Sam, what do you use to pick out all them horses??? I rarely back horses on a weekday bar Cheltenham, Royal Ascot and other such festivals. Also Nad Al Sheba on a Thursday is a good place to get winners. But other than that, you might as well be sticking a pin in the paper especially in them handicaps. I know a lad who owns a horse in England, form in maiden hurdles was 000, nest time out in a 45-60 handicap, wins as she likes at 12/1. I asked the owner was that horse trying the first three times and he said straight out "No!". Thats what you are up against. The like of that is going on every day of the week. Ireland is ten times as bad. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 16/01/2009 19:35:31 182648 Link 0 |
Once we sign Kaka for a pittance, things will change, world domination beckons. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/01/2009 21:31:50 182702 Link 0 |
What price are Munster to win the Heiniken cur now? conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 16/01/2009 23:05:30 182778 Link 0 |
conor15 Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/01/2009 23:09:49 182784 Link 0 |
Loyal believe me i know what you are talking about. Take a notion now and again and mess about with 20 or 30 quid, believe me its never anything much, too many gangsters involved. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 17/01/2009 13:50:23 182993 Link 0 |
Take the risk out of gambling. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 17/01/2009 17:18:24 183067 Link 0 |
Anyone got any ideas of how to put manners on a cocky upstart in work?? I'm training a newbie here in work at the minute (yes i know, unbelievable that there is someone lower than me in the food chain), and to say i dont like him is an understatement. I dont know about the rest of youse but when i first started working i kept the head down, didnt answer back and to a large extent did what i was asked to. But this little gremlin is trying to take over the show!!! Need to teach him a lesson!! Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 19/01/2009 10:56:02 183606 Link 0 |
Rio Bingo County: Tyrone Posts: 318 183606 Anyone got any ideas of how to put manners on a cocky upstart in work?? I'm training a newbie here in work at the minute (yes i know, unbelievable that there is someone lower than me in the food chain), and to say i dont like him is an understatement. I dont know about the rest of youse but when i first started working i kept the head down, didnt answer back and to a large extent did what i was asked to. But this little gremlin is trying to take over the show!!! Need to teach him a lesson!! Jasus Rio sounds like you have a budding Michael O Leary there I'd give anything for a lad like that but don't put him down give him loads to do and more ......feed him the ball like. chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 19/01/2009 11:35:25 183636 Link 0 |
Well thats the Steven Manchester, I mean Stephen Ireland debate put to bed. He is not coming back, end of. Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 19/01/2009 11:50:51 183646 Link 0 |
Rio what do you do? oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 19/01/2009 11:51:02 183647 Link 0 |
Oisin, i work as an accountant! Any ideas greatly appreciated! Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 19/01/2009 11:54:54 183652 Link 0 |
Intriguing game tonight lads. How do the everton fans feel. No doubt benitez will start Lucas or something daft. johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 19/01/2009 12:13:25 183666 Link 0 |
Rio - thats a handy one. I presume ye work on PCs. Pretend yours is broken. Get a screwdriver and open up the back. Know all will take over - cos he will know whats wrong. When he has his hand in among the workings, you just happen to spill that large glass of water on your desk all over him. Problem solved. JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 19/01/2009 12:39:42 183695 Link 0 |
Liam, Andy Reid hasnt been doing it for Sunderland in the last month or so, so quite rightly has been left out. I agree, back in Sept/Oct for the last qualifying match when he was left out of the starting 11, that was a disgrace, as he was playing consirably well up on the North East. But judging by the squad Trap has picked, he might not be missed to much. Anyways, have you seen the size of him lately.....One of these players who just goes thru' the motions i'm afraid. Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 19/01/2009 12:51:35 183713 Link 0 |
If you have a safe that holds some paper accounts for your customers send him down to look for an obscure name oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 19/01/2009 12:54:21 183714 Link 0 |
Rio, when Keane first went over to forest playing, do you know what the first thing Brian Clough asked him to do in his office that first day: - Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 19/01/2009 12:57:00 183717 Link 0 |
Rio, we're in the same business (in fact I have an inkling of who you are). In my place we either send them on a bun run, ot give them some totting to do. Im like yourself, on yer first year keep your head down and do as your told. If that doesnt work just amke sure you make a point of pointing out everything they are doing wrong, will bring them back down to earth a bit. Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 19/01/2009 13:49:33 183758 Link 0 |
Rio - I'd have to agree with chainsaw - if he has such a big opinion of himself and is that eager, feed him as much work as possible - he'll eventually make a mistake, in which case you have been vindicated and have the opportunity to put some manners on him (a valuable lesson everyone needs at the start of their career). If he eats up the work and doesn't put a foot wrong, you can just dump as much of your own workload on him as is possible, telling the the additional experience will come in useful. The reduced workload will be handy for you while you're tarting up your CV, because you're looking for a new job, mate... pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 19/01/2009 14:03:16 183770 Link 0 |
Rio, let him off. You don't need to teach him a lesson, life will do that for you. Is he at the same level as yourself? Your boss will be able to recognise if he is full of it and if you try to get involved in some kind of little war with him, it will be you that comes out of it looking bad. New people sometimes feel under a lot of pressure to make an instant impact and it's probably just nerves on his part. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 19/01/2009 14:18:13 183785 Link 0 |
sit him down and lay it straight on the table. tell him ure training him and u know he is willing to impress but tell him HE is bottom of the pecking order and for him to make it in ure line of work he has to cross the T's and dot the I's.. tell him u had to wait along time to get where u are and its just a matter of time till he gets the chance to be where u are. lay some tough work on him and tell him to come back to u if he is stuck. and make sure its near impossible, so he has to come back. after a few of these tough jobs he will cop on and settle in... AskUreSister (Westmeath) - Posts: 160 - 19/01/2009 14:31:42 183800 Link 0 |