New York v Mayo

paddyogall - you have already posted that ny shouldnt be in the championship, i dont know why you are pretending you care about the ny line-up

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 11/05/2009 11:26:18    279921

bad.monkey
County: USA

279921 paddyogall - you have already posted that ny shouldnt be in the championship, i dont know why you are pretending you care about the ny line-up

Meowwwww!!!!! bad.monkey all these early morning posts are making you cranky, get some sleep man, what time is it over there now 7.30 am?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 11/05/2009 11:39:31    279937

unfortunately i work for a uk firm which means doing alot of work on uk time

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 11/05/2009 12:33:52    279992

ha Solo a Kilkenny man givin out baout NY playin in champo - least they trty. In my view KK hurlers shdn't be allowed play in hurley til they make sum effort at football - end of. Take ex-sample from Dubs - best jewel players in the county.

TommyHillFigure (Dublin) - Posts: 94 - 11/05/2009 12:34:33    279994

As I already posted earlier this week.....Zzzzz Zzzzzz...

Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 11/05/2009 14:47:36    280147

I used to play for Donegal over there and i think its great that NY keep playing in the championship. i dont really understand why some of the better players from the teams out there dont figure in the line up though, is it cause they are not legal or what? Because i expected to see some names in the team and they aren't there, e.g some of the down and tyrone players. also CJ molloy played with me, and hes american. i know they had big hopes for him. why wasnt he playing? i think if everyone was allowed to play, they would rattle sligo or leitrim....

Fermfave (Fermanagh) - Posts: 118 - 11/05/2009 14:59:08    280157

i can only say fair play to ny. and all you lads that knock ny should hold your heads in shame. i bet none of ya have left ireland and knows whats it like to be apart of the gaa family at best you might of done a year in bondi but never have you lived away full time from ireland. ny and london put so much into being apart of the gaa it takes a lot of work and we all love it as we love gaa sport is also ment to apart of enjoyment not just winning. other wise we might as well only have 8 countys play for sam. think about what your saying lads and take you heads out of the sand which ever county you from. ny played some very good football can hold there heads high

mick78b (Kerry) - Posts: 1 - 11/05/2009 15:13:53    280175

The obvious is that NY can not seriously compete at Senior inter county level. That is not intended as slander towards the players or officials involved. Realistically, maybe NY should be competing at the club championship level. Another point that many people miss, is the exile factor. It is important to maintain close bonds between GAA overseas units and the home body. I have been disgruntled at this May match up for quite a while, but it is a great day out. However, I still think NY at the club level competitions is more viable. Also, to ensure growth overseas, players who are native to NY (etc) should be playing a bigger part on match day. At the club championship level, this would be possible. And, it would allow other cities across North America to partake as well. Overseas teams would have a serious chance to possibly advance in the competition. Eventually this could grow into a true club championship. And the popularity of the game could spread more amongst both the exile communities and their neighbors of non-irish background.

lostintime (USA) - Posts: 533 - 11/05/2009 15:47:38    280213

I'm saying that they should play in the championship.....but in a restructured one that suits that level,you know like the hurling.I don't see any body saying oh you have to keep it the way it has been since year dot in the hurling.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 11/05/2009 16:18:10    280241

TommyHillFigure
ha Solo a Kilkenny man givin out baout NY playin in champo - least they trty. In my view KK hurlers shdn't be allowed play in hurley til they make sum effort at football - end of. Take ex-sample from Dubs - best jewel players in the county.

Best 'jewel' players in the 'Emerald' Isle, surely?

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 11/05/2009 16:35:04    280253

I just want to say that I thoroughly enjoyed the day yeaterday. Yes, New York jumped out of the gates well and go 4 points up, justifying their participation in the Connacht Championship, Once Pat Harte got the goal we could all relax for the rest of the game.
Fair play to John Durcan (St. patrick) whom, when the game went through a dull period, livened up the crowd by asking them to do a Mexican Wave.
After the match, most of the supporters stayed on and we had a barbeque and loads of drink. I met some wonderful people there and friendships were formed. Hope to meet some of them at Castlebar on June 20th.
See you all in New York again in 2014.

Covie.in.D7 (Mayo) - Posts: 164 - 11/05/2009 21:52:12    280505

We started well and overall did ourselves proud against possible All-Ireland winners. Lets build on it.

deborah (USA) - Posts: 63 - 11/05/2009 23:07:14    280560

That was hilarious Covie with the crowd doing the wave. It was a great atmosphere. The weather was perfect. Lots of food, drink and good craic. I am born and raised in NY so I was hoping for a closer result but I give kudos to NY for playing hard. I hope the GAA continues to include NY in the Connaught SFC.

mikeyjoe (USA) - Posts: 415 - 11/05/2009 23:11:37    280568

TommyHillFigure

best jewel players in the county.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
The teachers want a pay RISE???

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 11/05/2009 23:16:59    280578

WESTSAWAKE,that was a "gem" of a post ya sent in.fell over laughing and nearly did myself a "spinel" injury...really,thanks for that,your a diamond.

enda.muldoon (Derry) - Posts: 318 - 11/05/2009 23:20:46    280585

TommyHillFigure County: Dublin Posts: 57 279994 ha Solo a Kilkenny man givin out baout NY playin in champo - least they trty. In my view KK hurlers shdn't be allowed play in hurley til they make sum effort at football - end of. Take ex-sample from Dubs - best jewel players in the county A literary genius in our midst.....there's a button there for spell check buddy. I'd say you've been to a lot of "hurley" games in your time TommyHillFigure. In fact I'd say I could safely say you've probably never been outside of Dublin to see any of your teams play Again I'll stress that my comments are nothing to the efforts of the New York or any other group keeping the GAA flag flying in foreign places. Fair play to them for giving emmigrants a focal point. My point is their value in playing in the championship and I don't think there is any.

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 12/05/2009 08:29:26    280665