The Celtic Football Club 1888

Meath_bhoy

281360 No player has moved between United & Liverpool for over 40 years = Paul Ince

Paul Ince didn't move from United to Liverpool. He went from United to Internazionale and then to Liverpool.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 12/05/2009 17:13:51    281377

You can't criticise Rangers\Celtic for having rivalry between each other because of cultural\ethic\religious differences because that was the situation at the time.

The situation at the time? You mean over 100 years ago? Well you have proven my point entirely. It's arguably more important for them to beat each other that progress in Europe or progress as clubs. In 2003 both sides finished on 97 points & it came down to a shootout to see who could beat lesser clubs by more goals on the final day of season. It was a total farce. In total contrast, in 1989 Liverpool & Arsenal finished level on points, level on goal difference and Arsenal won the title on goals scored. One rival had to beat the other by two clear goals, not score goals against a weaker team to secure the title.

Check out Celtic's new away shorts. With this tartan pattern, there is no hint of Irishness, it is definitely the Socttish look :-)

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/09/10-kits/celtic-2009-10-international-nike-away-kit.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 12/05/2009 17:30:01    281402

slayer the difference between celtic and rangers fans when their abroad in europe is that rangers supporters always cause trouble.you just have to look at last years uefa cup final in manchester.on the other hand the celtic fans have the craic.in 2003 fifa awarded the celtic supporters the fifa fair play award for their good behaviour at the uefa cup final in seville.over 80,000 travelled and not one fan arrested.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/05/2009 18:00:29    281438

no hint of irishness? then whys isnt it blue and white. away jerseys can be any colour so why not make it blue and white

and the home jersy since 1888 has always had the irish look about it;)

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4202 - 12/05/2009 18:01:57    281439

!: United and Liverpool rivalry began with Fergie about 1990, after he won his first trophy. Before that they were too busy trying to be the biggest club in Machester.

2: Rangers were in the UEFA final last year.

3: Premiership teams are useless in the UEFA cup.

So Celtic and Rangers would enhance the poremiership, once they had the TV money. In fact, given their fan base, they would be capable of winning it in a few years.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/05/2009 21:21:44    281583

United and Liverpool rivalry began with Fergie about 1990, after he won his first trophy. Before that they were too busy trying to be the biggest club in Machester.

What! The rivalry that started between L'Pool and Manchester wasn't even football related but more to do with the introduction of the Manc ship canal and which docks were to be used IE Liverpool losing work & Manchester gaining, basically a bust up over economic reasons !!

I have to laugh when I hear Irish Liverpool\ManU fans slobbering on about hating each other, purely because they think that hating the others is what you are 'supposed' to do if you are L'Pool\ManU fan...................Not a clue !!!!!

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 13/05/2009 00:20:23    281785

patrique,

just like your posts on GAA, your posts on soccer are all qualified with the word 'if'. Man you are a dreamer!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 13/05/2009 09:47:52    281865

Meath Boy wrote:

I have to laugh when I hear Irish Liverpool\ManU fans slobbering on about hating each other, purely because they think that hating the others is what you are 'supposed' to do if you are L'Pool\ManU fan...................Not a clue !!!!!

So tell me anyway, do you hate Rangers?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6535 - 13/05/2009 09:49:03    281866

it is clearly different for irish people hating hating rangers fans than man u or liverpool. its a different context rangers fans are loyalists and believe in the union i.e ireland stay divided. rangers fans also descriminated against irish men who went to glasgow even though its complete hypocrisy since they done it here and got our country divided. so ye hating rangers it slightly different. even if you are irish and dont support celtic most people hate rangers anyway

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4202 - 13/05/2009 11:16:38    281936

So tell me anyway, do you hate Rangers?

Yes I do..Why, because a lot of Rangers fans are anti Catholic and I'm a catholic-that's personal. Ranger fans sing ' up to your neck in Fenian blood '. I am what what they class as a fenian so thats personal. Some Rangers fans ( not the club ) are associated with the Orange order so i guess i wouldn't be too welcome there.
Some rangers fans would be prone to sticking the Irish flag on top of a bonfire in july and that's personal to me and should be to all of us. Rangers the club had a Non Catholic policy up until 1989\90, thats not nice... Rangers fans carry 'their' ulster flags at games when we all know the Ulster flag represent 9 counties and is red and yellow. I could go on

Are all Rangers fans like this and do all of the above things really affect me in my day to day life then the answer is NO! in both cases. However, if i'm sitting in the house watching them crash out of Europe then yes I will have a little chuckle

This is a slightly different scenario to barstoolers who sit in pubs all over Ireland hating ManU\L'pool because they think they ' should' when the actual rivalry
is a regional thing between 2 cities located in the North West of a another country

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 13/05/2009 11:49:46    281965

Don't get the Celtic thing at all, the SPL is probably the most boring league in the world.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 13/05/2009 12:29:43    281998

If folk want to buy their replica jersey and support their "english" teams well then so be it.
This is a thread for Celtic fans to appreciate our team and our traditions, "faithful through and through" we sing, yes, the SPL, might not be the best league in the world, but we will support our team no matter what the the D4 brigade say.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 13/05/2009 12:53:51    282026

PJ...Don't get the Celtic thing at all, the SPL is probably the most boring league in the world.

And you think the LOI or Irish League is better ???? Oh, I am sorry you are probably comparing it to the Premer league. Apologies,
I didn't realise you were English!

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 13/05/2009 14:23:24    282123

Haha, this thread is comical. What traditions have you got that you associate with Celtic FC...the one were a bunch of eejits jump on a boat preaching about being irish while going to watch a foreign sport on foreign soil while getting drunk and making t*ts of yourselves. Yes very traditional indeed.

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 13/05/2009 15:05:56    282173

There was a recent thread where a lot of the stuff printed here was dealt with already so I don't want to get involved in repeating stuff I've already posted. I just wish to say HAIL HAIL to all my fellow Celts never mind the knockers and the slaggers, our Club was born from Famine and Oppression and we have been fighting against the odds since. We are more then a Club , we are a universal family and we look out for and support each other, KEEP THE FAITH.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/05/2009 15:37:50    282198

sheep are you sure you have got your name right cos I suspect you are an Aberdeen supporter.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 13/05/2009 15:49:46    282211

Meath_bhoy

282123 PJ...Don't get the Celtic thing at all, the SPL is probably the most boring league in the world.

And you think the LOI or Irish League is better ???? Oh, I am sorry you are probably comparing it to the Premer league. Apologies,
I didn't realise you were English!

The eircom league is far more entertaining than the SPL, the spl is so predictable, give me the eircom league any day,

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 13/05/2009 15:59:06    282218

Didnt take too long sheep for my D4 dig to lure you out of the shadows.
HAIL HAIL, as Corkcelt says to all tims on here.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 13/05/2009 16:00:13    282220

sean og
County: Armagh

Didnt take too long sheep for my D4 dig to lure you out of the shadows.
HAIL HAIL, as Corkcelt says to all tims on here.

If by D4 you mean Dublin 4 well then your just trying to get a dig in at the wrong person! Its the rest of the rubbish you lot have been spouting out of yis recently that 'lured' me out. I think you lot are all a bunch of deluded 15 year olds wearing uncle joeys celtic jersey sitting at the computer who think its 'cool' to hate the 'Brits'. Well lads grow up and join us in the 21st century any time.....

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 13/05/2009 16:32:30    282254

Hibs kept the league alive tonight

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 13/05/2009 21:55:41    282606