The Non GAA Thread

Ahh thanks lads... Ya see I knew this was the place to come for good advice! Ill take wee nuggets of info from ye all on this one. Im gona start playin hard ball a little more, though not too much and see where that gets me..If it happens again then Il just leave it, but to add to the dilemna, shes absolutley gorgeous and im probably punchin above my weight with her so its veeeery hard to walk away. Thanks bhoys!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 10/12/2008 19:15:02    161404

3inarow08

161227 Spudenator, get rid of her quick!

I met a girl like that not so long ago up here in the big shmoke and we kept on arranging the third date but for her to back out with about an hour's notice! I asked her what the craic was and she went bananas! Absolute psycho!

No wonder, never mention the craic

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 10/12/2008 21:47:04    161542

Looking for some adivce here lads! Cut straight to the chase, i hate Veg!! Cant stand the stuff. Exceptions are Potatoes, Mushrooms and the odd time brocolli/peas or beans. But in general, i hate them! Not a massive fruit fan either but way prefer it to veg. Typical week for me in lots of pasta, fresh fish, cheese, grilled chicken etc. Always a chinese throw in there somewhere and a few chips!! Since i got back from Spain I have just gone from one bloody health complaint to the next. Ms Walkinstown got s serious ear infection over there, and i havent felt the mae west either. The doc put it down to dirty swiming pool water. YUCK! So anyways, instead of eating veg, i tend to drink those Knor Vie shots. 2 a day. Morning and dinner time. I reckon if she got sick from the pool then it cant have been good to me either, and as i say since i got back i just seem to go from problem to problem. Driving me mad. Do ye reckon this could be down to the fact i dont eat fresh fruit/veg and therefore since the dodgy swimming pool, my immunity system is shot? Anyone any ideas? Is it time to jack in the Vie shots and start buying carrots again??!! Cheers amigos.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 11/12/2008 16:09:12    162188

Haha. Mrs Walkinstown...love it!

Well Mrs Spudenator (Mammy not Wife) always says that theres no replacement for the real thing...Ok OJ is great, but why not eat an orange and get every natural bit, Im sure Vies are good for but why not steam some carrots and broccoli and put it with whatever ur havin..even drizzle a bit of homemade garlic butter over them..if not for taste then for nutrition! Duno if its the cause but gettin as close to the real thing is always best!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 11/12/2008 17:41:47    162315

Whats your favourite christmas song???

bit a wham?? bit a slade?? Bowie and Crosby??

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 11/12/2008 18:04:18    162350

Well I hope every fool that threw away the pork feels silly now!....fools!

I was shovelling it into me all along!.....Shoulders of bacon on the boil every day!

Fools ringing the food board to see what to do with their 2 rashers!.....Cop on!.....People can be so full of their own importance!....Would love to have worked in Bord Bia for the day, tell these fools what to do with the pork!

"New Irelander" scaremongers!!!......go out to the bin now and retrieve it!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 11/12/2008 18:23:55    162374

No fruit or veg...
You probably have scurvy!!

Get them Vitamin C tablets into ya... borocca and the like!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/12/2008 18:32:46    162382

just realised i have no pudding made, is there such a thing as a quick one

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 11/12/2008 21:35:16    162557

Liam boy always eat your greens!
Think hating veg is all in the head, i used to detest cabbage,turnip,parsnips and a few more when i was younger. After a while i used to force myself to finish veg that was put on my plate when i was visiting relations or something out of good manners.then realised that i could eat them really. might not ever love those bits of veg but they go down all the same.
can't beat corn on the cob with kerrygold butter melted on it!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 11/12/2008 21:56:55    162581

woops

can't beat corn on the cob with kerrygold butter melted on it!

