The Non GAA Thread

I agree money should be invested in connaught not to put ye down but connaught is looked on more as a developement squad i think more should be invested in coaching rather than on a stadium which at the present moment connaught can't fill, it's a professional game now can the irfu afford to make an 11 million euro loss over two years which were the figures banded around at the time.

Connaught need to be able to generate their own revenue at this stage which in fairness their not able to compete with the other 3 that way, irfu is making money out ulster leinster and munster. Take wales for example they cut the amount of teams combining a few teams in fairness it's a professional game now money talks. I'd love to see connaught up there but in reality is it going to happen??

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 09/12/2008 11:02:09    159938

3inarow08

Munster have traditionally been a better team than Connaught. Therefore Munster get "MAXIMUM" funding. The reason Connaught get "MINIMUM" funding from the IRFU is mainly because ye have not been as successful. Ye have not been as successful because Connaught traditionally has not been a rugby province, Munster has been.

3inarow, do you think for one minute that if Munster did not get the big payouts from the IRFU to pay for the massive wages, would O'Gara, O'Connell, Howlett etc etc stay....course they would not. They would be on the first boat to France where all the big big money is. True, there are far far superior to any other province in the country in stature and tradition, but if the well dried up, they would be gone in the morning!!!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 09/12/2008 14:06:17    160105

details on the stadium
Thomond Park is owned by the Thomond Park
Stadium Company, a company owned 50% by the Munster Branch,
50% by the IRFU. There is a lien for 11.5 million euro on the Munster
Branches share of the company, to the IRFU. The freehold is also
owned by the IRFU and will be leased to the TPSC. TPSC have the
option for 10 years of purchasing the freehold for the original sale
value adjusted for inflation.

The stadium cost 43 million could connaught manage to do this?? My understanding is that the majority of the debt is taken by the munster branch and also 10 ticket scheme and corporate boxes and being used to offset the costs also apparantly to rename the stadium can make them 10-15 million over 10 years hasn't been done yet don't think it was needed, also merchandising is a big money spinner i think they can well afford these wages. Would you have the facts to what the irfu payes for their wages.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 09/12/2008 14:46:45    160162

Im still eatin pork!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/12/2008 14:53:16    160172

Best news i heard in a long time Snuff!

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 09/12/2008 15:27:51    160215

My friends girlfriend is a vegetarian.
always a good wind way to wind him up by claiming she must not be a proper vegetarian as she still likes meat!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 09/12/2008 16:15:18    160278

Caff01

3inarow, do you think for one minute that if Munster did not get the big payouts from the IRFU to pay for the massive wages, would O'Gara, O'Connell, Howlett etc etc stay....course they would not. They would be on the first boat to France where all the big big money is. True, there are far far superior to any other province in the country in stature and tradition, but if the well dried up, they would be gone in the morning!!!

Again, you're going off topic.

But, to answer your question above, if the IRFU stopped paying the "massive wages", Howlett would go, as would most of the foreign lads, but I believe Munster would have enough revenue from tickets, merchandising and Heineken Cup tv money to keep the Irish players. Plus, and maybe I'm living in a fantasyland where loyalty exists in a professional sport like rugby, I think the Limerick, Cork, Tipp, Clare players etc in the team would prefer to stay at home than move abroad. Family and personal reasons might have a little say. A bit of consideration has to be given to Hag and Cheese's point also. Munster Rugby is a very professionally run business. Success on and off the pitch and all that lark.

So getting back to the topic you raised, are you still sticking behind your guns and having a go at Munster? I could argue the point that Leinster's backs perform better at club level than at international level but I wouldn't. Leinster's homegrown backs (eg. O' Driscoll, Fitzgerald, Kearney, Horgan, Dempsey) are better than Munster's (but Munster's are making steady progress - Earls in particular) so having a pop at Leinster's backs when Munster's aren't up to scratch would be hypocritical to an extent of me. You could have had a go at Ulster, a province that traditionally were always good at rugby, on why they haven't been as good in the last few seasons. I'm not saying you don't have the right to have a go at a team or have an opinion on any matter, but when you went over the top in saying that it was great to see them lose (or whatever way you worded it) was a step too far.

Perhaps you should consider that it might have something to do with the different styles of coaches that were in charge. This is what I was trying to get at with the Eddie O' Sullivan comment. In my opinion, and I may be wrong, but I think in a while we will see Kidney's Ireland performing a bit better. Maybe some of the lads that are so consistent at provincial level might show the same form on the international stage and everyone from Ireland will be happy.

Then again, I could be wrong.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 09/12/2008 16:16:42    160282

I'm not comparing the two, I don't believe there is a comparison... Come on...! Give me some credit!!!

I'm merely pointing out the fact that the IRFU give us a VERY VERY VERY small fraction of what is given to the other three... Despite the fact we are challenging Ulster now... Until recently, regardless whether we finished ahead of Ulster or not, we would not be allowed into the European Cup. That was down to the IRFU. And to say we don't have a stadium because we couldn't fill it blah blah... It's not my point. We need a stadium!! Not a bloody dog track on a hill. It's ridiculous!!

