Senior Football League

Didnt I read here about you checkin out the legality of Walshe playing for Wicklow Is it different for lads playing with ye? Doran lives in Laois and can play with Graigue. No problem dere. Only asking the question; does de lad live in Carlow? Yes or no.

Benekerry (Cavan) - Posts: 258 - 06/05/2009 20:53:45    276701

if cormac mullins had played for the team that looked after him as a baby the other night the blues would have won by 30 points .

bluedragon (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 08/05/2009 11:47:44    278001

nineteen 44 there is an amalgamated team operating very sucessfully in the Leighlin parish. Naomh Brid who are the current hurling champions and I think they won two more 2004 and 1996 not sure about that though. I think it woiuld be good to see parish teams play in the senior championship and then a strong intermediate and junior championship. I know there would be huge opposition to this but I think it would be good for the long term development in Carlow. Fenagh would join Bagenalstown, The Cocks , Ballon and Kilbride would join, Tullow and Grange would join and Pal and Tinryland would join possibly Clonmore and Rathvilly could be accomadated. Might be other possible combinations too but I think it would make the whole thing more competitive...

eire32 (Carlow) - Posts: 49 - 08/05/2009 20:41:45    278601

Bluedragon obviously Mullins wasn't looked after well enough by the team you say 'minded' him if he left, and stopping him playing for a full year was totally wrong. Looks lik eire og are reaping the rewards now though !

sam4carlow (Carlow) - Posts: 41 - 09/05/2009 00:32:40    278865

I see a 17 year old played well against eire og last week. Maybe its time to put out the feelers and spin the yarn that he's not being looked after, seemed to have worked well last time

MOH (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 09/05/2009 17:19:40    279130

Hows a going lads...

To eire 32 now how in all honesty could you even think of all those clubs joining together in this day an age especially Tinryland and Pal...60years ago we were seeing mass immigration thats why clubs were joining together!!!Like the standard in club football in Carlow is actually quite good , its just people from outside Carlow think because the county team is so bad the whole club scene is to when in fact its very competitive!!!I like seeing Carlow doing well , i went to a host of Eire Og games and The Blues games in the glory days!!!

On the Mullins scenario...Like you dont see this in Laois very much except for Killeen robbing players , but why do lads leave The Blues to join Eire Og??I mean its your club ya shouldnt have to get pampered to stay , its not like The Blues are a bad club or they treat players badly like Mullins badly...Ya dont see Fergal Byron , Tommy Walsh or Paul Galvin leaving their clubs in search of glory!!!

WonderBoy (Laois) - Posts: 217 - 09/05/2009 17:51:15    279141

get your facks right the blues did not stop cormac mullins playing for a year the county board deemed him an ohanrahans player but the powers that be in E.O told him to stand down for that year so he could join them the folowing year E.O are well known for ther poaching why dont they look after ther own young lads like mark corcoran rory byrne are they gone. why are they so interested in players from other clubs have they not got enough players as it is

bluedragon (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 09/05/2009 18:09:26    279150

How exactly do you figure that it wasn't the blues that stopped him when it was them who objected to the transfer in the first place even after mullins had said he wanted to leave..eire og never objected to haydens transfer last yr, one of their best players, because it should be a players choice where they play, not bound to any one club. Fair play to him for his performance against the blues anyway after everything.

sam4carlow (Carlow) - Posts: 41 - 09/05/2009 18:21:43    279160

Reply to bluedragon....

Did i say The Blues stopped Mullins playing for the year???? Im here try"n to defend clubs like The Blues can ya not see that , even though it has no baring on my football as im a Laois man i dont like seeing talented young lads leave"n their club to join the likes of Eire Og....Im the one who complained why all these chaps left The Blues when its a great club why bother going to Eire Og!!!

WonderBoy (Laois) - Posts: 217 - 09/05/2009 21:35:26    279275

Sorry Bluedragon i didnt see the post from the eire og chap!!!

Look people think because yes Eire Og are a great club with the facilities and the structure is brilliant and yeah for young lads the possability of medals is an eye opener but id rather win a county medal with my club than leave in order to go to another for glory!!! Theres no loyalty anymore its a disgrace Killeen throw money at lads to join and would ya be surprised if Eire Og never did it because i wouldnt be!!!

