The Non GAA Thread

Cavan_Slasher

193123 Loyal, dont touch any horse from that stable for awhile. Will let you know !!

Ye I see Wave Power has left for across the water as well. But back to my above post, do you know the horse I am thinking of?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 29/01/2009 17:07:53    193447

Loyal, its not that one. They are all out of sorts at the moment i'm told.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/01/2009 17:13:36    193456

Can u imagine! Slasher would have a heart attack! Calm down slasher, we are all mates on this thread ;)
And JC, i had nowt to do with Holy's post. Not quite sure why u thought I did???

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/01/2009 17:14:34    193458

Fair play to the FAI on this one....should bring in a lot of money

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/01/2009 20:47:32    193607

Patrique - UEFA final in Landsdowne! How did you swing that one?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 29/01/2009 23:03:45    193761

I know there are a few lads on here into the WWE (?) - that wrestling rubbish. A friend of mine has a young lad mad into it. I believe the whole show is coming here soon - Dublin & Belfast? Anyone know dates, if tickets are available and where ya might get them? Thanks.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 30/01/2009 11:40:04    194040

Ticketmaster Jayo.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 30/01/2009 11:43:32    194044

right lads - im low on shekkals at the moment and have a big weekend comin up,lots of boozing.

any one got any tips for tomorrow,sure things like??just to give me extra seed money to watch the fireworks tomorrow !!

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/01/2009 12:10:40    194082

Loyal, how did you manage to stay out of all the fighting on the outside. I was looking forward to your input. Most Disappointed!

fearansrathban (Tyrone) - Posts: 49 - 30/01/2009 14:07:46    194210

What fighting Fear?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 30/01/2009 14:48:14    194278

I'd imagine he means the Foreign Games spats Loyal :) !!
U missed it?!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/01/2009 15:08:53    194304

JayoCluxton

Patrique - UEFA final in Landsdowne! How did you swing that one?

As a City fan I just phoned the Sheik and told him to pay for it. By 2011 United could well be in that final, and they are popular in Ireland so the Sheik went for it.

Wait to you see the changes I am talking him into in regard to Casement Park. Hotels, outdoor heated pools, moving elevator to get the players to the pitch, well the Antrim ones anyway..........

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/01/2009 23:15:35    194669

Speaking of "foreign sports" and the Sky league, look at Aston Villa.

When O'Neill became manager in summer of 2006 they were well backed to go down. I was at my annual exercise trying to see if there were three teams City could maybe stay ahead of, but i said then that O'Neill would get Villa organised enough to get enough draws to stay up. he did.

Consolidated this year and look at them now. In the last 8 games they have taken 22 points, the same as Man United. In the last 11 games they have taken 8 more points than Liverpool, Chelsea and Arsenal, making them the second "form" team in the league.

They are actually becoming serious challengers for the title, and look well set for the top four.

O'Neill certainly is a chip of the old block, Brian Clough. Clough and Stein are probably the two best "British" managers in my time, and O'Neill is beginning to enter the top class.

At the moment he must be rivalling Moyes and Wenger as possibly the best manager in the Sky league.

Would be great to see Villa as champions, just to show two fingers to the greedy "people" who set up the league, and sell it on the "big" four.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 31/01/2009 01:48:21    194720

Anyone agree that wright-phillips should have went aswell as Delap?He kicked out at delap also so he should have gone.
I think Man City are the laughing stock of the premier league at the moment..Millions and millions of pounds and cant even beat a 10 man stoke side.Embarrasment.

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 31/01/2009 21:44:20    194960

Sean Wright Philips was merely trying to defend himself against a frenzied attack, and I am a firm believer that talented people should not be sent off for retaliation, because that was the aim of the useless player in the first place.

Man City have millions, but have not spent millions, not compared to Tottenham and Sunderland for a start, and they are doing better than them.

As for Stoke, well City did take three points from Stoke, which is more than Liverpool did in two games. Amazing home record this year enjoyed by Stoke.

If you want to look at millions = points, Arsene Wenger is the top manager, followed by Moyes. Both of them are 13 points ahead of esteemed managers such as Alex Ferguson.

So despite spending millions, Fergie lags well behind in points.

Confused? Well, it takes a while.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 31/01/2009 22:32:50    194974

Well the reason Arsenal haven't put up more of a challenge in the last few years is because Wenger hasn't spent those millions patrique. They definately have the money, but he prefers to take in several talented youngsters who can look spectacular in the early stages of the Carling Cup, but ultimately have done nothing in the past few years. Only a couple of Wenger's young guns in recent years have become proper good players, Fabregas for example, the others flatter to deceive. All the big teams have money to spend, it's Arsenal's own fault for not spending it. Their fans want silverware, and while it's all well and good to play fantastic flowing football for a short spell in the year, it doesn't deliver the goods in the end. They haven't replaced Viera and Henry and money must be spent to do so. People can complain all they want about Man Utd, Chelsea etc. spending so much money but it's par for the course these days if you want to contend. Man City's spending will dwarf them all in a year or so anyway.

Everton on the other hand have done outstanding with limited resources and deserve plenty of credit. Especially in the last few weeks when they've done extremely well against all the big teams without actually having forwards on the pitch!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 01/02/2009 12:15:30    195060

What a tremendous win by Rory McIlroy, great to see.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/02/2009 14:17:03    195111

This has to be one of the worst Celtic teams that has EVER worn the hoops. Outfought, outplayed and outpsyched by an Inverness team at the bottom of the League. Strachan has been a very lucky manager but his lack of tactical nous and non existant motivational skills are now being exposed AND he has bought some real donkeys in Hinkle and Samaras. How can two 6ft centre halves in Caldwell & McManus continually be out jumped by guys half their size? They lost 90% of balls that came into the box. There is something seriously wrong at Parkhead now as this team doesn't have the desire, hunger or ability to win the League. If they throw the title away to a very poor Rangers team, which I think they will, there will be some serious questions to be answered by the board.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 01/02/2009 16:52:09    195159

Yeah it was a great show by McIlroy, alot of drama and ups and downs aswell but he held on to win it, great to see. He could work his way into the Ryder Cup team yet! Stranger things have happened.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 01/02/2009 19:31:33    195280

Rangers selling leading scorer Boyd, now Ulsterman wants to sell Celtic's best forward? Mind you, we could do with him back at City, great FOOTBALLER.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/02/2009 19:42:23    195295