The Non GAA Thread

patrique County: Antrim Posts: 2078 205697 We have beaten Spain and England in recent seasons, and the "we" is serious, if you look at the thread about "Croke Park...shame what was on it" or whatever it is called. As I said there Northerners hate Free state Gaelic teams, but love their soccer team. I am the other way round. Ehhh yeah and I gave ye about as much credit for those victories as ye deserve. Yer well capable of a shock victory no more but no less! As for the Northerners hate ''Free State'' Gaelic teams etc etc etc comment. Im really surprised to hear this tiresome ole bilge from a man who gave an excellent account of a match in 1969 and what it meant to West Belfast. Im afraid my respect is rapidly evapourating Pat.

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 12/02/2009 23:23:04    205714

Patrique..... How come you have forgotten Tony McCoy in all your rants about Antrim and non-GAA subjects.... was it not he who won all those titles you keep talking about and with which no one else is familiar....... something in there reminds me of a scene from '100 years of solitude?'

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 12/02/2009 23:35:25    205725

As I said there Northerners hate Free state Gaelic teams, but love their soccer team. I am the other way round. How do northerners hate Southern Gaelic teams? For one, Monaghan, Donegal and Cavan are "free state" counties. Certainly dont think too many northerners hate them. Come to think of it i dont know of anyone who just says they hate southern teams. Northerners will usually support an ulster team (whether they are from 6 counties or not) against anyone else, and from what i gather most people from Monaghan,Cavan and Donegal tend to support northern teams as well when they play teams from the other provinces so i dont think its a case of people from the north hating southern teams at all. I know there seems to be a bit of a north v south thing at times on here, but thats because they cant handle it when a northern team wins something. Not our fault :)

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 13/02/2009 09:32:39    205802

Loyal2TheRoyal County: Meath Posts: 1430 204955 conor15 County: All Posts: 201 204660 I still believe that come national day Willie Mullins will have something trained to perfection.A lot has been said about Snowy Morning losing his spark and doing bad but i still think he will be there or there abouts.Willie also has Irish Invader in who shouldn't be overlooked. I was given a bit of advice before the 2005 national but i didnt heed it: 'never rule a Willie Mullins horse out over 3m5f' Hedgehunter romped home. For me..Snowy's the the one! Race is over 4m 4f. Don't think Snowy Morning will run. He has too much weight and can't jump (although, last year, looked a different horse jumping round). Mullins has a perfect type for the National called Arbor Supreme and never entered him. Thought this was madness myself but that horse will proably hose up in the Irish version now. Of the Irish contenders, I like Mattock Ranger at 100/1. Carberry will do exactly what he did on Kings John Castle last year, only hopefully this horse won't run out of stamina in the last few furlongs. Yes Loyal but how could a Grand National 3rd,who jumped excellently and stayed the distance not be up to par for this year?He is trained by probably the best NH Trainer in Ireland who has a great string of horses this year.Willie complied with Phil Smith in Running him over fences this season but I think a few runs over Hurdles in the next few weeks will give him a bit of confidence to tackle the bigger obsticles again. Your right about Arbor Supreme I cant understand why he isnt entered,ran a respectable race in the thyestes but i too think Willie has the irish national in mind for him.Anyway role on cheltenham!

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 13/02/2009 11:39:35    205927

Roy Rodgers pony's grandmother was from Errill

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/02/2009 16:57:13    206364

spudenator County: Laois Posts: 512 205714 patrique County: Antrim Posts: 2078 2 As for the Northerners hate ''Free State'' Gaelic teams etc etc etc comment. Im really surprised to hear this tiresome ole bilge from a man who gave an excellent account of a match in 1969 and what it meant to West Belfast. Im afraid my respect is rapidly evapourating Pat. Spud, have you ever read any of the posts on here? 75% of the time it ends with Northerners attacking Southerners about all and sundry, and then we get the retaliation. Obviously I do not indulge in such things, I even support Kerry against Tyrone for aesthetic reasons. So Spud, I actually AGREE with your sentiments.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/02/2009 18:16:28    206437

Who is Tony McCopy? Played for St Ernaght's did he? That's only Cargin in disguise.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/02/2009 18:19:04    206439

Great win for Ireland today.Declan Kidney is doing a great job with them.All the way now lads!

