Munster or Leinster - Who will you shout for?

Are there no Cavan lads playing ? How can someone from New Zealand play for Leinster ? Whats that about lads ??

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/05/2009 10:27:51    273055

Munster the bandwagoners team? Where were all the Leinster supporters 3-4 years ago when ye couldn't even half-fill Donnybrook?

And badmonkey I'v been to Thomond and didn't get "laughed out of there"! What county are you from anyway, seeing as you are too cowardly to give one in your username?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 01/05/2009 10:35:03    273061

the new zealanders qualify under the granny rule of 1992.... unfortunatly no cavan men qualify,their fathers were too mean to share there ***** with any woman from meath,louth,longford etc..... hehehe

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 01/05/2009 10:38:36    273063

01/05/2009 10:27:51 Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 1787 273055 Are there no Cavan lads playing ? How can someone from New Zealand play for Leinster ? Whats that about lads ?? Slasher it's a professional sport so you go where the money is. I thought a Cavan man would know that ;-) (Only messin) But sure isn't your neighbouring countyman a well known Irish player would that not get you behind them!! But I will be supporting Munster and I would think that some leinster people supporting Munster are from a GAA backgorund. I know we are all moving on but it will just take a bit more time for me to get behind and support that D4 accent. I'm sorry but I just can't bear it. It seems insincere to me. I'll get behind Munster (apologies to Rob Kearney as he is a Louth man) because I think those guys, and their homebase fans, are passionate about rugby. They are just their for the cocktails and business contacts they are there for the passion of rugby and that has to be supported. HON MUNSTER!!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 01/05/2009 11:02:47    273083

munster!!!!!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 01/05/2009 11:17:26    273091

Munster the bandwagoners team? Where were all the Leinster supporters 3-4 years ago when ye couldn't even half-fill Donnybrook?

What about the Munsters supporters, the average attendance for the Celtic League in 2005 for Munster was 750. Leinster have the highest level of support in the Magners for the last 3 years. Yet to meet someone from outside Leinster supporting them though thankfully.

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 01/05/2009 12:03:00    273137

I support Connaught, I hate both teams. stealing our songs as well the munster boys

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/05/2009 12:14:04    273144

there also seems to a large amount of glory hunting fans about here. Imagine a guy from Louth supporting Munster

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 01/05/2009 12:20:20    273148

Munster's average attendance in 2005 750? Haha, where did you get that figure laoistownie, that's hilarious. The average attendance was nearly 10 times that, even though the games were split between Musgrave and Thomond. And Munster's fan base does not live primarily within a 5-mile radius of it's stadia, unlike Leinster's. Why does Munster have a home stadium with a capacity of 26,500 (and could fill twice that) while Leinster rents a ramshackle stadium from show-jumping?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 01/05/2009 12:28:32    273158

nocky you have really shown how little you know. Leinster have consistently had much higher attendences than munster over the past number of years. This is a fact. Munsters celtic league games were lucky to get 1000 at them.

You are a munster bandwagoner. Every munster fan i know (and thats quite alot) laughs at people like you from leinster trying to jump on the munster bandwagon. They have no respect for you and certainly wouldnt consider you a munster supporter.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4650 - 01/05/2009 13:01:08    273182

Nocky, Magners League attendance, figure given to me by someone who played in TP that year against Munster. HEC was full but then you would expect sunshine supporters at the glory events. Leinster hold the highest Magners League attendance at 48,000 vs Ulster in Lansdowne. If Lansdowne was available this year it would of been filled a couple of times and the RDS full for the rest. Average attendance of 16,500 in a 17,000 stadium this year. Had enough of this thread, awful lot of glory hunters who use the most flimsy reasons to justify supporting someone else over their own. I'll enjoy being in Croker tomorrow supporting MY province and if WE win enjoy it knowing they represent me and my mates and if we lose congratulate the actual Munster fans and be thankful we don't have fans like you. Its the row ins who give rise to this:

Irish by birth, Munster without grace, in victory or defeat.

C'MON LEINSTER

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 01/05/2009 13:48:13    273209

I know a fellow meath man who went to last years final to support Munster. He got talking to a few limerick lads before the game and they asked where he was from. When he said Meath one of them responded 'we're really scraping the barrel if that lot are supporting us now'. And this was to his face. You have to feel for the Lunsters, wont support their own and rejected by the REAL Munster fraternity

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 549 - 01/05/2009 14:21:01    273238

nocky, by the way if leinster happen to win tomorrow , will you shout for them in the final?

