Ah c'mon people! Only 10 in out of 50 odd! Don't let it slip now! Get 'em in and try to boost your position. Also running a correct forecast competition for the craic - and as a tie-breaker if needed!
So if DannyMc, Letterkennyman and Clash want to add this (they have already posted match prediction) mail a score to me. Last couple of days now folks - get 'em in to [email protected] please!
No word on prize yet - but as a clue I'd just like to say it'd be handy if you own a garage!
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 17/09/2008 12:15:39
JayoCluxton County: Dublin Posts: 1327
No word on prize yet - but as a clue I'd just like to say it'd be handy if you own a garage!
Is it an old tin of paint?
Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 17/09/2008 12:36:41
Is it a Kerry man's head?
Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 17/09/2008 12:52:21
Still waiting on about 20. Predictions and correct scoreline prediction awaited.
Prize is not a bucket of paint or a Kerryman's head. Negotiations are ongoing re same and I really can't give any hints at the moment other than all players should have their passports in order and change their money to Jamaican dollars.
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 18/09/2008 13:02:01
Is it a dinner date with John Barnes!!!
RedAdmiral (None) - Posts: 85 - 18/09/2008 14:18:12
First Prize: Dinner with John Barnes. Second Prize: 2x Dinners with John Barnes. Third Prize: John Barnes.
RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 18/09/2008 14:57:03
If GMG picks the same team as CLG we have a winner.
Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 19/09/2008 10:21:19
Clash-of-da-ash County: Galway Posts: 618
102994 If GMG picks the same team as CLG we have a winner.
Dont forget the draw option!
Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 19/09/2008 11:12:12
Clash - there are a few interesting possibilities but more anon. Right 40 minutes to go before Tipster 2008 takes its final email of the season (yahoo - don't mention the word draw anyone!). I haven't heard from the following nine - some are regular posters - some haven't been in touch for a couple of weeks and may have failed to finish the course in which case no end of season assessment will be given - lucky them! So half an hour to get you prediction AND your correct score prediction lads!
Andy dougal Enrico Gasur_crua GoalsWinGames Holymoly Mossbags swinford2008 Tomás Tralee
Also I have no actual score prediction from DannyMc, Dessie15 or NorthSideGael so if ye want to participate in this get them in to me asap!
Will post and outline winning possibilities later!
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/09/2008 11:26:38
Right 40 in for the last week - I haven't heard from 6 players! Also as I haven't heard from Enrico or GoalsWinGames for a few weeks now they are deemed to have dropped out. At our height we had 59 players so to have 46 finish ain't bad at all!
Well, as luck would have it the predictions fell fairly nicely (mathematically) so in true opinion poll style I can tell ye that exactly 50% have gone for a Kerry victory, 37.5% for Tyrone with the remaining 12.5% undecided ie draw!!!
To recap on the situation at the top - CLG leads with 74, GMG has 72, with three players on 70 (HornNeck, Thomas Clarke and Flanders). If Kerry win CLG is the overall winner, if Tyrone win we have a tie between CLG and GMG (nearest correct score will decide), if its a draw, Flanders (only player on 70 to opt for a draw - strangely!) will tie with CLG. Clear as mud! The rest of you are playing for positions on the board!
I dunno what way they are gonna look when I post but the order should be - your name, team selection followed by your total and then Kerry score first followed by Tyrone score - hope that makes sense! I rang RTE to ask who I should list first and they said Kerry - relax! the hypersensitive among you - only joking! - its purely alphabetical! Sorry I couldn't put them in highest score order but the correct prediction lines messed this up and I gave up trying! Incidentally I am surprised at the relatively high scoring predictions - points to a good game hopefully! And also that some people have predicted the exact same score! (Please check that your predictions are correct).
On Monday I will give Final placings and some obs on the competition overall! Slán til then!
ps As you can see I have heard from Jim Wexford and all is well!
Kerry Tyrone 6 in a row Kerry 68 2-15 2-13 Armaghgeddon Tyrone 64 1-14 2-16 Bald Eagle Kerry 64 2-07 1-07 beeduybe Kerry 60 2-14 1-11 Carl Jung Kerry 66 2-13 1-10 clash-of-da-ash Kerry 64 2-12 1-13 CLG Kerry 74 2-14 2-10 Dannymc Draw 62 Dessie15 Kerry 52 Floops Kerry 62 1-14 2-10 Fr Tierney Kerry 54 1-12 1-10 freddy15 Kerry 64 1-14 0-12 GMG Tyrone 72 2-10 1-14 Holymoly 60 HornNeck Kerry 70 2-17 1-15 Jakestevens81 Kerry 56 1-12 0-10 JayoCluxton Kerry 64 2-14 1-12 Jim (Wexford) Draw 68 2-12 1-15 Legend92 Tyrone 68 1-09 0-15 Liam, Walkinstown Kerry 60 1-16 2-10 Lifford Gael Tyrone 60 1-13 2-12 Loyal2TheRoyal Kerry 60 2-11 1-13 Macattack Draw 68 1-16 2-13 Mossbags 50 North Side Gael Tyrone 48 Northwestisbest Draw 50 2-12 1-15 RealKerryFan Kerry 30 2-13 1-13 Red Admiral Tyrone 60 1-13 2-11 rich dublin Kerry 56 2-13 1-11 RMDrive Tyrone 68 2-12 1-16 samin10 Tyrone 62 1-14 2-13 swinford2008 Tyrone 56 2-10 1-15 Thomas Clarke Kerry 70 1-11 3-12 Tír Chonaill abú Tyrone 58 0-12 1-11 Tomás Tralee 54 Andy 58 Ballbhoy Tyrone 64 1-13 0-20 Bumpernut Tyrone 52 2-11 1-16 Flanders Draw 70 2-12 2-15 Gasur_crua 66 Gunit Tyrone 58 1-09 0-15 Letterkennyman Tyrone 60 1-12 2-11 lino_de_legend Kerry 58 2-13 0-11 Shinners Tyrone 50 1-13 3-08 dougal 44 Leitrim Lad Kerry 42 2-15 3-11
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/09/2008 14:03:10
Ah come on now JC, you might want to look at mine again there. Kerry?! Hardly.....