WonderBoy (Laois) - Posts: 217 - 09/05/2009 21:40:39    279281

reply same4carlow
it is impossible to stop a player transfering from one county to another the player just has to say he is living there anyway E.O must have up there offer because hes back this year.anyway loyalty is a big ask these days look at T walsh if carlow had made him a better offer hed still be a carlow player

bluedragon (Carlow) - Posts: 20 - 10/05/2009 11:49:25    279417

To Wonderboy. I take your point and I said in my previous post that there would be opposition to my suggestion. I think that the senior club scene in carlow is very competitive but the standard is not great but faifly even. We could still have that at intermediate level and possibly improve the standard at club level. Its at this level that our county players develop and excel and surely the higher the standard at club level the better for them. The facts are that we are in the bottom few teams in the country and I think we are going to need something new and a bit radical to try and change things around and maybe lift us off the bottom tier of counties...

Onthe player transfer thing you are dead right about players leaving their clubs. I think a player who leaves his club for another club in the same county is lacking something. It shows weakness of character and players like this are no good to the club. Cut the dead wood loose to coin a phrase. Poaching players is also a low thing to do and should not go on. And Im not suggesting Eire Og did that for a second as i dont know the ins and outs of the whole thing.

eire32 (Carlow) - Posts: 49 - 10/05/2009 16:48:45    279530

Anyone know the senior and div 2 results this weekend.Is it true Rathvilly were beaten by Tinryland. Did Kilbride win again

Chips (Carlow) - Posts: 141 - 10/05/2009 17:29:18    279549

Eire og poaching players..???..ask the players themselves they moved because of something wrong in there former club...Mullins was loosing interest in playin football with the blues....trainin after trainin being called off because of lack of numbers....how is he ment to reach his potienal as a footballer with conditions like that?....they see eire og players being looked after n they wonder what they have to do to be treated like this....why didnt theses players have pride in their club is a better question!!!

Goofy (Carlow) - Posts: 25 - 10/05/2009 19:22:59    279612

Tinryland shocked Rathvilly in Rathvilly, Tullow gave the Blues a fright and Kilbride beat Fenagh. Eire and Grange and Pal and Rangers both postponed.
On players moving clubs, there isnt anything to back up claims of poaching by any club. In Mullins case he stood up at a couple of County Board meetings and explained his reasons which were valid explanatiosn from his point of view. There's no signficant movement of players to the bigger clubs. Actually if anything the likes of the Cocks and Askea would be the clubs in recent years who have had an influx. The only player looking to transfer are players who have faqllen out with their clubs, usually over how they felt they were treated or because the player is more friendly with the lads in the club he wants to move to.
It's hardly criminal behaviour. Players don't move around much in GAA and dont want to; but if they feel strongly about it there is no reason to stop them. Every club should sit down with a lad and try work through the problem, sometimes it can't be solved and its time to part.

All Star (Carlow) - Posts: 132 - 10/05/2009 20:41:33    279663

i see gerry mc guill has joined back eire og, 3 senior keepers on panel now!

bobbybouche1 (Carlow) - Posts: 73 - 10/05/2009 21:21:17    279694

With so many players missin in the league games its hard to know what teams are really goin well. Only one puttin everythin in is Kilbride and they are playing at their best. They won't improve much more later on. Others will. Tullow are recovering slowly now that rugby and soccer are over. They wont win mnay games but theyll be more competitive.
O Hanrahans are on top of the table and are def better than last year. Rathvilly goin ok apart from loss at the weekend. Eire Og same. Pal poor but are a chanpionship team. Play Rangers tonite who are bit off the pace too. Kildavin bet O Leighlin and imrovin. O Leighlin might be the surprise outfit.

Benekerry (Cavan) - Posts: 258 - 11/05/2009 12:08:42    279963

we the blues were lucky sat evenin against tullow. didnt perform aswell as we did against eire og .fair play to tullow

bobbybouche1 (Carlow) - Posts: 73 - 11/05/2009 19:38:44    280403

eire og gave grange a hammering last nite.5-18 to 0-04 .E.O were missing a good few.what does this say about grange. is john murphy that much a help to grange?????

bobbybouche1 (Carlow) - Posts: 73 - 13/05/2009 22:04:32    282613

That was a big beating alright.Did anyone hear how the MLR V Palatine Div 1 game went,nearly sure that was on Monday.

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1119 - 14/05/2009 09:28:47    282836