of the athletic grounds in dundalk in the 1960's.

we were unbeatable there and it had possibly the best surface in the country back then. All gaelic athletics games were played there. now its dublin providers and aldi. pity. decision making hasnt been the best in our county. i suppose its anyones guess where the development should be.

I personally have no problem with county ground being in either darver or drogheda. both have there merits and disadvantages. hopefully it get sorted soon or at least a years time because its almost as long running as the fund raising of a swimming pool in dundalk many years ago now....a joke.

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 13/05/2009 14:37:41    282136

Angle Grinder

DKIT proposal involves PPP with a private developer with college providing land for construction of 20,000 all seater floodlit stadium for multi-sport use as part of a sports village. There is a similar proposal for Waterford IT and it has the full backing of Waterford GAA (no county ground down there either). The DKIT project is being backed by all the major sports bodies at national and local level. This concept is very popular in the UK and the states. Basically the college get to use the facilities during the day for their students, while the sporting bodies utilise it at night and weekend. As well as being the new home for Louth GAA games it will also be home for Dundalk and Drogheda Utd, and will host UEFA, Heineken Cup and Magners League games etc. All the infrastructure is in place, restaurant, bar, hotel, access from motorway, car parking on campus, overflow carparking at Xerox, Retail Park etc

LumpHammer (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 13/05/2009 15:53:23    282214

Is LCB backing this, Lumphammer?

Angle Grinder (Louth) - Posts: 121 - 13/05/2009 16:51:52    282277

I have no problem with louth squidword. My lack of favouritism for your idea is that

1. Inniskeen built a state of the art grounds for Inniskeen and monaghan
2. Inniskeen will no doubt take a back foot if louth are playing there home games there ( and dont be mistaken)
3. Drogheda is not all that bad, its not as if louth fans are going to pack it out anyways

But if your idea is actually heard, and goes ahead i wish louth every success in the grattans field, but i cant see it happening

damonaghan (Monaghan) - Posts: 211 - 13/05/2009 17:05:03    282298

Top Table fully behind it

LumpHammer (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 13/05/2009 17:16:27    282311

dkit sounds like a great job defo but i most certainly cant see dundalk and drogheda sharing a stadium in dundalk of all places. sure they are going to try and kill each other after the match on friday night. I couldnt see their fans coming up all the time for home matches. the rest though sounds fantastic. i do remember reading soemthing about this ages ago in the argus.

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 13/05/2009 18:16:21    282403

Lumphammer/Angle Grinder/Fifth Official

From reading alot of your comments, its looks as though all over your points are coming from the same source!!!!!!! Ye seem to be some kind of a propaganda machine for a certain committee..... All of your thoughts are the same, i.e. anti county board & Pro Darver!!

I'd say ye are all from the same club too !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

redneck (Louth) - Posts: 2 - 13/05/2009 22:37:26    282643

Welcome on board, redneck

Which camp are you in?

LumpHammer (Louth) - Posts: 66 - 14/05/2009 11:16:54    282941

Redneck/Rover.

If you have nothing constructive to provide to the discussion, please refrain from posting. After reading your posts you have provided absolutely no solutions, just negative feedback. Its time to move on, this requires change. Let us know if you're up for the challenge.

The Lumphammer/Angle Grinder/Fifth Official is trying to provide alternatives to the current mess we are in.

TheCircus (Louth) - Posts: 4 - 14/05/2009 11:42:06    282981

dkit fits the bill because

1 its beside a hospital
2 its beside a motorway
3 there will be stands with seats
4 the grass will be cut
5 they dont have an attitude problem
6 they are easily understood because they dont live beside mead peeple
7 they dont blame everybody else
8 they let the soccer heads do their own thing
9 not afraid to pay their way
10 when they buy scoreboards they pay for them and they usually work

Toeboard (Louth) - Posts: 164 - 14/05/2009 12:04:53    283012

Rover the Redneck

You obviously live in the same house

Angle Grinder (Louth) - Posts: 121 - 14/05/2009 14:08:18    283170

Squidword you seem to have a love love relationship with Inniskeen, do you live there or something? Were you at this meeting putting forward these grounds as an option...

