Bad week for Carlow Hurling with both our minor's and U 21s being knocked.I hope to god Saturday goes to plan!!Anyone know for definite if the game is in Aughrim or Arklow?? fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 06/05/2009 22:54:25 276776 Link 0 |
Oh no, so u-21s lost to Kildare! I was looking everywhere for that result. What was the score?? The Real 1944 (Carlow) - Posts: 1114 - 07/05/2009 00:15:56 276871 Link 0 |
U21 result - Kildare 2-14 Carlow 2 - 9. Thats very disappointing result for u21s - they seemed to have such potential 3 years ago. I wonder was much done to keep this bunch together as a team - i know its hard to keep all lads on panel at that age what with college and work commitments and other sports - i seem to remember senior management who were over u21 as well saying they were very disappointed with turnout at training ? dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 07/05/2009 10:16:35 276980 Link 0 |
The reall 1944,if your looking for results like that in future.Just check the Leinster GAA website.In fairness they normally have the results up fairly quick. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 07/05/2009 11:51:12 277058 Link 0 |
match is in Arklow at 3 o clock Fergie eire32 (Carlow) - Posts: 49 - 08/05/2009 20:46:45 278603 Link 0 |
Win for the hurlers today down in Arklow,surprised to see Westmeath beaten by Kildare.Eventually i have managed to see how the comp works this year(they like to make it awkward)If Carlow win next week,they enter the semi's,while if they lose,they enter the quarters.Draw for next round must be during the week,im not sure. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 10/05/2009 00:32:23 279368 Link 0 |
Lads i cant believe theres not more of an out cry about our loss to Kildare in u21 c/ship, dis was our minor team who reached the leinster final after beating Laois, Offaly & Wexford on way to final against Kilkenny. No dis -respect to Kildare but we should be hammering them at dis level & cant believe we gone back so much. I know we missing players from that team but still not gud enough what did the county board do to keep the players together? this would not happen in any other county in ireland, am disgusted that we have let things slip & the same seems to have happened to our minor football team of 07 they not coming through. with our minor hurlers losing to Westmeath we seem to be going backwards to the bad old days & i find the whole thing depressing. carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 282 - 10/05/2009 19:23:27 279613 Link 0 |
The county board can only do so much, but if the players dont commit, its hard to know what to do.. old yellar (None) - Posts: 2635 - 11/05/2009 13:24:21 280046 Link 0 |
Does anyone know what went on with management and Robert Foley during Carlow/Wicklow hurling match on Saturday ? dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 11/05/2009 14:23:46 280112 Link 0 |
Yes acarlow,i find it a bit to.Hope we dont slip back to where we were years ago as it took many years hard work to get underage where we are now.Bad loss about afor U- 21s esp after being outscored 2-7 to no score from a point in second half.Only good thing i can think of is from that 06 minor team,the guts of them were underage again in o7 which hopefully they can give it another proper crack next year.And dual supporter i was down in Arklow but not sure what is the story with Foley,but he did get subbed early into the game and walked atraight to the dressing room.Hopefully they can win again this Sat and book there place in the semi finals.Dont know who there playing yet. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 11/05/2009 15:11:14 280169 Link 0 |
I believe that Robbie told the manager where to go after he got onto him about passing and not shooting from crazy angles. Felt this was a bit harsh as he was winning a good bit of posession and was unlucky with the few balls that he struck wide. I would rather see him striking them wide that the fullback lording and clearing them up the field. Hopefully he'll be back as Carlow really need him on the square. He probably said it out of frustration more so than anything. We'll need him against Kildare. I know we won by ten pints the other day but some of the decision making and passing left alot to be desired and we could of won this game by more if we had a bit more composure. The team are alot better than what they showed and missing some key men too in Kavanagh (on way back from injury) and Dunbar (exams). Heres hoping we beat kildare and push on to win this competition again. GOUCH (Carlow) - Posts: 24 - 11/05/2009 17:53:54 280333 Link 0 |
If Foley did that then leave him where he is. hogg (Carlow) - Posts: 321 - 11/05/2009 19:27:27 280399 Link 0 |
Agree with carlo the u-21 was match that seems to have gone under the radar. Terrible loss at this stage of the competition the records will show one win to Louth to our most promising team in years. from the start this was a poor set up how can one man manage two teams, word on the ground is that the main focus was on the senior team which is fair enough but surley this group deserved more than a half harted effort from the managment team and county board. Why were none of last years managment team involved this year. No continunity from last year from a squad that won the All Ireland B title last year?. There seems to be a lot of our under 21s playing on the senion side. Is this good enought That these players are playing on a senior squad just out from minor and not performing on the 21 squad elite (Carlow) - Posts: 12 - 13/05/2009 16:28:04 282247 Link 0 |
Hopefully we Beat Kildare on Saturday anyway.A win and were in the semi's.Lose and there's still a quarter final there.Prefer to go through front door though!!!Kildare will be on a high after winning Div 3,beating westmeath and beating us in the U-21. fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1120 - 14/05/2009 17:04:31 283505 Link 0 |
Watched Carlow struggle to beat a poor Wicklow team last sat. I think ye are going to be in trouble against Kildare, unless ye improve by bout 50%. The shooting was awful. One last thing what happened with your forward that left the field after he was called ashore, he didnt look like a happy camper.Will ye have him tomorrow? bandwagon09 (Wicklow) - Posts: 48 - 15/05/2009 08:56:30 284084 Link 0 |
I am led to beleive that this is an all around very good Kildare team with little if any weakness, they are very much focused on winning the Christie Ring cup and they see no reason why they wont,one of their keen supporters tells me they are raring to go and who ever wins between Kildare and Carlow will have one hand on the cup, I suppose from our point of view we have to up our game all around and cut down on our wides, but I see no reason if we apply our selves the way I know we can why we cant come away with a win. -------- The very best of good luck to you all. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3247 - 16/05/2009 17:05:10 285225 Link 0 |
Fair play to Carlow today...played far smarter in atrocious conditions. Ye always seemed to have a spare man to give the handpass to, had the better forwards (10 and especially 15 very good) and deserved ur win. Westmeath knocked out today too so Carlow will be the hottest of favourites to retain title. Hopefully we'll meet ye in the final!! Ar.an.talamh (Kildare) - Posts: 320 - 16/05/2009 21:03:16 285368 Link 0 |
Ar.an.talamh supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3247 - 16/05/2009 22:11:06 285400 Link 0 |
Supersub:I suppose you wont get to todays match either,typical armchair supporter, arent we really lucky to have fans like you. dead_as_dodos (Carlow) - Posts: 459 - 17/05/2009 10:39:27 285526 Link 0 |
dead_as_dodos-- Sorry about that I wont let it happen again and I wont put family matters first, I am in fact heading off to the match right now, would you not consider going yourself, why not, go on, go on. supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3247 - 17/05/2009 12:34:41 285564 Link 0 |