hear one said too to a fella not having one of his better games "if they wont take you off, will you not walk off" captain_morgan (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 11/05/2009 23:39:00 280605 Link 0 |
had a town team come out to play us in a practice match, St.Josephs i think, one of their players shipped a heavy tackle and proceeded to roar at the ref Annes Man (Wexford) - Posts: 208 - 12/05/2009 10:24:45 280748 Link 0 |
Plink joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 12/05/2009 11:20:40 280833 Link 0 |
i remember being at an offaly v dublin game a few years ago. martain cahill (St. Bridget's I think) was playing for the dubs and wasn very good this day. anywho,i went to the toilet at half time and i heard an "respectable"(ahem) gentleman say "jaysus,we shot the wrong bleeding martin chaill" !! Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 12/05/2009 11:26:07 280841 Link 0 |
Could be hearsay but a friend swore its true that at half time in a Junior C final many years ago in Meath this team went in 13 points down at half time and feeling absolutely demoralised .This was their first final for years and the whole parish had great expectations and the build up to the match had been the talk of the place for weeks. The manager ,struggling for the right words to rally the troops ,turned to the oldest member of the team who had been talked out of retirement at 39 for the game for some encouragement. After a moments silence he uttered the following words-'take your time lads because the longer we stay in this dressing room the longer we will stay in this years championship'!! noneutrals (Dublin) - Posts: 316 - 12/05/2009 12:10:08 280914 Link 0 |
When talking about needing goals the manager said......."Lads its either full duck or no dinner!" John_3__7 (Meath) - Posts: 546 - 12/05/2009 12:35:44 280953 Link 0 |
Heard at a Connaght Football Final a few years back the ref was making a few rash and hurried decisions and a Roscommon fan was not happy " Jaysus ref you're in an awful hurry, you mushst have hay down somewhere" donal (Mayo) - Posts: 33 - 12/05/2009 13:06:26 281002 Link 0 |
An infamous supporter at all of league games in St Peter's Warrenpoint - Down Division one football. Down Exile (Down) - Posts: 214 - 12/05/2009 16:55:25 281347 Link 0 |
"if it moves hit it.....if it doesnt move, hit it till it does !" Man in a ditch (Louth) - Posts: 321 - 13/05/2009 13:00:23 282036 Link 0 |
Most quotes at club level usually involve the ref. Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 14/05/2009 13:47:24 283137 Link 0 |
One of our players (full back) at a Community Games match a few years ago. Manager: You're winning every ball that comes but you're trying to go through the full forward on the way out with, would you ever go around him? Full back: How the **** can i go around him he's as big as a bus! Lightened the half-time mood no end. leeh (Galway) - Posts: 29 - 14/05/2009 14:45:01 283222 Link 0 |
Was out at Kilmacud's opening round fixture of the Dublin SFC and heard an opposition supporter,say the young lad was about 11 or 12, shout at a high profile Dublin footballer; - yearofthelily (Kildare) - Posts: 279 - 14/05/2009 15:25:22 283288 Link 0 |
Heard an old man shout this at a full forward after he had dropped the 4/5 balls that had come in to him " We will have to put handles on it for ya". Dan_Toal (Leitrim) - Posts: 244 - 14/05/2009 21:05:48 283750 Link 0 |
Kilmacud vs Vinnies last years championship. Young lad shouts out to a stocky killacud centre forward, you should join us pat we have cookies. Genious mossy93 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 14/05/2009 23:25:23 283959 Link 0 |
my grand father placing the ball on the 14 for a last gasp penalty.. dmore91 (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 14/05/2009 23:33:01 283969 Link 0 |
hurling manager regarding his centre back after a game. is johnny in the visitors dressingroom? that centre forward had him in his back pocket. POD09 (Limerick) - Posts: 486 - 15/05/2009 11:03:47 284201 Link 0 |
Saw this on another website: Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 31/05/2009 19:34:30 298406 Link 0 |
at the recent derry tyrone league match after a bit of banter a tyrone supporter shouted at his derry counterpart there's no london in tyrone to which the derry man said there's no hospital in tyrone either Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 31/05/2009 19:56:09 298415 Link 0 |
During Kerry-Dublin minor game (followed by Kerry-Meath in the seniors) in '01. Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 31/05/2009 20:36:01 298430 Link 0 |
Someone I know heard this at a ladies football match a while back.... U21 fan (None) - Posts: 126 - 31/05/2009 20:55:10 298439 Link 0 |