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 14/05/2009 14:20:37    283182

For the record and also you Keeks, I have absolutely no affilation whatsoever to or with Inniskeen. I do however see a venue which merely gives you another option along with that of Páirc Tailteann in Navan as we (Louth) clearly have no grounds capable of holding any major home fixture should one arise anytime in the future for Louth. The reality of all this is very simple WE ARE THE LAUGHING STOCK OF THE WHOLE COUNTRY... FACT. Furthermore I'm my whole lifetime listening to ***** about whats going to be done here there and everywhere Drogheda,Dundalk,Darver etc etc etc wake up for **** sake. I for one am sick to the teeth of the whole set up so there.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2009 16:50:32    283458

How is it that 'BIG' counties with more than one 'BIG' town can identify a location be it where ever in their county for a county ground build it and have no issue where it is

am33 (Louth) - Posts: 167 - 14/05/2009 19:43:35    283677

Personally I believe that Darver should be the home of Louth GAA.The amount of work that has being done there to date would all be for nothing if the venue is not Louth's future home. I also believe that the majority of GAA followers in Louth haven't ever seen the great work that has being done there. This place is more than a training facility and if and when you go there you will quickly realise this so by hook or by crook Darver must have its stand built and its terracing developed so as that the project can be finally completed and the people of Louth will finally have a home for there Gaelic games to be played.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 14/05/2009 23:26:17    283963

've been reading all the posts on this thread with great diligence and I have to say that without doubt squidwords ideas are some of the most ridiculous I've ever read on here. I mean wanting Louth to play there home games at Ennis keen is an absolute joke to my mind, there's people barking on here about us being the laughing stock of the country because we haven't got a county ground??? We are a laughing stock not because of our facilities but because of our lack of success in the past 50 years, late 70's apart (not sure on year) when we contested an U-21 Semi-final against Kerry, which incidentally was in Drogheda and a crowd of over 10,000 attended!! Now look at the facts, we've won a B championship, Tommy Murphy cup, and a couple of league titles, (O'Byrne cup not worth mentioning). Underage has been a washout in the recent past, 96 apart when Louth were beaten by a decent Meath team in a Leinster final that included seven players that went on to claim senior winners medals later that summer, and I'd add 2003 where Louth took a good Dublin team to a replay in a Leinster semi. Now lets get real here lads, I mean I've been to many a national league game and if you get more than 2,000 at one you are doing well, so is a new ground going to make all the difference?? Well I don't think it will, but getting more professional in terms of bringing on our talent will; better coaching in schools especially primary schools all clubs getting there mentors trained on the best way to coach kids, collaboration between schools and clubs, better ran competitions. Then you look at our secondary schools how many play in the top tier in Leinster?? Apart from a combined Dundalk team I don't think there's any!! A total overhaul is needed and by reading some of the posts the green shoots are appearing in this respect. We have to realize that in Louth especially we are competing against other sports more so than in other counties, the demon soccer, rugby, and in other places a lot of young people take up golf at an early age so it's a question of enticing boys and girls at an early age into GAA and keeping them there, with good coaching and professionalism as much as we can!! It's laughable when squidword comes on saying Darver should be the home of Louth football, has he not been reading the papers, the CB can't finish the project to get it to training standards, dressing rooms half built, and the Treasurer saying it is fast becoming "unsustainable", and he wants stands and terraces built?? And his other suggestion is to move our home games to Inniskeen?? Will you get real!! We might fill a new ground once every five years if we're lucky with a plum home draw against a Meath or Dublin. And lads I was at the last games we played these counties in the championship at home in the late 80's and early 90's, and Kildare in 91 and I can tell you there were far more supporters from these counties at the games than there were Louth people!! So lets try and get a consensus for developing our talent like Tyrone and Kerry have done Kerry for decades and Tyrone more recently, lets try and emulate these counties in some way shape or form!! And lads instead of giving out and saying the CB are this and the CB are that, go to your clubs AGM and put yourself forward to be a CB delegate and try and do something to change it!!

SmallBoy (Louth) - Posts: 297 - 15/05/2009 12:46:30    284340

I think thats only the second post after mine which revolved around coaching at a young age. Finally a bit of sense! Ya's didnt notice my comment hopefully you's notice this one!

LU.ABU (Louth) - Posts: 120 - 15/05/2009 13:36:27    284399