Who is the top keeper in Mayo

Personally i think kenneth o malley should be number 1 what do the rest of ye think

martar (Mayo) - Posts: 73 - 26/04/2009 13:45:49    268246

Clarke for me is an excellent goalkeeper.Strong,great kickout and most of all confident under the high ball.He is one of the best in the country for me.Hope he avoids injury for de championship..

Br (Mayo) - Posts: 12 - 26/04/2009 17:46:53    268331

fintan ruddy is up there.way better kick outs than o'malley and an all roound better keeper.

In the Parish ! (Mayo) - Posts: 448 - 26/04/2009 20:52:15    268438

Its gotta be Clarkey at the moment...

yer man hennelly looks like a bright prospect...and o'malley too.

Mayonaze (Mayo) - Posts: 426 - 27/04/2009 00:16:57    268585

David Clarke is the No. 1 man.

Mitch80 (Mayo) - Posts: 53 - 27/04/2009 06:02:02    268624

Clarke is a Savage Keeper and Mayo are awful lucky 2 Hav him. However there are some really talented replacement goalies like, Kenneth O Malley, Robert Hennelly, Fintan Ruddy and most of all Brendan Walsh from Ballintubber. Absolute disgrace that he didnt make the U-21s Last Year.

Deco10 (Mayo) - Posts: 107 - 27/04/2009 08:31:14    268637

David Clarke is top keeper in the country, not just county.

xxx (Mayo) - Posts: 1275 - 27/04/2009 10:32:10    268723

Davey is one of the top keepers in the country to be honest. Not many teams, if any, he wouldn't make!!!

MayoMark (Mayo) - Posts: 332 - 28/04/2009 15:21:21    270317

shane macken the carramore goalkeeper looks like a good prospect.what he lacks in height he more than makes up for in shot stopping and kickouts. his strenght is surpsising also. should of ben startin for the under 21s this year and is a definite, for me,to start next year.deserved his place in the under 21s this year and was extremely hard done by.i'd have one doubt about him playing junior and i'd feel if he was at a senior club he'd be taken more seriously as a potential county keeper.
but for now kenneth o'm should be starting and you have to admire his courage for coming back to football after a string of bad injuries.

up mayo!

555boobs (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 18/05/2009 10:14:53    286116

Micheal Walsh from Ballyhaunis

highking (Mayo) - Posts: 168 - 18/05/2009 13:44:29    286454

David Clarke is the best keeper in Mayo by a mile. O Malley and Hennelly are good back ups. Ruddy is not in their class and imo would not rank in the top 10 in Mayo.

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 19/05/2009 08:45:23    287441

Oh but ruddy is in their class. He won the award for longest kick out in ire couple of years back and is playing v.well for club. Playing in between the sticks for mayo juniors lately but due a call up.

In the Parish ! (Mayo) - Posts: 448 - 19/05/2009 12:24:13    287654

David Clarke seems to be streets ahead of the rest at the minute. Has the right mentality for it too and should be around for the next 10 yrs. O'Malley i feel needs to play there week in week out to make the step up. Ruddy does have that long kick out but tactical kicking hes not in clarkes class....has had a good run with mayo but feel hes unlikely to get a call up again.

mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 20/05/2009 11:02:36    288643

wud ye stop kenneth o malley is in a class of his own clarke wud make most teams and is an excellent back up but kenneth is in his own class excellent shot stopper great kickout and brave and of course the main thing is organisin the defence hes d best keeper in ireland as he also has that outfield experience keepers must be more like 7th defenders nowadays, wel never win an all ireland without him

martar (Mayo) - Posts: 73 - 20/05/2009 17:03:04    289182

What the hell are you on about Martar?? Firstly, hes not even the best goalkeeper in Mayo,Clarke is. Secondly, he'd be lucky to be in the top 3 in mayo if we were to observe the array of talented goalkeepers in mayo these days. Finally, wake up and smell the coffee.."wel never win an all ire without him",when has a goalkeeper ever won mayo or let alone any county an all ire for that matter.I suppose next you will be wanting to put him in midfield !! case closed

In the Parish ! (Mayo) - Posts: 448 - 20/05/2009 18:55:34    289296

im onbout exactly what i am saying before k o malley got injured he was number 1 and not only dat but can play out the field aswell which is experience that ya cant buy for clarke lads are afraid of change but wed never win an all ireland with clarke in the net. kenneth o malley is like a 7th defender. ur right there is alot of talented keepers in mayo but talented may not always be good enough when ders keepers like kenneth in d panel where is this favouritism coming from for clarke

martar (Mayo) - Posts: 73 - 21/05/2009 11:23:59    289749

David Clarke is by far the best keeper in mayo at the minute- Strong, Tall. Accurate kickout. Great shot stopper and lots of experience. O Malley and Hennelly are 2 serious keepers also and they will push clarke in the next yearor 2. At the minute though clarke has all the experience and will hold his place. There are a lot of talented keepers in mayo - Ruddy Kilcommon, Higgins Westport, Gibbons and Walsh Ballintubber, Macken Hollymount. Of all of the other goalies (i.e. other than o malley, clarke, hennelly) though i think that only ruddy has the big match experience.

O malley has shown serious courage to come back to play in goal at a high level and deserves a lot of respect for that. I would not agree though that we will never win an all-ireland without him.

21ydline (Mayo) - Posts: 23 - 25/05/2009 18:02:50    293342

This is a no brainer. Fintan Ruddy is by a mile the best Keeper in Connaught and I would put him at number 3 in the country. He is just back from Oz though and is not yet fully fit. Fintan is also a former Kick Fada all ireland Champ and his team mates have 2 Connaught Medals that they can be thankfull to him for. In the All Irelands he was standing behind probably the worst full back line ever to play in a championship decider. I expect to see him back before too long..

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 550 - 26/05/2009 09:01:50    293903

Clarke 1, Ruddy 2, Hennelley 3.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 26/05/2009 10:15:09    293964

Ruddy and Clarke are similar in a number of ways from shot stopping to communicating well with defenders. Athough ruddy can get further distance with his kick outs,Clarke seems to be more accurate at picking out someone with his kick outs. Im reversing my decision and going with martinjoe on this one, Ruddy most definitely deserves a recall and to be given a fair chance. Apart from that, clarke and ruddy are streets ahead of the rest.

In the Parish ! (Mayo) - Posts: 448 - 26/05/2009 16:14:48    294513