Munster or Leinster - Who will you shout for?

The bandwagon broke down. Outplayed on the pitch, out sang in the stands. What a day, greatest non-gaa moment I've ever experienced

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 03/05/2009 13:39:47    274197

mine to buddy,mine to

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 04/05/2009 23:15:08    274844

First of all, well done Leinster, great performance, totally deserved their victory.

I've avoided this thread for the last few days deliberately, as it was getting petty (arguing about Magners League attendances four years ago, etc.) I have always, and always will, support Munster over Leinster, but now that Leinster are in the final I wish them the best of luck and hope they bring the HC back to Ireland.

The thing that confuses me is some people's loyalty to their province. I personally feel no loyalty to my province. I am an extremely proud clubman, would consider myself a loyal follower of my county and am fiercly proud of to be Irish, but I feel no great pride in being from Leinster. It's like being European, I'm not particularly proud to be European, I'm not ashamed to be European, I just don't see it as being important. Ditto Leinster. Distance from my house (in south-west Wexford) to Dublin 100 miles, Cork 100 miles, Limerick 100 miles. I will support Munster through thick and thin and will be wearing my Munster jersey to training this evening!

And lads, was Leinster beating Munster really better than Ireland winning their first Grand Slam in over 60 years?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 05/05/2009 15:08:32    275273

And lads, was Leinster beating Munster really better than Ireland winning their first Grand Slam in over 60 years?

Yes, yes it was. Difference to me between winning an all-ireland with your club and county.

Now that the dust has settled I think we can safely put the 'ladyboys', all Leinster fans are D4s with no passion etc myths to bed. Leinster fans had as much to prove on Saturday as the players and from over an hour before kick off we won that battle. On another note fair play to the Munster fans, the ones who stayed all congratulated us, admitted Leinster were the better team on the day and didn't look for excuses and all in all had a great night meeting many Munster fans after. Fierce rivals but no bitterness between the fans. Great to see and long may it continue and the chess board pattern in the stands looked awesome.

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 05/05/2009 17:01:21    275397

Nocky, the Leinster pride for me came from GAA and extended to rugby when I eventually noticed the game (around 2000 thanks to Munsters exploits). Goint to Leinster championship matches, seeing the pride in all those games and how much a Leinster championship meant (think back to hurling in the 90s, winning Leinster was something special then) and then the pride in 2003 winning the Leinster football. Its a pity the Railway Cup is pretty much a nothing championship because a Leinster vs Munster game in that could be just as passionate as the rugby equivalent and would be an amazing spectacle. At the moment the pride in winning the Ulster championship is massive, more so than any other province hurling or football, so its really the GAA that pushes the provincial pride and rugby just benefits.

Also I liked Quinn's tea room in Abbeyleix Leinster flags before the match. I didn't see any other business with just Leinster flags up in Laois.

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 05/05/2009 17:08:59    275405

Laoistownie I find it amazing that you would compare the Leinster rugby team to your own club team, and that Leinster winning the HC (and they haven't won anything yet!) could give you the same satisfaction as winning the Club All Ireland. But if that's really how you feel then I respect that. Best of luck vs. Leicester

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 05/05/2009 17:52:16    275461

Nocky you are a typical turnip-eating culchie, jealous of the affluence of south Dublin. That's no reason to jump on the Munster bandwagon.

"Distance from my house (in south-west Wexford) to Dublin 100 miles, Cork 100 miles, Limerick 100 miles."

From my home I'm closer to the county town of Offaly, Tullamore, than Westmeath's, Mullingar. That doesn't mean I'm gonna start supporting Offaly. By your logic you should be supporting Waterford since in south-west Wexford you're probably closer to Waterford city than Wexford town.

It is sad that posters from Wexford & Louth don't support their own province when players from their own counties contribute so much to Leinster and Ireland.
In a few years when Leinster are the dominant force in European rugby I'm sure you'll be back and probably speaking with a south Dublin accent (I'd prefer to listen to that accent than that muck that the Limerick & Cork boys were spewing on Saturday!)

Lakeman (Westmeath) - Posts: 11 - 06/05/2009 18:28:58    276523

100% Leinster me,and i'm from Wexford town

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 06/05/2009 19:07:03    276576

I'll be shouting for leinster in the final.... but just a note there is going to be banwagon supporters heard a story about a lad at a house party after the match. 3 Leinster lads were goading him and calmly he asked them to name the leinster No. 5 they didn't know and decided to turn on him but being a rugby lad the 3 of them found themselves on the seat of their pants in about 30 seconds.
I'm not saying all leinster supporters are like this but there is a growing about now.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 06/05/2009 19:36:26    276599

I'll be shouting for leinster in the final.... but just a note there is going to be banwagon supporters heard a story about a lad at a house party after the match. 3 Leinster lads were goading him and calmly he asked them to name the leinster No. 5 they didn't know and decided to turn on him but being a rugby lad the 3 of them found themselves on the seat of their pants in about 30 seconds.
I'm not saying all leinster supporters are like this but there is a growing about now.

Guineys and elverys have a sale on Leinster gear at the moment, Leinsters numbers seemed to pick up since! Hate to see that and it is the minority of supporters, just like any sport. Heard there was a few nasty incidents in dublin after the match which is shameful.

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 08/05/2009 19:22:44    278507