Junior championship

One has to look at the last few years league and champioship performances as well as taking into account league standards. the teams playing in the higher sections of the league are playing a higher standard every week.
Isalandeady, Achill, Kiltimagh, parke and The Neale are all competing in Division 1C, and all except The Neale look to be going along nicely.
Lahardane and Ardnaree will probable finish in no-mans land in 1D and any good B teams around the county are plying their trade in the Intermediate Section.
If the draw allows it the semi-finalists will definitly be Islaneady, Achill, Kiltimagh and Parke.
Islandeady always seem to peak in the League, and Achill are a hometown team.
Kiltimagh to beat Parke in the final!

clearview (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 06/05/2009 22:33:05    276747

clocked: carrowmore wont be anywhere near the quater finals. and as for lahardane they are miles ahead of all those B teams you mentioned. ya watching the games or checking the result at all??? Where is Parke, cause they are deffenitly in the top 3/4 junior teams in mayo now. the winner wont come from any of the last four that you chose. Probable winners will be The Neale or Kiltimagh and maybe Ardnaree.

Clearview; If you took last years leauge results into account then Killala would have never won the county final never mind get there. Ehm Achill are playing intermediate section now. The Neale beat Islandeady in last years championship so your obviously not picking teams on what ya want everyone else to.

Glad to see that the joking has stopped about ballycastle winning or even getting near the final.

Atdaendoftheday (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 07/05/2009 01:38:37    276908

CLEARVIEW

I THINK YOUR VIEW MIGHT BE A BIT FOGGED THERE AS ACHILL ARE PLAYING IN THE INTERMEDIATE CHAMPIONSHIP UNLESS YOU THINK THERE B TEAM CAN WIN THE JUNIOR CHAMPIONSHIP?

Tomlangan (Mayo) - Posts: 406 - 07/05/2009 08:34:41    276928

Achill are going to be playing intermediate are they not?

northmayo09 (Mayo) - Posts: 29 - 07/05/2009 09:35:18    276959

06/05/2009 22:33:05 clearview County: Mayo Posts: 1 276747 One has to look at the last few years league and champioship performances as well as taking into account league standards. the teams playing in the higher sections of the league are playing a higher standard every week. Isalandeady, Achill, Kiltimagh, parke and The Neale are all competing in Division 1C, and all except The Neale look to be going along nicely. Lahardane and Ardnaree will probable finish in no-mans land in 1D and any good B teams around the county are plying their trade in the Intermediate Section. If the draw allows it the semi-finalists will definitly be Islaneady, Achill, Kiltimagh and Parke. Islandeady always seem to peak in the League, and Achill are a hometown team. Kiltimagh to beat Parke in the final! Your Right about Achill they wont win the Junior Championship!!!!

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 07/05/2009 09:35:26    276960

TOMLANGAN is that a tournament thats treated as a warm up for the league (giving younger lads a chance to prove them selfs) defines a season if your right your club ardnaree are in the same boat as ballycastle (did ye win the winter league? and kilfian are the best junior club in north mayo( great to see kilfian win it ). WINNING THE WINTER LEAGUE NEVER MEANT U R THE BEST TEAM IN NORTH MAYO,CONGRATS TO ALL IN KILFIAN ON WINNING,A CLUB GOING IN THE RIGHT DIRECTION WITH AS FINE A PITCH AND CLUBHOUSE AS ANY IN THE COUNTY.IT IS FOR GIVING YOUNGLADS A CHANCE FOR CLUBS LIKE KILLALA & KNOCKMORE,BELMULLET KILTANE,NOT BALLYCASTLE ALL YE HAV IS YOUNG LADS ,AND FAIR PLAY TO THEM,BUT I WAS MAKIN THE POINT TO ballycastle the poster,THAT WINNING A COUNTY TITLE WAS WAY WIDE OF THE MARK, p.s i am not amember of ardnaree gaa club

villamoy (Sligo) - Posts: 206 - 07/05/2009 11:02:50    277020

so its achill b for the junior championship, nice one clearview. I personally hope islandeady do it, although I dont think they'll manage it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/05/2009 11:38:56    277041

Atdaendofdeday im just wondering how u see Carramore not getting anywhere near the quarter-finals and u have Ardnaree as probable winners yet when these two teams met in the league it was a draw....and i think it was played in ardnaree!! How do u explain this?? Fact is any junior teams that are in division 1c or 1d will be making up the quarter finals so as of now this should be the order as favouritism. Kiltimagh,Parke,Islandeady,Neale,Ardnaree,Carramore,Lahardane,Ballina B. It would be nice to see teams from the lower divisions do well i.e the new amalganation of Ardagh/Moygownagh but i cant see anyone other than the above 8 winning it!!

kitboy (Mayo) - Posts: 61 - 07/05/2009 22:25:14    277713

ARDNAREE TOP OF THE LEAGUE HAMMERED KILLALA, COUNTY AND CONNAUGHT CHAMPIONS OFF THE PITCH ARDNAREE FOR THE COUNTY

s00048901 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 14/05/2009 09:58:37    282863

A massive performance from the greats of Lahardane last nite, managed to score a massive 1-3 at home last nite!!

clearview (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 17/05/2009 13:02:04    285571

1-1 of that came from the full back line. with 8 players not there for a number of reasons i think they done well. 6 or 7 of them would make the starting line up.

ironman (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 17/05/2009 13:58:34    285595

1-1 of that came from the full back line.

There's ur problem right there. Defenders more interested in getting on the scoresheet that doing their job. What did these fellas men score, more to the point?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/05/2009 21:32:15    285872

ballycastle

After watching ballycastle playing the weekend. If they keep playing like that they well give any junior team a match and they have forde back playing after a few years in dublin and it showed. He ran the game. I see mclean was at the match too. I hear he might be on his way back. if we get him back it ballycastle too win the junior

did u watch them this weekend ??

villamoy (Sligo) - Posts: 206 - 17/05/2009 21:52:24    285902

Ha Ha spot on Villamoy. Ballycastle got bet by how much? 14 points. Junior contendenders? I doubt it very much, Ballycastle won't even get out of their group as for Lahardane I think with the players back they will be a lot stronger but they have a big jump to make. Still one of the strongest in North Mayo with Ardnaree.

peile (Mayo) - Posts: 180 - 17/05/2009 22:01:16    285911

shrule/glencorrib B have a strong team this year!! they have a nice blend of youth and experience and could be real darkhorses for the junior championship.

fatboyslim (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 18/05/2009 13:03:54    286394

i think the junior championship will be won by either the neale isleaneady or kiltimagh with lahardane easterngaels and carramore dark horses.

jboy (Mayo) - Posts: 40 - 20/05/2009 23:18:32    289485

kilthimagh would be my favorites, then parke, then islandeady

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/05/2009 11:55:08    289787

The Masters predictions are probably as accurate as we will get.I would also expect Lahardane to be the big challengers from North Mayo.Whats the story with Ardnaree? Are they going to promise more than they can deliver again!!.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 21/05/2009 16:44:03    290147

Can see a few bigs scores being racked up the weekend. is it true to say league from goes out the window.
Parke, Kiltimagh, Islandeady, the Neale, Lahardane and Ardnaree all playing at home to supposedly lesser teams.
i predict the first three to rack up very high scores!!

clearview (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 23/05/2009 12:20:40    291627

ballycastle been tipped on these pages to do something big in the championship,i dont think it will b this year,beaten by a B team in the first round,not good

villamoy (Sligo) - Posts: 206 - 25/05/2009 11:17:54    292780