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 15/02/2009 22:58:06    207698

Tommy Bowe has improved immensly as a player over this past 3-4 years, took his try very well yesterday. Also thought Heaslip and Ferris were both immense. Heaslip's athleticism is something not too many other number8's in the competition have and himself and Ferris really put themselves about yesterday.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 16/02/2009 09:16:49    207839

Bowe has indeed come on alot in the last couple of years, especially since his move to Ospreys where he has excelled along what is the bulk of the Welsh team in effect. Took his try very well, and shut up that gobsheen Hook who claims he is slow! If that run for the try was slow then I'd like to see a fast player! That's two solid games under his belt in the 6 nations and if he keeps it up he could find himself on the way to SA with the Lions. One wing spot is sewn up(Williams), but Bowe may be the leading contender for the other wing at the minute but it's wide open. Heaslip has been immense the last two games also, if he keeps that up there's no way he won't be on the Lions tour and could find himself starting.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/02/2009 12:15:47    208023

I have being one of Bowe's big knockers but i must say he has played very well over last 2 matches. Always good in attack but his defense has improved dramactially over last 6 months.
Not sure that Williams will be playing for the Lions. Depends on what sort of game plan they go with.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 16/02/2009 14:22:42    208211

God denzel, your opinion of Bowe really has changed, it was only a couple of weeks ago that you said Horgan or Murphy would be better options! He's been improving steadily since he moved to Ospreys as I say, and he's only getting better. As you say his defence has really improved, which was showed in the last 2 games where he gathered a few high balls and had crunching tackles on the likes of Chabal and Parisse.

I'd imagine Shane Williams is a nailed on cert at no. 11 for the Lions, barring injury. He's the current IRB international player of the year and is definately the best winger when on form in Britain and Ireland. Along with O'Connell he's one of the very few absolutely certain to be playing, in my opinion.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/02/2009 15:15:35    208319

Shane Williams will almost certainly start for the Lions!! I think the 14 jersey is between Tommy Bowe, Leigh Halfpenny and Thom Evans. Cueto is rubbish, i dont think i have personally withnessed a game where he has played well.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 16/02/2009 15:41:21    208364

Again mid-mon-man it depends on what their style of play will be. Last time they were in South Africa Mc Geechan was also coach he played 2 Centres on the wing (Tait and Bentley).
If they were playing fast open rugby there would be no doubt Williams who be playing.

I also have a feeling ROG won't make the travelling party. I believe his 3 out halves will be Jones, Hook and Ciprani.
(Before i get eaten alive if i was coach i would have ROG in the team.)

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 16/02/2009 15:50:00    208380

I think ROG has to travel, he may not be at his best but is definately in the top 3 no. 10s for the Lions. If Cipriani goes it will be a travesty! He's got potential but as it often happens with young English sportpeople his talent has been blown out of all proportion and the hype surrounding him has been unreal. He has been in brutal form for England when he last played and isn't really up to it yet. In the autumn, the amount of times his kicks were charged down leading to trys was unbelievable. He had a great debut against us last year against ourselves but never really delivered that on a consistent basis. As I say, he's got the potential, but he's very raw still. The three should be Hook, Jones and O'Gara, but O'Gara has a bit to do if he wants to figure. Of course McGeechan is a Wasps man so that certainly works in Cipriani's favour, as it does with a few other borderline English players on the Lions team.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/02/2009 16:12:15    208427

There will be more Wasps players in the Lions Squad than Munster players, which will make a pure laugh out of the whole tour.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 18/02/2009 10:02:57    210441

any tips today?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 18/02/2009 10:27:19    210462

Kiely has three to go well today in punchestown,didnt get a definite tip for either of them only that he was expecting a big run from them all.

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 18/02/2009 10:33:27    210473

DABLACKSPOT
County: Westmeath

210473 Kiely has three to go well today in punchestown,didnt get a definite tip for either of them only that he was expecting a big run from them all.

When Liss Na Tintri runs, back her. Its the best horse in the yard.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 18/02/2009 10:42:51    210491

Slasher's Double.

On The Way Out 2.55 Punc at 4/1 and Fly Vic 4.05 Punc at 5/2. 40 euro double nets 700 euro.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/02/2009 13:14:31    210679