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 19/09/2008 14:27:56
RE: Flanders (only player on 70 to opt for a draw - strangely!) will tie with CLG
Up here for thinking down there for dancing.....!
Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 19/09/2008 14:33:57
Jeeze TC - profuse apologies! Not even done as a wind-up - pure human error! I put in the right score but the wrong selection! If you are being run out of Tyrone get them to email me and I'll explain! Looks like the Pope IS the only infallible one after all - oh, and Snuffy!
One other amendment - North Side Gael predicts a 3-10 to 2-8 win for Tyrone.
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/09/2008 15:24:34
Some people are on the pitch - they think its all over - it is now! Peaking at 59 players but finishing with 46 - 19 weeks, 56 games, and over 800 emails (received) later!
Congratulations to CLG and GMG (both Ulstermen I believe) who finished level at the top on 74 points. Some excellent tipping throughout the season saw the pair always around the top! I intend to leave it as joint winners but if the lads want to have a tie breaker on the minor replay or the Ladies Final - drop me an email.
In 3rd place we have Thomas Clarke - a well respected and knowledgeable poster - crowning a great day for Tyrone and Ulster!! A full listing of placings is outlined below. My old friend RKF finished bottom and I'm sure he has suffered enough today without me ribbing him so I won't.
Nobody clicked the correct score - some were close - have a look back yourselves.
Just for completion, I also include the players who dropped out below - with the number of weeks played followed by their score.
So thanks to everybody for all the help, craic, co-operation over the duration. We managed to get through the holidays without much trouble and errors were few and far between thankfully! One weekend we had 10 games which was a bit of a headache but we got there. Please God we'll be back for a stab at it again next year. I'll post for interest around April and maybe we can have a look at the format and see if we can change anything to make it a better competition. I would also have loved to have seen the winners get something for their efforts but it was not to be!
So from Jayo and Football Tipster Competition its slán for 2008 - well done to Tyrone and well done to GMG and CLG - great winners!
1st CLG 0 74 1st GMG 2 74 3rd Thomas Clarke 2 72 4th HornNeck 0 70 4th Legend92 2 70 4th RMDrive 2 70 4th Flanders 0 70 8th 6 in a row 0 68 8th Jim (Wexford) 0 68 8th Macattack 0 68 11th Armaghgeddon 2 66 11th Carl Jung 0 66 11th Ballbhoy 2 66 11th Gasur_crua 0 66 15th Bald Eagle 0 64 15th clash-of-da-ash 0 64 15th freddy15 0 64 15th JayoCluxton 0 64 15th samin10 2 64 20th Dannymc 0 62 20th Floops 0 62 20th Lifford Gael 2 62 20th Red Admiral 2 62 20th Letterkennyman 2 62 25th beeduybe 0 60 25th Holymoly 0 60 25th Liam, Walkinstown 0 60 25th Loyal2TheRoyal 0 60 25th Tír Chonaill abú 2 60 25th Gunit 2 60 31st swinford2008 2 58 31st Andy 0 58 31st lino_de_legend 0 58 34th Jakestevens81 0 56 34th rich dublin 0 56 36th Fr Tierney 0 54 36th Tomás Tralee 0 54 36th Bumpernut 2 54 39th Dessie15 0 52 39th Shinners 2 52 41st Mossbags 0 50 41st North Side Gael 2 50 41st Northwestisbest 0 50 44th dougal 0 44 45th Leitrim Lad 0 42 46th RealKerryFan 0 30
Fidel Custard 1 4 Snufalufagus 1 4 Philips 4 20 Coco83 5 16 JamesMayo 7 32 tribute 7 38 RoyalCountyStar 10 42 Mightycelts 11 50 Niamh 13 42 S Man 13 66 Sean Og 13 60 Enrico 13 52 GoalsWinGames 13 52
JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 21/09/2008 21:52:05
Just got in from the pub here in Birmingham. Great final whoever you were shouting for, absolutely loved it and the beers that went with it! Well done Tyrone though, you really deserved it on that display. Hard luck Kerry, you put up a great fight. I'd just like to say a huge thanks to Jayo for running this competitiion which I've enjoyed loads and congratulations to both CLG and GMG on topping the heap, well done. Hopefully we'll all be back next year whoever we follow to enjoy the craic. Good luck to you all.
6 in a row (UK) - Posts: 5 - 21/09/2008 22:26:47
Just back from 2 weeks off, hence the lack of a final prediction (would have went for Tyrone, honest!). Many thanks for running this Jayo, was a good 'un!
Andy (Laois) - Posts: 371 - 22/09/2008 12:40:18
Fair play GMG, caught me in the end. I'm up for extra time if you are! On behalf of everyone involved, thanks to Jayo for running the Football Tipster 2008, good craic all the way with a good finish at the end. Bring on Tipster 2009!!!
CLG (None) - Posts: 23 - 22/09/2008 12:55:21
Cheers Jayo, great idea and well implemented! Great craic all round
Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 22/09/2008 13:03:21
Well done to JC for running the comp!
Great to see I have a 100% record in my predictions!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 22/09/2008 13:36:45
Cheers CLG, didnt think I would catch you, I am on for extra time, what do you reckon the minor game as Jayo suggested, thanks a million again Jayo for running it
GMG (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 22/09/2008 14:12:05