OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2009 22:06:35 204664 Link 0 |
patrique Mayo1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 167 - 11/02/2009 22:08:54 204667 Link 0 |
Virgin train advert: "London to Liverpool return....even quicker than Robbie Keane. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/02/2009 22:14:42 204677 Link 0 |
San Marino - who are really Italians. Patrique? pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 11/02/2009 22:36:48 204712 Link 0 |
Not a huge soccer fan but watched the match, thought they showed alot of heart and pride. Never heard of him before but andrews in midfield played very well bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 11/02/2009 23:39:38 204763 Link 0 |
Pearses please, when one is totally bored and posts an obvious wind up, and actually hooks someone, we don't allow facts to get in the way. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/02/2009 00:02:52 204779 Link 0 |
Mayo 1951. Id say Johnny Evans would be first name on our team sheet if he was from the south. denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 12/02/2009 11:17:47 204930 Link 0 |
Sorry Patrique - I'd just watched the second half of the England Spain match and was bored senseless too. pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 12/02/2009 11:31:09 204942 Link 0 |
conor15 County: All Posts: 201 204660 I still believe that come national day Willie Mullins will have something trained to perfection.A lot has been said about Snowy Morning losing his spark and doing bad but i still think he will be there or there abouts.Willie also has Irish Invader in who shouldn't be overlooked. I was given a bit of advice before the 2005 national but i didnt heed it: 'never rule a Willie Mullins horse out over 3m5f' Hedgehunter romped home. For me..Snowy's the the one! Race is over 4m 4f. Don't think Snowy Morning will run. He has too much weight and can't jump (although, last year, looked a different horse jumping round). Mullins has a perfect type for the National called Arbor Supreme and never entered him. Thought this was madness myself but that horse will proably hose up in the Irish version now. Of the Irish contenders, I like Mattock Ranger at 100/1. Carberry will do exactly what he did on Kings John Castle last year, only hopefully this horse won't run out of stamina in the last few furlongs. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/02/2009 11:41:59 204955 Link 0 |
Johnny Evans, George McCartney, Steven Davis and David Healy would be well worth their places on the irish team. Chris Brunt and Damien Johnson would be there or thereabouts too. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12358 - 12/02/2009 11:51:13 204963 Link 0 |
Any other historical or famous international people with irish connections that ye know of, I'll start the ball rolling with mohammad Ali's great grand father was from Clare, Obama has offaly connections, Ned Kelly's parents were from Tipp. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 12/02/2009 12:14:49 204993 Link 0 |
Mayo1951 County: Mayo Posts: 62 204667 patrique County: Antrim Posts: 2054 204638 Another fine 3-0 win for our lads tonight. Meanwhile our neighbours scrape home(?) with a dodgy penalty, the foul was on the half way line, and a scrappy goal when a player falls over and the ball bounces off him into the net. Such is sport. ireland's soccer team is miles better than the norths. get off your high horse patrique. the only good player the north has is david healy and hes not even a scratch on robbie keane or stephen hunt. The only time the north ever wins is when they play against **** teams(much like antrim in gaa:) ---------------------------------------------------------------- Mayo1951 I am by no means a fan of Northern Ireland but how do you come to the conclusion the republic is miles better. For the best part of two years the North were a few places ahead of the republic in the world rankings. And I if you mean **** teams are teams like Spain (Euorpean champions and ranked no.1 in the world) and England (Top ten ranked team), then you are right the north can only beat **** teams. Tir_Na_nOg (Antrim) - Posts: 210 - 12/02/2009 12:33:36 205029 Link 0 |
12/02/2009 12:14:49 HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 1297 204993 Any other historical or famous international people with irish connections that ye know of, I'll start the ball rolling with mohammad Ali's great grand father was from Clare, Obama has offaly connections, Ned Kelly's parents were from Tipp. Rugby player of the year Wales winger Shane Williams his father came from Wexford,so does his wife,the REAL mask of Zoro was born in Wexford Town,Bing Crosby is half Irish,JFK his parents are from New Ross Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 12/02/2009 12:46:34 205048 Link 0 |
DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 12/02/2009 14:16:16 205160 Link 0 |
DABLACKSPOT spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 12/02/2009 17:46:27 205428 Link 0 |
Spudenator, I no longer have to cross the M1 to get to the ground, having long since departed the West. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/02/2009 22:32:17 205636 Link 0 |
patrique "I actually support Italy at soccer, since 1966." That would make you a big fan of Man U's style then! :-) On a side note I would be estatic to see a Ireland soccer team playing. Would be excellent. The rugby boys have proven it can be successful and benefits even the clubs (would ulster be as strong alone?). Time to for Irish soccer to drop its baggage in the interest of being successful and moving forward. trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 12/02/2009 22:43:52 205666 Link 0 |
patrique County: Antrim Posts: 2076 Spudenator, I no longer have to cross the M1 to get to the ground, having long since departed the West. And well said Tir Na Og. We beat Spain in the European Championship with a Healy hat trick Now if Healy had been English that would be shown nightly on TV. Who won the Euros in the end? Oh, I see, Spain. Ahhh I see, well I kinda meant the symbolic journey across the M1. The crossing of the bridge in the Mickeybo and Me sense... Well whatever direction ya take, surely you jest with the ''We'' stuff, no? If not fair play, your a true trailblazer. Ye are right about the Healy hatrick and how BBCs Motson Brigade would have pleasured themselves (visually and mentally only of course) with it for weeks, nay months, nay years if it was England. But regarding quality, the fact of the matter remains that Norn Irn or ''Ye'' would contribute maybe 2 or 3 players to a starting 11 if there was an All Ireland team (Jonny Evans, George McCartney and Maybe Healy if Doyle or Keane was out) with another couple on the bench (Kyle Lafferty???) so I think theres a fairly significant gap in quality. I have to hand it to ye though, ye have an uncanny ability to get out-of-the-blue, against-the-odds results. spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 12/02/2009 22:52:36 205674 Link 0 |
northern ireland over the past few years have pulled some serious results out of, well, god knows where, whereas the republic have underachieved big time. northern ireland whole has been far greater than the sum of its parts, i mean apart from about 4 or 5 good plyers, the individual players on the team are only average. i would take jonny evans though! an-lu-abu (Louth) - Posts: 118 - 12/02/2009 22:59:27 205680 Link 0 |
We have beaten Spain and England in recent seasons, and the "we" is serious, if you look at the thread about "Croke Park...shame what was on it" or whatever it is called. As I said there Northerners hate Free state Gaelic teams, but love their soccer team. I am the other way round. Trileac, I know what you are getting at when you say Man United, 1-0 every week, but it was the 1960s when Inter played like that. Nowadays Italian defenders have more skill than English forwards. Look at Grosso, best left back in the world and nobody heard of him until the last world cup. Italians have skill, everybody including me could have industry and running in their game. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/02/2009 23:13:00 205697 Link 0 |