Are Mayo too nice?

If you mean that i respect it. There have been times when iv been watching tyrone that i am so thankful i am not from there. Take for example the image of mcmahon screaming in walshes face in the AI final last year (think he ahd just won a free of him or he had missed a shot). OK they won, but they're slowly losing respect along the way. Oh for crying out loud. We're losing respect? I would've thought thay, after some of the bile directed our way in 03, that we might have actually GAINED some respect. Guess I was wrong and we're still a blight on the game, despite last year playing an attacking style of football and being involved in very few controversial incidents. Tsk, and Kerry winning about six all-irelands in a row would've been just fantastic for everyone? I mean, this is what i mean - picking up on McMahon goading a player from a team that were involved in far more controversial incidents than us last year (no offence to the Kerry posters). If people are going to hate Tyrone after last year, my conclusion is that they'll always hate Tyrone. Notice how no-one gives Armagh a hard time anymore. Maybe there's a correlation between success and begrudgery, hmm. Kerry got a hard time of it in 07 and 08 from certain quarters - until they lost, then no-one bothers about them. Nobody seemed that fussed about Tyrone - then we win it again, and the anti-Tyrone ones come out of the woodwork.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 07/05/2009 12:31:13    277094

Excellent points Michael O. I have always said that I was disappointed in 2003 but respected and enjoyed Tyrone in 2005 and 2008.

I do not think last years team are a patch on 2005 but they still won out so fair play.

No complaints from me.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 07/05/2009 18:48:22    277505

mayo and laois have both beaten Tyrone in the last few years when it counted

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 07/05/2009 23:56:02    277809

MichaelO County: Tyrone Notice how no-one gives Armagh a hard time anymore. Maybe there's a correlation between success and begrudgery, hmm. I dont ever remember armagh behaving like some of the tyrone lads do. Armagh played the game hard and fair and people respect that. Nobody begrudges tyrone their all-irelands but its just a pity that they let themselves down with some of the antics. And i dont believe for a second that you weren't a little bit embarrassed watching the carry-on against kerry last year?

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 08/05/2009 09:31:36    277869

Too nice lookin is it? Sorry for takin all ur ladies lads

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/05/2009 10:36:58    277923

I dont ever remember armagh behaving like some of the tyrone lads do. Armagh played the game hard and fair and people respect that. Nobody begrudges tyrone their all-irelands but its just a pity that they let themselves down with some of the antics. And i dont believe for a second that you weren't a little bit embarrassed watching the carry-on against kerry last year? Sigh. Armagh statement - revisionism. Plenty of people whinged about Armagh. Final last year - more attempts at revisionism and blowing things about of proportion. Tyrone have come a long way if complaints about them focus on Joe McMahon shouting at Tommy Walsh. At least focus on McMenamin or something, give yourselves a chance.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 08/05/2009 10:45:39    277931

Have to say lads that my Granny was born in Outherard and raised on Achill so I`m personally extremely fond of Mayo people and my strong Mayo connections. Just a bit of unwanted personal trivia for yis.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 08/05/2009 10:50:35    277937

Mayo.....like marmite!!

Either love or hate...................

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 08/05/2009 10:56:53    277942

MichaelO i still havent heard you say what you think about mcmahon shouting in tommy walsh's face. Or indeed mcmenamin and gormley's constant mouthing at opponents. Do you think it's good behaviour then? Do you feel proud when you see your county men behave like this? It has to be embarrassing

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 08/05/2009 11:13:59    277954

chester1970

mayo is nothing like marmite - next time youre at the deli ask for marmite on your chicken fillet roll and you'll see then!!!

dromardabu (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 08/05/2009 12:39:38    278053

MichaelO i still havent heard you say what you think about mcmahon shouting in tommy walsh's face. Or indeed mcmenamin and gormley's constant mouthing at opponents. Do you think it's good behaviour then? Do you feel proud when you see your county men behave like this? It has to be embarrassing No, I don't think it's good behaviour, but it's the blatant bias apparent in topics such as these that makes it hard to have a decent discussion. It's like you guys make up for your shortcomings by acting as if "well it's because we dont stoop down to Tyrone's level". Why the hell would I be embarrassed by Tyrone's display in the all-ireland final last year? We beat a fantastic Kerry side, scored 1-13 from play, picking up only two yellow-cards on the way etc. You can beat Kerry by playing good football, and i think we showed that in the 05 and 08 finals. The lack of perspective is incredible, as Tyrone's discipline was probably the best in the country last year. Some people will never be happy. I know Mayo fans have suffered in all-ireland finals this decade, but that doesn't mean you have to demean other county's successes.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 08/05/2009 14:29:36    278180

redandgreen County: All Posts: 391 277954 MichaelO i still havent heard you say what you think about mcmahon shouting in tommy walsh's face. Or indeed mcmenamin and gormley's constant mouthing at opponents. Do you think it's good behaviour then? Do you feel proud when you see your county men behave like this? It has to be embarrassing I have to back MichaelO here. No team is perfect redngreen, but by making posts like that you are inferring that your own county has never been involved in anything untoward or any poor behaviour. I don't want to put words in your mouth redngreen, but I'd imagine you're embarrassed at the Meath-Mayo brawl from years ago. Not because you went on to lose the AI but because your fellow countymen reduced the GAA showpiece to animalistic thuggery. I take no pleasure reminding you of that but I'm sure it ******* you off when it was constantly used to bait Mayo fans for years afterwards. You're doing the same to MichaelO here. Tyrone are brilliant AI champions and dont deserve to have their success undermined at every turn I'm not blind to the negative aspects of Tyrones play but I see the same stuff from every single county without exception.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12410 - 08/05/2009 15:39:32    278255

Very well said Breff.....wise , conciliatory words.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 08/05/2009 16:15:51    278301