Now you're talkin' boy!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/12/2008 10:24:58    162766

Ok lads and ladies, Lisbon Traty Yes or No. i for one say YES. i think we as in Ireland are in no position to drop out of the EU or get on the wrong side of the EU and need the EU more than the EU needs us. We were a country in a shambles before we joined the EU and with grants and handouts we eventually prosperred. We are heading into a recession now and more than likely it is the EU we will depend on to bail us out on a few occasions. Look what happened with the pig crisis, Ireland asking the EU for money to cover their losses. the EU said NO and I think unless we join the Lisbom Treaty we will be hearing that word a lot from Brussels. In fairness I think even though our politicians have been seen to make a shambles of our economy they would not have favoured the Lisbon Treaty unless it was Right for this country.prac every half decent organistation in the country favoured the Yes vote. Not many times both Fianna Fail and Fine Gael agree on something. I know our fishermen have been the losers since we joined the EU and it something we should bring to the table i nthe future to gain more rights for them to fish in our own waters. But I think do to our sacrifice of the fishing industry a lot of other industries prospered cos of this through EU handouts.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 12/12/2008 10:25:40    162767

Woops, yes vote for me as well. 2 reasons:

I've studied EU law and spoken to a lot of lecturers and tutors, they were all voting Yes. They clarified the treaty and dispelled a few fibs and myths that the No campaigners were throwing around.
Taxi drivers in Dublin voted No - says a lot doesn't it?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/12/2008 11:04:35    162811

It was yes vote last year for me and it'll be a yes vote again whenever they put it to us again.

Membership of the EU has been extremely beneficial to this country, and has been a massive (if unrecognised) factor in the Celtic Tiger. Trade with other European countries would be much more difficult, and we would be a lot less attractive to US companies.
The majority of arguments put forward by the "No" campaign have been exposed as untruths and scaremongering (Taxes, abortion and neutrality being some of the major ones - you only have to look to see how easily the EU have agreed to put the provisions into the Treaty to realise that it wasn't intended to affect these areas anyway).
I know a few people who voted "No" because they weren't happy with the Government (much like Nice), which makes about as much sense as burning down your house because you had a row with your parents.
The only reason I can see for voting no is if you think that Ireland would be better off out of the EU. Whilst all evidence suggests that this is not the case, we haven't experienced life outside of the EU for 35 years, and it cannot be definitively be said whether the Celtic Tiger would have occurred if we had remained apart from Europe (I personally don't see how it could have happened, but stranger things have happened with Economies in the past).

And above all else, a simple rule of thumb for issues affecting the Irish economy:
Do the opposite of whatever Sinn Féin say!
Republicanism is one thing, but poorly disguised Marxism is not a good thing for the Irish economy

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 12/12/2008 12:02:23    162895

man utd v spurs.... who will win ,, answers on a post card please

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 12/12/2008 12:04:59    162901

De Niro should

(a) Retire now

(b) Have retired 5 years ago

(c) STOP making terrible fluffy films! He may be more in the spotlight than Pacino lately but his films have been truly sad to see. From Jimmy Conway to Meet the Fockers/Showtime...! Whats he playing at!

Pacino is in a different league at this stage, and its Bobby's own doing!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 12/12/2008 13:51:13    163022

Liam for the sake of your wallet get back on the veg, those vie shots are a rip off, more goodness in half a carrot. Your best bet is to steam some carrots, brocoli, spinch and have with a good steak. For desert chop up an apple, bananna, pear, strawberries and grapes throw some yogurt on top. Savage (healthy) dinner and desert and its fairly cheap too

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4666 - 12/12/2008 13:51:29    163023

Meet the Fockers? Great show.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 12/12/2008 14:40:39    163071

i meet the fockers anytime kerry play Tyrone!

joking lads!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 12/12/2008 14:50:09    163081

black&white
County: Sligo

162895 It was yes vote last year for me and it'll be a yes vote again whenever they put it to us again.

I voted Yes earlier in the year and will vote No when it comes around again.
The people, rightly or wrongly, have spoken. How many referenda will it take to explain to those clods in Dáil Eireann that NO means exactly that.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 748 - 12/12/2008 15:28:18    163136

What does everyone think of "In Bruges" getting 3 Golden Globe nominations? I loved the film myself and it's well deserved, thought it might have been overlooked though as it was out early in the film year and was a low-budget flick. They may be the Oscars' poor cousin but still an indication. Good to see Farrell and Gleeson both getting recognition and the award could well be between the two of them.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 12/12/2008 15:49:29    163161