The Non GAA Thread

think fix the rib should be a banker in last at fontwell. short favourite but its hard to see it beaten

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 06/02/2009 14:13:28    200180

paudi

200056 any tips for today loyal samin

One of the Sheikhs I know in the desert has promised me a winner later today.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 15:00:26    200231

Right, I'm just after coming off the phone to my contact in the desert and he informs me that the Japanese are expecting big things of their filly in the 6.15 Nad Al Sheba (UAE 1000 Guineas). She has been working very well out there and they like her a lot. Currently 16/1 with Paddypower but 20/1 if you look around.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 16:29:09    200320

Well done Sam. I didn't back it but it absolutely bolted up.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 16:33:55    200327

loyal2royal, Name please?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 06/02/2009 16:57:31    200348

thanks samin 10 doubled my last 45euro.
thanks a million, times are getting hard for poor jim.
would like a few for tomorrow if you can sir??

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 06/02/2009 17:12:07    200363

Sorry forgot to post a name, its Earth Living in the 6.15.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 17:54:12    200397

Aaaaahhhh 2nd again. 20/1, do you think I went all in or backed each way? All in of course. Still ran well.

I'll have a big tip for ye next Thursday.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 18:41:31    200431

i couldnt work out which one you were talking about, couldnt find a decent card, was tempted to actually back the one that won, i thought it looked the best of the ones around that price. Chickened out in case i got the wrong one. Cant believe you backed a 20-1 straight. Crazy.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 06/02/2009 18:50:55    200438

samin10
County: Armagh

200438 i couldnt work out which one you were talking about, couldnt find a decent card, was tempted to actually back the one that won, i thought it looked the best of the ones around that price. Chickened out in case i got the wrong one. Cant believe you backed a 20-1 straight. Crazy

Ha! Backing each way is not really something I am too fond of. If I do, then I am kind of saying I don't think the horse will win. Sorry I forgot to post the name but Japanese runners out there are rare, outside of the big night in March. That was the only Japanese runner in the race. How on earth she went off 20/1 is one of the world's great mysteries but the wide draw and the fact she had to do it tough the whole way cost her dear in the end. The winner was Saudi Arabian for the once brilliant Michael Kinane.

The Sheikh informs me that they (might) have another nice one next Thursday.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 06/02/2009 21:23:58    200526

I love's the way yiz go off the beatin track lads i really do

LONG LIVE HOGANSTAND.COM

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 07/02/2009 06:57:28    200667

ah i thought it was that lad but i was gone home before i new for sure.would have backed him each way.
feck it anyway.well,just have to have a look at the papers today

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 07/02/2009 09:01:17    200679

john terry each way in 3.35 at lingfield. will be the ony john terry to win anything this year

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 07/02/2009 14:43:20    200802

Loyal2TheRoyal Cheltenham Gold Cup Thoughts: As was predicted by yours truly, yesterday, Denman got beat and Kauto Star Cheltenham chances increased considerably. But who do we reckon will win the big race, now? Well Denman's price of 4/1 looks quite large now. I have expressed doubts in the past that last year's Gold Cup was the best Denman will ever run and today's race did little to alay my fears. However, while the most positive thing Paul Nicholls could say after the race today was "satisfactory", all is not lost. Kauto Star beat Albertus Run 7L at Christmas and Denman beat that rival by more than three times that figure today. Albeit on ground that would not have suited Jonjo's horse. And if Madison Du Berlais had not run today, Denman would be somewhere in the region of 1/2 now so it may be the case that horse is a lot better than was first believed. I still think Denman is far from a spent force, conditions were completely against him today and back at Prestbury Park in March, he will be seen in a much better light. But at the same time it was disappointing from Denman and regardless of his price I would still be slightly keen to oppose and likewise Kauto Star.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 07/02/2009 20:06:33    200917

Agree 100% with that assesement loyal. Was thinkin of starting a thread devoted exclusively to Cheltenham.
Good idea yes/no??

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 07/02/2009 21:21:23    200951

mossbags

200951 Agree 100% with that assesement loyal. Was thinkin of starting a thread devoted exclusively to Cheltenham.
Good idea yes/no??

I would say a very good idea but a few of the traditionalists might not like it. But we do have threads on everything else and I'm sure the likes of yourself, TC, Dellboy and Samin10 along with a few others including me would like it and have plenty of worthy contributions. So I say yeah, go aheah.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 07/02/2009 22:02:39    200979

good to hear joe kinnear is ok.

chalkie (Derry) - Posts: 312 - 07/02/2009 22:58:18    201000

if i can get denman at 4-1 or bigger, going to back it ew for safe bet

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 08/02/2009 13:09:49    201095

la estrella and guilednsturn in race after. both at kempton. 2 singles and a double.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 08/02/2009 13:16:17    201097

New discussion: do you think fine gael with enda kenny as taoiseach will be better than cowen with fianna fail? i for one, will be voting for fine gael if another general election is gonna be held

Mayo1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 167 - 08/02/2009 16:17:24    201186