Lads, i am not trying to demean tyrone's success. Fair play to them for winning the all irelands they have. I just think it's a shame when you see the best team in the country behave themselves like they did in some of the games last year. And no matter what ye say, they are the worst offenders by a mile. And well ye know it. Some of the stuff that goes on, i even find it embarrassing to watch and im not even from there. A bit of respect for the opposition is all im asking for. And for men to behave like men

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 11/05/2009 11:44:19    279946

"redandgreen County: All Posts: 393 279946 Lads, i am not trying to demean tyrone's success" That is exaxtly what you are doing. You are picking out insignificant seconds from hours of football played over a football championship. To any neutral observer you are being small minded at best and at best having very little knowledge of the game. Should I take about the goading from Cora Staunton a couple of years ago against Tyrone (Mayos most successfull footballer by some distance, she can win all-irelands) or the disgracful behaviour of OMalley in the league a couple of years back - never mind 1996! None of these incidents makes mayo a dirty or cynical team because they are isolated incidents. Aside from the fact that your contributions are boring because you are creating threads that people have read before, you are belittling everything Mayo football is about. At the recent league game I spoke to many real Mayo supporters in McHale park who have a genuine knowledge and love of the game. I would suggest that you converse more with them and maybe come up with something useful to say about footaball. You would sour milk before the cow grazed.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 11/05/2009 12:19:59    279974

No, I don't think it's good behaviour, but it's the blatant bias apparent in topics such as these that makes it hard to have a decent discussion. It's like you guys make up for your shortcomings by acting as if "well it's because we dont stoop down to Tyrone's level". Why the hell would I be embarrassed by Tyrone's display in the all-ireland final last year? We beat a fantastic Kerry side, scored 1-13 from play, picking up only two yellow-cards on the way etc. You can beat Kerry by playing good football, and i think we showed that in the 05 and 08 finals. The lack of perspective is incredible, as Tyrone's discipline was probably the best in the country last year. Some people will never be happy. I know Mayo fans have suffered in all-ireland finals this decade, but that doesn't mean you have to demean other county's successes. I'd have to say Tyrone played nice football last year but there definitely is a side of them where they niggle at sides off the ball and try to rise them into doing silly things. It definitely happened in the final and then when Kerry retaliated you had Tyrone players hitting the ground left, right and centre. Don't believe me get out the ould DVD and try to look at the game from a neutral viewpoint. As for Mayo they haven't and don't have a team in the same class as Tyrone. A full strenght Tyrone team (current team) I believe would beat a full strenght Kerry team 6 out of 10 times without resorting to the tactics displayed in the final last year (although I think Kerry will have improved this year). I'd have no qualm about them against Wexford they beat us with pure football but they definitely changed their tactics for Kerry. They know how to beat Kerry, get them fired up and they will give away frees at will.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 11/05/2009 13:56:44    280085

No point getting into a discussion with you john boss as you clearly are blinded by your tyrone bias. Whatever. Ive already stated that tyrone proved themselves to be the best team last year. But dont try and tell me that they are just like any other county with the odd "isolated incident" when we can see with our own eyes that it is a constant trait of this team. They are an outstanding team but their behaviour is appalling in my opinion. That's why people always have good time for kerry i think. They are pure class. To see the look of bemusement on gooch's face - probably the best player in the country - as mcmenamin goaded and jeered him made me sick. And i dont for a minute believe that you could be proud of this kind of thing from your countymen

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 11/05/2009 14:42:56    280138

"It definitely happened in the final and then when Kerry retaliated you had Tyrone players hitting the ground left, right and centre."

I can't think of any examples where a Kerry play retaliated to something a Tyrone player had done. The majority of Kerry's yellows came from undisciplined defending.

"that's why people always have good time for Kerry i think. They are pure class"

You must have been watching a different championship than I did last year.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 11/05/2009 15:42:04    280202

Ok MichealO, John Boss, etc. Tyrone are the best county ever and should never be criticised by anyone. Their behaviour on the field is impeccable. Ryan mcmenamin is quite the sportsman who believes in fair play. Its great to see them goading and laughing about their opponents. And so what if they tackle off the ball? All part of the game. And so what if gooch comes off the pitch with his eye swelled up. Probably just happened in an accidental clash with one of the tyrone lads, who im sure apologised straight away. And whats wrong with giving someone a belt in the groin? Its a manly thing to do. I hope they continue to behave themselves like that because it really is a joy to watch. Also, i apologise unreservedly for having the cheek to criticise this great team. What was i thinking

I'll leave it at that

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 11/05/2009 16:24:02    280246

Ok MichealO, John Boss, etc. Tyrone are the best county ever and should never be criticised by anyone. Their behaviour on the field is impeccable. Ryan mcmenamin is quite the sportsman who believes in fair play. Its great to see them goading and laughing about their opponents. And so what if they tackle off the ball? All part of the game. And so what if gooch comes off the pitch with his eye swelled up. Probably just happened in an accidental clash with one of the tyrone lads, who im sure apologised straight away. And whats wrong with giving someone a belt in the groin? Its a manly thing to do. I hope they continue to behave themselves like that because it really is a joy to watch. Also, i apologise unreservedly for having the cheek to criticise this great team. What was i thinking

I'll leave it at that

Whoah, where'd that come from? Chill out. I was merely arguing that to demean Tyrone's victory last year on the basis of one or two minor incidents (such as that involving Joe McMahon) was not only an extremely narrow view of our success last year, but was also pretty damn condescending (such as to claim that Tyrone fans should be embarrassed etc). I wouldnt defend Ryan McMenamin, but jeez, if you think Tyrone were dirty last year, then im afraid there's not much point arguing with you.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 11/05/2009 16:45:58    280267