Greatest football team you have witnessed

21/04/2009 23:17:18
patrique

264720 Real Louth fan
County: Louth

Tyrone team of the last 7 years. the competition they faced.

Nobody else faced that intensity AND won 3 All-Irelands in 6 years.

Apart from the obvious one, Kerry.

YES BUT THEY DIDN'T FACE THE INTENSITY THAT TYRONE FACED - IT WAS A TWO PART POINT

That UCD team had Kilmurray, Jackie and Barry Walsh, Moynihan of Mayo, Eamon O'Donaghue, Carty of Wexford, Pat O'Neill, JP Keane, John O'Keefe, and the immortal Benny Gaughran, the best Louth player I ever saw.

No Socrates however.

BENNY WAS INDEED ONE OF THE GREAT LOUTH PLAYERS AFTER DANNY NUGENT AND FLOGGER - WHICH TEAM DID SOCRACTES PLAY ON AS HE HAS A SIGERSON CUP MEDAL

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 21/04/2009 23:28:22    264735

Tyrone can only be considered great when they win back to back all Irelands.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 586 - 21/04/2009 23:34:44    264752

No.15
County: Down
Mickey linden and James mc cartan were 2 of the best forwards i have ever seen,they took dublin apart early in 94 final which was enough for Down to claim Sam

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 21/04/2009 23:34:56    264753

21/04/2009 23:34:44
Maestro

264752 Tyrone can only be considered great when they win back to back all Irelands.

Odd that people say that now. We can all remember that the 2008 final was called "Final of the decade" and the winner would be "team of the decade". Since Tyrone won there have been nothing but retractions of the billing!! Usually referred to a s apoor loser. I am not necessarily blaming Kerry people for that but the anti-Tyrone brigade.

Strange that!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 21/04/2009 23:42:00    264759

The Socrates thing is a myth.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 21/04/2009 23:42:38    264761

Maestro

Tyrone are great and i will give you reasons

1 When cormac died they did well to come back ..
2 canavan injured in 03 final and tyrone done great without him when not on
3 12 championship games in 05 now that takes some going.
4 Wrote off all summer last year and blitzed the dubs and wexford and kerry .

Now there is a sign of a great team .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/04/2009 00:12:32    264782

Lads/lasses, to the best of my knowledge the same counties entered the all Ireland during Kerry's three wins in the last 5 years, as entered during Tyrone's wins in the last 6 years.

Now it is not Kerry's fault if Tyrone keep losing and drawing games, so have to play more matches, such as three against Armagh in 2005.

No Kerry played less matches because they won first time out, usually. That could suggest they were a better side in those winning years. They also appeared in 5 finals in a row, no rests for them, so it is arguable that their route was harder.

Not that it matters as the thread was about the best teams you have seen, and neither makes my top 5.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 22/04/2009 01:21:17    264810

without a doubt kerry 75 to 86 wasnt this the golden era of gaelic games when we seen reall football

jailhouse.usa (Galway) - Posts: 1155 - 22/04/2009 04:22:25    264831

Kerry from '75 to '86 were the best team ever - 8 all-Ireland titles and 10 all-Ireland final appearances in 12 years is an incredible achievement. They had so many players that rank with the greatest ever - Jack O'Shea, Mikey Sheehy, John O'Keefe, Pat Spillane etc. People thought they were finished after Cork beat them in the '83 Munster final and they came back to win the next 3 all-Irelands.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1033 - 22/04/2009 05:01:19    264832

has to be the 80s kerry team. they had everything pace power ruggedness and above all skills to die for. john o keefe tim kennelly the spillanes jack o shea egan the bomber ogie moran and paidi unreal. i watched them destroy a very good tyrone team in the mid eighties in omagh on a wet cold bog of a day in feb with some of the most sublime passing and running football your ever likely to see. spillane kicked some marvellous points eight all irelands 9 allstars says all you need to know about his class. without doubt the best football team of all time, tyrone would need to win 3 in a row and a couple of more thrown in as well to get close to those boys but you never know.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 22/04/2009 08:29:28    264843

The Mayo team of the late 40's and early 50's

Ballboytwo (Mayo) - Posts: 7 - 22/04/2009 09:00:51    264857

Dellboy and real louth fan, its nobody's fault only Tyrone's, that they had to play so many games in O5. Yes they drew with cavan, who had drawn with Antrim a few wqeeks earlier. Yes they drew with Armagh and then lost the replay and yes they drew with Dublin. They had 10 games in all but sure if they had beaten these teams straight off without messing around they wouldnt have had to play so many games. It wasnt 12 games.

Yes they beat Kerry well and fairly and squarly in the final and were fully deserved all Ireland champs and have been each time they've beaten us. But please dont downgrade any of our wins by upgrading your wins with your rose tinted glasses. It was your own fault you had such intensity and competition. Nobody elses.

