Munster or Leinster - Who will you shout for?

Duffy89
County: Wexford

28/04/2009 03:23:54
wex...

269812 Will it be Dubarrys and slacky kaks and a scorf.....or will it be a jeans and jersey. Yes the jeans and jersey a.k.a MUNSTER........TRUE IRISH men. Not speaking like there from a different country

Dont hit your **** off the floor when you fall off the bandwagon you turncoat !

I too will be supporting Munster, just as many more from rural parishes in my county will be. Our local pub is always full of lads wearing red for Munster matches, empty for D4 games. I'm not a turncoat, I just can identify more with the Munster players and supporters who are not private school snobs. Rugby is the game of the people down in Limerick, at least on a par with the GAA sports. And Ian Dowling is from Leinster, is he a turncoat too?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 29/04/2009 21:53:16    271725

woops messed that one up, i meant fredthered!

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 29/04/2009 21:54:55    271727

nocky

I too will be supporting Munster, just as many more from rural parishes in my county will be. Our local pub is always full of lads wearing red for Munster matches, empty for D4 games. I'm not a turncoat, I just can identify more with the Munster players and supporters who are not private school snobs. Rugby is the game of the people down in Limerick, at least on a par with the GAA sports. And Ian Dowling is from Leinster, is he a turncoat too?

Haha now where did I hear that before? Enjoy Munster's glory period while it lasts, I'm sure when Munster are back to being just another team you will support them just as passionately. Got your tickets for the match? Take some of Leinster's allocation (as Munster are famous for doing)? Presume you got your ticket for the bandwagon from Wexford anyway. And stop reading the media and Munster "Team of the people" a lot of Munster's squad are private school also despite what they would have you believe, the Bull Hayes is thrown in there as the "man off the farm like the rest of them who fit a bit of rugby in between cutting silage, peeling potatoes and drinking tae" and before you say it I'm not private school and all the people who proudly represent Portlaoise in rugby are not snobs or private school either. So I challenge you or any other Lunster fan to go to the RDS for a match, who knows you might even enjoy it. Justify it whatever way you want, your a glory hunter, I presume you have a Kilkenny jersey and a Tyrone jersey also?

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 29/04/2009 22:09:20    271749

Sorry laoistownie, you're way off there. I come from a place where the nearest rugby club is about fifteen miles away. Nobody from around plays the game and it has never been played. My father and my grandfather are from Munster and I spent a lot of my childhood weekends down in Limerick, this I suppose is part of the reason I suppose the men in red. But the main reason is that whatever you try and say Munster ARE the team of the ordinary people, a team without egos, 15 players who give their all for the cause, not a bunch of fancy-dans (Gordon D'Arcy and his boots - 'South' on the right boot 'Side' on the left one, and he's a Wexford man!). Maybe the Leinster team represent you laoistownie, and they may represent other people in Leinster outside of D4, but they certainly don't represent me.

And by the way I was in Donnybrook for a Leinster-Connacht game back in 2006 with a friend from college, there was about 2,000 at the game. Maybe it's the Leinster fans who should get off the bandwagon. And no, I don't own a Kilkenny jersey, I would rather wear a Rangers top.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 29/04/2009 22:36:48    271817

Its sad that wexford people dont support their own even with a wexford man on the leinster team...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4650 - 30/04/2009 09:10:30    272013

Laoistownie your criticism of munster fans getting their hands on leinster tickets is just ridiculous!its hardly their fault that its possible to do so!why wouldn't they take advantage of the opportunity to do so?and as for the leinster branch saying that leinster club members aren't entitled to tickets because they're from munster?laughable!if someone has represented a leinster club all his life and gets his tickets for six nations games through his club as is the norm,are you telling me he is not entitled to go and support munster?not exactly the right signal for leinster to be sending out to its grassroot members!so well done to the leinster branch for their genius idea!the simple fact is,munster fans will once again outnumber the leinster fans on saturday and will stuff them once again!STAND UP AND FIGHT MUNSTER,THIS CONNAUGHT SUPPORTER IS BEHIND YOU.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 30/04/2009 10:40:36    272107

I would love to see BO'D win the European cup but I think Munster are best placed to cope with Cardiff if both progress to the final so for me its MUNSTER

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 30/04/2009 12:14:06    272191

bad.monkey
County: USA

Its sad that wexford people dont support their own even with a wexford man on the leinster team...

They are not 'our own' badmonkey. I have about as much in common with Gordon 'South Side' D'Arcy as I do with with John Terry or some of them. I, like many of my friends and neighbours (I'd say it's about 2:1 Munster:Leinster where I come from) will be shouting for the MIGHTY MEN OF MUNSTER in Croker.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 30/04/2009 14:59:59    272429

Thanks passerby.

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 30/04/2009 15:07:58    272440

When is a fee-paying school not a private school?

When its in Munster.

