The Non GAA Thread

Munster were blessed on Saturday. Leinster were a disgrace on Friday. Golden era of Irish rugby looks well and truly over.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 15/12/2008 15:47:17    164468

Yes they were lucky but a still in the cup. Same thing happened last year against clearmont bonus point they got when they lost to clearmont got them out of the group and they went on to win the heinken cup. Bit early for the prophets of doom just yet now.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 15/12/2008 16:06:22    164488

mid-mon man - agree about In Bruges. Funnily - I thought that Fiennes performance was a bit too over the top (playing it like Grant Mitchell) and might have scuppered them. Good to see the recognition though and more so for Farrell - he was going cold turkey from the booze (having been in rehab etc) and ended up filming in a city with 600-odd beers.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 15/12/2008 16:20:40    164497

bad.monkey
County: USA

Liam for the sake of your wallet get back on the veg, those vie shots are a rip off, more goodness in half a carrot. For desert chop up an apple, bananna, pear, strawberries and grapes
______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Good advice bad.monkey. Get back on that fruit Liam. Loads of bananas. The whiter ones are the best i hear

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 15/12/2008 17:13:32    164580

Niall Mc Ginn (former tyrone minor and would have been a tyrone senior last year only he signed for Derry City) signing for Celtic. Anyone any thoughts on how good Mc Ginn is and whether he'll make it at Celtic? I've only seen him play Gaelic and not soccer?

Istemi_theDemi (Tyrone) - Posts: 56 - 16/12/2008 10:28:14    165137

The Guv'nor has left the building! Ince sacked as Rovers manager!

Istemi_theDemi (Tyrone) - Posts: 56 - 16/12/2008 13:03:01    165272

In all fairness, I was impressed with the way Bush dodged those shoes, especially the first one!!

......The GAA are thinking about hiring him to give lessons on how to dodge missiles thrown from the mayo supporters in the stands to counties who have to travel to Castlebar for matches this year!!

Snufalufagus......Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/12/2008 15:13:48    165400

I see FIFA has approved a ''Great'' British soccer team for Olympics 2012 despite objections from Scotland, NI and Wales. Surley theyre setting a precedent here whereby supporters of an all Ireland team such as myself can argue for Georgey Bests dream..we could do with the up and coming talent of Jonny Evans and Kyle Lafferty I tells ye.. Oh yeah, NI will probably opt out of the GB team and so the option of an Ireland team would still be an option!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 16/12/2008 15:16:47    165405

Oh yeah, NI will probably opt out of the GB team and so the option of an Ireland team would still be an option!

-At the moment there's very few NI players who would be any addition to the Republic squad, even allowing for the fact that we're not great either.

aidangalway (Galway) - Posts: 648 - 16/12/2008 16:25:22    165489

Any of ye see the cricket at the weekend?? Great stuff, willie stroker is class!

creeposaurus (Kerry) - Posts: 56 - 16/12/2008 20:14:29    165750

What an absolutely brilliant test match in India. Wonderful viewing, with some epic cricket played.

Congratulations to both teams, given the circumstances.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/12/2008 23:20:22    165869

Lads, have to buy a christmas present for a girl i'm courting. Dont want to spend too much as its not serious but want to get something decent to show i'm a nice guy!!! Any ideas??

Istemi_theDemi (Tyrone) - Posts: 56 - 18/12/2008 10:20:48    166957

Well if your using the phrase "i'm courting" your a 50's or 60's person at heart so my i suggest a Dickie Rock Record..... only messing in the same perdicament meself...

I'm thinking jewlery, spa vouchers or maybe a usual a few HAG_AND_CHEESE good time coupons!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 18/12/2008 10:34:45    166970

perfume, nice thought and not too personal!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/12/2008 11:07:16    167003

Cheers lads i was thinking along the lines of perfume or jewellery!! Courting is a top quality phrase,

Istemi_theDemi (Tyrone) - Posts: 56 - 18/12/2008 13:01:00    167162

I know a lot of Liverpool supporters on this thread any chane ye might give me an indication of how popular Rafa is in general?Personally i think he is too negative to win the premiership and more suited to cup competitons he is all about not been beaten rather than taking a game by the scruff of the neck and goin for it.Hope im proved wrong but i doubt it.

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 22/12/2008 01:55:59    169149

I'd agree with you there DaBlackSpot. Great to see Robbie Keane smashing in a goal yesterday. Hope Everton can do us a favour tonight. What about it Liam/Woops? :)

And "courting" is a great phrase! As is "doing a line"!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 22/12/2008 11:12:34    169246

Actually think Everton will give Chelsea a good run for their money tonight. will badly miss yakubu against the Chelsea defense but hopefully whoever plays up front will do the biz.
i will go for a 1-1 draw.

great finish by Robbie alright, hopefully he will bag in another few over the xmas. great skill and finish by van piersie too.
what a conondrum, hope robbie does well but liverpool to mess up!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/12/2008 12:06:08    169278

Munster

I fail to see what this country's obsession with the Munster Rugby team is? Last night, they got sports team of the year ahead of Kilkenny and Coolmore (who weren't even nominated!!!) and a couple of other good Irish teams.

I think it was Real Kerry Fan who said the other day that they are hardly European champions when only teams from three nations compete in the Heineken Cup and even at that the Italy teams aren't worth much. Now I haven't always agreed with RKF but in this instance, he was spot on. They are the best of about eight teams and then you have a few other teams who are just there to make up numbers.

Secondly, the whole All Blacks thing is ridiculous. Apparantly it was the most watched sporting even all year but the All Blacks only bothered to put out one first team player. Munster had a better pick of All-Blacks than the All-Blacks actually did. Yet everyone goes on about this great team performance from Munster - they didn't even win!

Surely the Kilkenny hurlers or Coolmore would have been far more worthy receiptants than Munster. Kilkenny are arguably the second greatest team ever (Clare 95 the best) and Coolmore have taken over the horse racing world. So can I put it to the sporting genii amongst us (which are few and far between on this website), how over-rated are Munster?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 22/12/2008 12:35:10    169296

In fairness loyal i thought Kilkenny might get it cos they brought hurling to a totally different level this year,giving out more severe beatings than mafia hitmen!!
but one can't really argue about Munster all the same. They are a bit overhyped alright but they are a great team and great ambassadors for ireland. it just like the all stars with different opinions by different people.
what makes them so special to people is that on paper they wouldn't have the class that leinster have but they just give 110% all the time.
remember that second string new zealand team beat scotland fairly well a few weeks previously.

what i do reckon is that Munster were more loved when they were unlucky losers but the fact now is that they are becoming the major force in european club rubgy that some of the our own will turn against them!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 22/12/2008 13:05:47    169320