Surely you would agree before this years championship that whoever wins will be the best no matter how they do it. If ye dont then, well I dont know what to make of ye.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 22/04/2009 09:17:21    264867

Ballboytwo, I doubt you saw that great Mayo team so stick to the thread. I did'nt see the great Cavan team from '47 to '52 either though i heard they awesome !!

The Kerry team that won the 4 in a row 1978 to 1981 and should have had 5 in a row were great. The present Kerry and Tyrone teams are goos also !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/04/2009 09:47:57    264888

22/04/2009 01:21:17
patrique

264810 Lads/lasses, to the best of my knowledge the same counties entered the all Ireland during Kerry's three wins in the last 5 years, as entered during Tyrone's wins in the last 6 years.

Not that it matters as the thread was about the best teams you have seen, and neither makes my top 5.

You really are the answer to the question that nobody asked!! What on earth are you...

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 22/04/2009 10:08:51    264905

Well, theres's alway a different team every year that comes out and impresses you, thats the great thing about the Senior Football Championship, so hard to predict, just look at Wexford last year, and Monaghan the year before.

But there's always a team, or maybe a player on a team, or a moment that always stays with you as clear as the day it happened. That for me would the Derry team of 1993. I watched this Derry team closely for a few years, as in 1989, when we (Mayo) played Cork in the senior final, the Derry minors played Offaly.
September 89 was my first trip to croke park from Claremorris as a 9 year old boy, along with a family member, who has since passed away. Allthoug we were beaten that day again ;-), surprisinly, two players that got a lot of people's attention was a young Anthony Tohill (Derry).
4 yrs later, a Derry senoir team, with a few of the minors of 89 who made it through, beat a very strong Cork side in the 1993 all-ireland. And Tohill put in a heroic performance against a Cork midfield pairing of Shay Fahy and Teddy McCarthy.

I dont know what it is about this match, but it always sticks my head, along with the great players on that day, namely, McKeever, Coleman, Heaney, Tohill, Gormley and the Downey brothers

Mitch80 (Mayo) - Posts: 53 - 22/04/2009 10:09:50    264906

Once again people are offering opinions on who they feel the greatest team is/were. You have no right to attack these purely because it offends your own county or compliments the county that you hate! get over your prejudice guys.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 22/04/2009 10:10:43    264907

There's nobody attacking any team RLF. I'm presuming you're talking about Tyrone and there was a statement made that this Tyrone team were one of the great teams for having to win 12 championship matches in 2005 to win the All Ireland. Some people disagreed that this was a sign of a great team, nobody was "attacking" Tyrone.

no.10 (Dublin) - Posts: 125 - 22/04/2009 10:35:09    264930

Forget about everyone else, it's Kerry! The stat's don't lie. All other countie's, limited success. Kerry's greatest threat (always)...Cork, unfortunately locked into a provincial decider. Munster final's of mid 70's to mid 80's the ONLY show in town. The exception....Offaly! The only county to test Kerry after Munster, on more than one occasion. That Kerry team were household names for a decade. Charlie Nelligan, John O'Keeffe, Tim Kennelly, Paidi O Se, John Egan, Mikey Sheehy.....only to be tested by Cork great's....Billy Morgan, Kevin Kehilly, Dave Barry, Dinny Allen, Tadhgy Murphy, Jimmy Barry-Murphy etc etc etc. the rest was only a side show! The Munster final of '83 best memory (Tadhgy Murphy's goal). Only other county worth a mention....Meath. Massive late '70's side, a pleasure to beat them in 1990, but, by God, you knew you had beaten the best. Last decade, still Kerry....from 1 - 15, beaten...yes....but the best team does'nt always win as the scoreboard is what counts. 2009 KERRY, nobody even comes close. Talent is there, Jack will have the head's in the right order.

THE OBSERVER (None) - Posts: 112 - 22/04/2009 10:50:29    264946

Sorry there, Real Louth Fan. Are you referring to me when you say people are attacking teams they dislike? If it is then you are wrong. I am not attacking any team and I dont dislike any team. I like the Tyrone team and fully acknowledge they were the best team in Irleand on the 3 years they won.

All I'm doing is disagreeing with your opinion that they had faced greater competition and bigger intensity. Its the same competition this year, like it is every single year, and each of the 34 teams face the same obstacles. At the beginning of every year, I believe that the best team will win and I think the same about 09. If Tyrone win then fair play to them and if Armagh or Dublin or any other team win then fair play to them too. There is no difference in intensity for any team unless they start drawing every game they play.

I'm also disagreeing with dellboy when he says that they played 12 games and that is the reason why they are the greatest team. Whoever wins this year will be the best whether they have had to play 15 games or 5 games. There's no difference. If it takes them 15 games then its their own fault.

Please dont say I'm attacking anyone. I would disagree with your above argument regardless of what team was involved.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 22/04/2009 10:55:16    264947

Observer neglects to mention Dublin. Anything to do with the hidings you got in 1974 and 1983!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/04/2009 11:00:09    264954