Are Mayo too nice?

i never heard such bull, mayo are well able to match da northern teams, ask tyrone who always get a tough game, donegal etc. i dont think we are too nice, mayo club football is among the toughest and best in the country, fact is in 04 and 06 we came up against a BETTER kerry team who playing that kind of football would beat most teams in the country.
im fed up with these posts regarding mayo from outside commentators who think they know mayo football, stick to yer own team and stop picking on a soft target.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 06/05/2009 10:59:28    275958

I'd file this under the "another excuse to hide the fact that Mayo haven't been good enough" section.
"Mayo are too nice"
"They just can't win the Croke Park"
"They have been very unlucky"

It's condescending to Mayo footballers to spout this rubbish. Mayo haven't been good enough to win. When they are good enough they will win. Pretty simple. Players like Nallen, Heaney, T mortimer, Harte are not exactly shrinking violets and it demeans them (and others) to perpetuate excuses like this.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 06/05/2009 11:14:00    275975

I echo ur sentiment WB, id rather not have one at all than cheat my way to one. Because, in my opinion, if you do that then you have betrayed ur county. People say that history only remembers the winner, but it also remembers how it was won. Why are kerry teams so revered as opposed to tyrone?

I think mayo could stiffin up their tackling, but hope they continue to draw the line at things that dont belong on a football field. When ricey and dooher jumped on the ball in the tyrone game last year, let no tyrone fan tell me that deep down they didnt cringe a bit. I know I would have had it been the other way around... Im sure there will be a response of 'thats wot it takes to win' but 100 years of gaa history says that no it isnt. When people look back on the 00's I think they will remember tyrone more for the anti-football they introduced to the game than the football they played

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 06/05/2009 11:25:08    275985

gaelantrim

Maybe I missed something but whats all this verbal abuse being referred to
?

Watch a dvd of any tyrone game from the last few years and you will see what we're talking about

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 06/05/2009 11:34:12    275994

Mayo are not too nice their just not good enough.

If there was a WUM all Ireland they'd be clear favourites with WB(PG)

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 06/05/2009 11:40:27    276000

Yes Mayo are too nice to win, to win you need a huge degree of hardness, badness and dirty play and dirty players and in the last few yeard dirty tactics, so for these reasons Mayo will never win a tight championship game

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 06/05/2009 11:47:30    276007

Just to make a few points on both sides of the debate.not sure about mayo being too nice,meath didn't batter them in 96,thats a stupid statement.in came down to an injury time point after a replay!if they were getting battered by meath,it wouldn't have gone to the wire,simple as that.they were outplayed in the O4 and 06 games by a far superior kerry team.speed and skill,physicality had nothing to do with it.however i can't argue with the fact the mayo have lacked a bit of cuteness.the little things off the ball that tyrone and armagh have perfected in recent years,and fair play to them.win at all costs is fine by me.and for my fellow countymen to say they'd rather not win an all ireland at all then win it they way these teams have is a joke!tyrone can play it anyway they want if it gets the results.thats all that will be remembered when looking back through history,not nice teams.the mayo team may lack physicality but they outmuscled tyrone and dublin in recent years when the tough got going.so the argument goes on!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 06/05/2009 12:05:43    276028

Nothing nice about them...play good, hard, clean football.

tulsk89 (Roscommon) - Posts: 113 - 06/05/2009 12:32:37    276063

What is a wum? I keep being referred to as one on these pages, is it a compliment? If so, thanks guys

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 06/05/2009 12:43:38    276079

Pascal McConnell, John Devine, Gormley, Philip Jordan, McMenamin (like him or loathe him), Davy Harte, Joe McMahon, Enda McGinley, Sean Cavanagh, Brian McGuigan, Brian Dooher, Stephen O'Neill, Owen Mulligan, Kevin Hughes, Colm McCullagh, Tommy McGuigan.

The way some people are talking it's as if the only reason players like these have won all-irelands is through cheating and physicality. Lame. Perhaps - and this is just a thought - we just have the best players? I know, blasphemy. Put it this way, after, for example, the quarter final against Dublin last year, it seemed like there was one team spending too much time in the gym and not enough time kicking footballs - and it wasn't Tyrone.

Mayo's only real problem seems to be when facing Kerry. Their defeats against Kerry in 04 and 06 were nothing to do with being too nice - they just folded on the day. I'd love to see Mayo win an all-ireland, despite some of the silly talk coming from some of their fans.

Oh, and can i also say that i think there's an element of revisionism to all this. I don't know how anyone who isnt completely biased could really complain about Tyrone's all-ireland victories in 05 and 08.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 06/05/2009 12:55:15    276086

MichaelO

When it comes to Tyrone & Ulster there are some people who just can't see the wood for the trees. Such is their irrational dislike for Northern teams that they haven't got it in them to praise Tyrone who are an excellent side. The first half performance against Dublin in this year's League was as good an exhibition of pure football that you will see. I haven't seen a better display of individual skill and point taking as Stephen O'Neill gave that day. The total destruction of Dublin last year in the Championship was also brilliant as was the win over Kerry. Tyrone have always produced good talented footballers but it is really only in the last 10 years or so that they have added that mental strength and wee bit of steel. Tyrone got a terrible physical whalloping against Meath in 1996 and it looks like they took a decision that would never happen again. As for Mayo they have some very good footballers but not the streetwise head or inner self belief to take them over the winning line. They are a bit like Antrim in that regard only with better footballers I would accept. However as I say "There are none so blind as those who cannot see".