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 01/05/2009 14:27:42    273248

I've a hotel booked in Edinburgh for the final since the last pool game in January but if the unthinkable happens tomorrow I'll have no problem cheering on Leinster.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 01/05/2009 17:08:38    273452

Leinster for me. Massive underdogs against the machine of Munster. Can't stand the bandwagon supporters attaching themselves to Munster's cause like limpets. Hopefully the place will have a sprinkle of blue to complement the red. And turnstiles O'Gara gives us a fighting chance.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 01/05/2009 18:04:52    273500

im from meath,despite my username,and i dont really mind who wins.would rather a munster and leinster final,then i would definetly go for leinster.but i feel that munster have a much better chance of winning the final if they go through.i couldt see them losing the final,whereas with leinster i wouldnt be sure.also,if munster win this heinekin cup outright they will go down as probably the greatest european club team ever,which i think they deserve.so although i will just about be going for leinster,it wont bother me at all if munster win.i dont think its a case of jumping on the munster bandwagon either as i have seen suggested,i think its safe to say that munster are a team which every "irishman" has been proud of this past few years.

enda.muldoon (Derry) - Posts: 318 - 01/05/2009 22:42:49    273665

LEINSTER,as i am sick of bandwagonners jumpin on board the triumphant train that is munster rugby.fair play to them, theyre a great set up but theyre hard to listen to.THE FANS NOT THE PLAYERS.BETCHA ALL THE CORK ANTI RUGBY SOCCER LANGERS ARE UP IN CROKER TODAY. GO ON DRISCOLL SHOW THEM WHO SHOUDA BEEN CAPTAIN

mucker (Donegal) - Posts: 479 - 02/05/2009 10:48:36    273793

Watchin the Late Late last night and Hector more or less backed up what I said (although I take exception to his slagging Louth - just shows how deep it runs!!). He more or less said he was supporting Munster and this was pretty much based on his growing up supporting GAA.

I suspect that many other Leinster people supporting Munster are GAA people and feel a greater bond with Munster as they too have passion and aren't merely in rugby for the connections and cocktails. Best of luck to Rob Kearney (a Louth man) but I'll be shouting for Munster.

These guys now play for money so to expect people to support them based on their geographical loaction is a bit off-side.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 02/05/2009 11:48:04    273814

RLF - Im not surprised you are another bandwagoner, as for gaa people supporting munster, that is ridiculous

Rob Kearney played for Louth minors for 3 years! is he not a gaa man?
Shane Horgan played minor football for meath
Luke Fitzgerald played for st olafs in dublin
Gordan D'Arcy, Cian Healy and most of the irish leinster players played gaa underage for years

Its sad that so many people have fallen for the munster hype, as reggie corrigan said they are cowards.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4650 - 02/05/2009 12:18:21    273831

02/05/2009 12:18:21 bad.monkey County: USA Posts: 1142 273831 RLF - Im not surprised you are another bandwagoner, as for gaa people supporting munster, that is ridiculous Rob Kearney played for Louth minors for 3 years! is he not a gaa man? Shane Horgan played minor football for meath Luke Fitzgerald played for st olafs in dublin Gordan D'Arcy, Cian Healy and most of the irish leinster players played gaa underage for years Its sad that so many people have fallen for the munster hype, as reggie corrigan said they are cowards. What did I do to you?? Where have I dislayed "bandwagon hoping" credentials before? I'll fully admit that (surprise surprise on a GAA message forum) that I am a GAA fan first and foremost. I love rugby and soccer too but they are both very much second place to GAA (and music of course!! :-)). It would appear to me, from observation only mind you, and talking to a lot of people that a lot of Leinster people backing Munster would be GAA people. That's not to say it is the case for all of them but just a simple unscientific observation. No doubt you already have a list of exceptions to this. But I am not setting this as a rule. Anyway, it wasn't me who first floated the notion that Leisnter people support Munster. Basic human rights dude, don't be getting excited. There are some people in Drogheda & Ardee (born and bred) who support Meath. I don't particularly like that but it's their choice so good luck to them. So when it comes to rugby I am a fair weather supporter (not a bandwagon hoper) so I don't swear an allegiance to any club. I am shouting for Munster today, there are family reasons for this also and I don't know anybody involved in Leinster rugby, but it isn't really that important for me who wins. I am just looking forward to a good match and seeing an Irish team reaching another European Cup Final. That being said it has always been my impression that Munster fans are in it for the rugby and not the cocktails so that's why they'll get my support but I doubt they care too much who I support. Compare the Young Munster lads to St. Mary's for a start off. That plus the GAA factor is what Hector alluded to last night and I have found this to be the case from my own observations. However, I don't doubt that a large number of Cooley Kickhams GAA supporters will be shouting on Rob Kearney and Leinster today. Yes you are right the above were all GAA players and you haven't just deciphered the Rosetta Stone in announcing that! It's common knowledge.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 02/05/2009 12:50:15    273845