Look I couldnt care less where people go to school. But the fact is the Munster players all went to the top schools in Munster and Leinster. They are almost all from wealthy backgrounds and I'm sure there is no shortage of Mercs, beemers and 4x4s parked outside Thomond on Heineken cup days. I have no problem at all with this and I'll proudly cheer for Munster if they get to the final but whats good for the goose is good for the gander.

I hope Leinster win the Heineken cup this year as it'd be better for Irish rugby overall.

For all the lads giving out anout the Leinster lads and the D4 thing? It wasn't so much of a problem during the 6 nations when ye were basking in Brian O'Driscoll, Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearneys glory and roaring them on for the talented sportsmen that they are.

Reggie Corrigan put it well: "As for the Lunsters, I just wish someone with style and talent would design you a special jersey for the occasion, half-red and half-blue. Then whenever the television cameras alight, you could turn to one side and shout for whoever is winning."

Lose the hypocritical grudges lad!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12409 - 30/04/2009 15:26:13    272461

30/04/2009 14:59:59 nocky County: Wexford Posts: 82 272429 bad.monkey County: USA Posts: 1136 272013 Its sad that wexford people dont support their own even with a wexford man on the leinster team... They are not 'our own' badmonkey. I have about as much in common with Gordon 'South Side' D'Arcy as I do with with John Terry or some of them. I, like many of my friends and neighbours (I'd say it's about 2:1 Munster:Leinster where I come from) will be shouting for the MIGHTY MEN OF MUNSTER in Croker. you speak for yourself nocky

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 30/04/2009 15:35:44    272472

Yes I do speak for myself Duffy, and I also speak for a lot of my friends and neighbours who are not posters on HS, but are, I promise you, MUNSTER supporters. You are neither my friend or neighbour Duffy, I never claimed to be speaking for you.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 30/04/2009 15:47:49    272494

Leinster Leinster LEINSTER

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 30/04/2009 15:54:15    272501

30/04/2009 15:47:49 nocky County: Wexford Posts: 83 272494 Yes I do speak for myself Duffy, and I also speak for a lot of my friends and neighbours who are not posters on HS, but are, I promise you, MUNSTER supporters. You are neither my friend or neighbour Duffy, I never claimed to be speaking for you. think about what you said though for 1 minute,you said you have as much in common with D'Arcy as you would with John Terry,now I respected your post when you gave your reason why you support Munster and you said ''its alot to do with alot of your family being from Limerick now think of this,what have you got in common with Lifiemi Mafi or Doug Howlett ????

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 30/04/2009 16:03:28    272513

Duffy89 County: Wexford Posts: 891 think about what you said though for 1 minute,you said you have as much in common with D'Arcy as you would with John Terry,now I respected your post when you gave your reason why you support Munster and you said ''its alot to do with alot of your family being from Limerick now think of this,what have you got in common with Lifiemi Mafi or Doug Howlett ???? Duffy when I made the comparison between 'South Side' D'Arcy and John Terry it was obviously an exaggeration, and was tongue-in-cheek, anyone would see that. And you really show your ignorance by bringing up Doug Howlett and Liefiemi Mafi. Yes, Munster have now, and have in the past, had overseas players. You mentioned two, you failed to mention Jeremy Manning, Paul Warwick, Freddy Pucciarello, Rua Tipoki... Players who come in and totally immerse themselves in the Munster traditions. Look at Shaun Payne and Jim Williams, who went on to become coaches in Munster after retiring from playing. What kind of an argument is that when Leinster have players like Contepomi, Nacewa, Whitaker, Wright, Elsom, Van Der Linde etc. in their team?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 30/04/2009 17:29:08    272603

I will support Munster because they are the peoples team

blueroyal (Meath) - Posts: 109 - 30/04/2009 17:32:59    272610

I'll leave it to the legend of Reggie Corrigan to sum it up

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 30/04/2009 18:53:45    272699

I have met D4s at Leinster games, they are far from the majority despite what the media thinks, and they make you feel as welcome as any GAA match I've been at. Now I've been to Laois/Dublin/insert county here matches where I've met s**m who can be pretty intimidating. My 1 visit to Thomand I had some behind me who soured me on going to Thomand again. Are these the type of Laois people that go, since I can't identify with a fraction of the Laois supporters I think I might jump ship, Kilkenny hurlers seem to be more a team of the people.....

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 30/04/2009 19:16:04    272716

In a way i kind of want leinster to win even though i have played in munster and went to games... I just get a bit annoyed with some of the propoganda that emunates from the media and munster...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 30/04/2009 23:37:30    272931

Munster the peoples team? the bandwagoners team more like.

Nocky you can make as many sly digs at D'Arcy as you want, he played alot of gaa when he was younger and is still a huge wexford fan. You are a bandwagon munster fan. Go down to thomand - real munster fans would laugh you out of limerick....

Leinster Players

Kearney - Louth
D'Arcy - Wexford
Cullen - Wicklow
Jackman - Carlow
O'Brien - Carlow
Horgan - Meath
Luke Fitzgerald - Wicklow
O'Driscoll - Northside Dub
O'Kelly - Tallaght
Heasly - Northside Dub
Heaslip - Kildare