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9819 - 06/05/2009 13:08:46    276104

WUM.......Wind-up Merchant......... is one ................. could also be a derogatory term pertaining to women

My advice to you Yop is to Google the definition of WUM or anything else that you do not understand...........hope this is of some help to you.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 06/05/2009 14:06:53    276183

Good man marty morrissey,all the players with the bleach blonde hair would be one conor mortimer!one player from the whole panel,and we don't even like him!and as for a donegal man slagging mayo?you're constantly dogged by problems with players living the good life!this year no exception,i'm best mates with a donegal player,know all the stories,so bleach hair should be the least of your worries mate!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 06/05/2009 14:06:54    276184

I have always found Mayo people very nice. I was at two All_Ireland's and the craic was great, plus had our 14s at feile in Mayo in the 90s. The people of Ballycroy were very nice. Ye, I would have to agree they are way to nice.

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 06/05/2009 14:08:09    276185

WUM.......Wind-up Merchant......... is one ................. could also be a derogatory term pertaining to women

My advice to you whiterbannnas is to Google the definition of WUM or anything else that you do not understand...........hope this is of some help to you.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 06/05/2009 14:08:27    276187

I think RM drive is the definitive post on this topic. Weve just never had a good enough team to go the distance (though we came pretty close in 89 and 96). But every year we live in hope. Theres not really any sports to compete with football in mayo (rugby, thankfully doesnt seem to have infiltrated the county the way it seems to be have traditional GAA counties in Munster) so that should ensure we always have a competitive team who may someday be good enough. And as for the image thing weve had two players with flash haircuts (well and anthony finnerty!) the last few years and cant understand why thats seen as the mayo type player. Most of the players are normal joes. and to be fair McD pulled it off.....now if only we could get the other fella into a barber!

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 06/05/2009 14:39:47    276233

Apart from the 2 wums paddy,ballboy and WB Mayo poeple are nice and friendly.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 06/05/2009 14:45:58    276235

irlande County: Fermanagh Posts: 124 275376 eiregocroi County: Cork Posts: 149 275322 If Mayo were in the Ulster Championship they wouldn't have won much as they haven't been physical enough. They'd just have become another Down or Donegal. Mortimor could be a good choice of captain and they have plenty of strength on this year's panel with Aidan O'Shea, Billy Joe Padden, Austin O'Malley, Ger Cafferkey, Ronan McGarrity etc. I dont understand? Down & Cavan are Ulsters most successive footballing counties, they have won 5 all irelands. Maybe I should have clarified...I was specifically referring to the last 10 years where the Ulster roll of honour has read: 2008 Armagh 2007 Tyrone , 2006 Armagh, 2005 Armagh, 2004 Armagh, 2003 Tyrone, 2002 Armagh, 2001 Tyrone, 2000 Armagh, 1999 Armagh. During that period Down and Donegal have not won an Ulster title despite Down having as good a crop of youngsters coming through as say Tyrone and despite Donegal and Down playing some of the most attractive football in the country at times up there with Galway, Laois, Mayo etc. They have also had some of the most talented individuals around(Dan Gordon, Christy Toye, Brendan Devenney, Benny Coulter etc.). Even the current Donegal team has two of the best prospects in the country in Stephen Griffin and Michael Murphy but hopes are muted for an Ulster title this year.

eiregocroi (Cork) - Posts: 201 - 06/05/2009 15:04:14    276263

Derry_ledd
County: Derry

whiterbannnas

275365 Honestly sean og, i would rather never win an all-ireland than to resort to physical and verbal abuse in order to win one. I mean that. The only way to win an all-ireland is to be the best footballing team in the country and to go out and prove it. How can there be any satisfaction in it otherwise. Go out and box your way to an all-ireland? Not for me

If you mean that i respect it. There have been times when iv been watching tyrone that i am so thankful i am not from there. Take for example the image of mcmahon screaming in walshes face in the AI final last year (think he ahd just won a free of him or he had missed a shot). OK they won, but they're slowly losing respect along the way.

I have been saying this for a long time.

I remember playing against Cork at hurling, beaten by a last minute goal. The bloke soloed 40 yards before scoring.

Now we could have "taken him out" before he shot, and won, but I wanted to beat Cork at HURLING.

I mean, we could have taken them all out before the match. But that is not hurling.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 07/05/2009 00:39:17    276880

Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 4678 276235 Apart from the 2 wums paddy,ballboy and WB Mayo poeple are nice and friendly. Freindly as in patronising to get the Tourist Euro from you nordies when you come down in July. From one of the Guys who was preaching to get ballboy back you sure are wound up. I am not ballboy btw

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 07/05/2009 11:02:45    277019