If the IRFU used they're nut, Connacht could be used to greater effect as a development squad...

Also I believe Keatley deserves a look in for Ireland, as well as Fionn Carr who has been superb for Connacht....

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 09/12/2008 16:29:46    160295

TheRevolution

I'm not comparing the two, I don't believe there is a comparison... Come on...! Give me some credit!!!

I'm merely pointing out the fact that the IRFU give us a VERY VERY VERY small fraction of what is given to the other three... Despite the fact we are challenging Ulster now... Until recently, regardless whether we finished ahead of Ulster or not, we would not be allowed into the European Cup. That was down to the IRFU. And to say we don't have a stadium because we couldn't fill it blah blah... It's not my point. We need a stadium!! Not a bloody dog track on a hill. It's ridiculous!!

If the IRFU used they're nut, Connacht could be used to greater effect as a development squad...

Also I believe Keatley deserves a look in for Ireland, as well as Fionn Carr who has been superb for Connacht....

Sorry, I know you're not comparing the two. You were comparing the Irish Munster players' performance in a red shirt compared to a green one. What you said exactly was:

"...does anyone else think that Munster are the biggest shower of ego maniacs around? I would not cross the road to watch them, and I'm delighted they got beat yesterday"

and

"A disgrace to Irish Rugby, regardless if they have won 2 euro cups!"

So then I started thinking; if Munster are a disgrace to Irish rugby then I'd like to make a comparison (on and off the pitch) between Munster and the other provinces in Ireland, particularly Connaught. I made sure I didn't have a dig at Connaught because I respect them for what they are trying to do with limited resources. I agree with all your points in the above post by the way. But, and here's my main argument, if Munster are a disgrace to Irish rugby, what does that make the rest of the provinces? I'm very proud to be from Munster, and I'm extremely proud of the performances of the Munster team in the last decade or so. To be honest, I never followed rugby until the rise of Munster (partly because there's no rugby clubs within a fair drive of where I'm from and all my schools I attended followed football only). Watching and supporting this team gave me a real interest in rugby. It is probably my favourite sport to watch now, even ahead of football.

I don't know how someone can take such pleasure in seeing Munster get beaten.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 09/12/2008 16:45:51    160317

I agree. If they had a more long-term, for-the-good-of-Irish-rugby ethos rather than trying to get Munster to the promised land or whatever, the likes of Earls, Ryan, Ronan, Healy and others would have 2-3 years Magners league experience with Connaught by now. The status at the monent seems to be to ensure that Munster and Leinster (and to a lesser extent Ulster) have 3 men to cover each position and Connaught can have the rest. Any players who stand out for Connaught can then take their place on the bench for Munster or Leinster

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12485 - 09/12/2008 16:49:49    160320

WOAH!!!! THAT'S ENGLISH FOR STOP A HORSE!!!!!

3inarow I never said any of that!!! Read back over my posts :) T'was another person, not me!!!

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 09/12/2008 18:23:46    160425

TheRevolution

WOAH!!!! THAT'S ENGLISH FOR STOP A HORSE!!!!!

3inarow I never said any of that!!! Read back over my posts :) T'was another person, not me!!!

Damn! Another stupid mistake by me. Yet again!

I'm sorry TheRevolution, I was getting you mixed up with Caff01, my apologies!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 10/12/2008 10:43:03    160862

re: Breffni39

In the last few years how many players have Munster taken from Connaught (i'm not sure and would like to know)... all provinces have their own developement squads now and most if not all players in the last few years have came threw from underage. No doubt there are players gone from munster to leinster think keith mattews was one he played for u.l bohs as far as i can remember and might have been in the munster frame in a the developement squad too. It's a professional game success breeds success i don't think the irfu can afford to pump the money needed to develope connaught to a top level. If it was an amature game maybe they could. Teams need to stand on their on two feet in a professional game

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2008 11:27:24    160893

from munster to leinster

that should have read munster to Connaught

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 10/12/2008 11:59:45    160930

No harm done :)

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 10/12/2008 13:59:29    161055

did yis hear peter canavan was in mayo of all places giving a lecture on gaelic football,,,,,,, thought they wer only into basketball and boxing and motor cars..................

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 10/12/2008 15:43:05    161165

Arite lads and ladies especially... Im fairly sure advice on women would be a first on HS...but I need help badly and where else would I find a bunch of such well-reared, wise and intuitive people in one place. What do you do when youve started going with a girl who constantly rings you wantin to go out or meet up etc etc and backs out at the last minute 75% of the time due to ''college, work, pressure blah blah blah...'' Before any wise cracks about ''Takin a hint'' appear, bear in mind that its always her asking me to go out or meet up.. What do I do???

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 10/12/2008 16:07:33    161190

Spudenator, get rid of her quick!

I met a girl like that not so long ago up here in the big shmoke and we kept on arranging the third date but for her to back out with about an hour's notice! I asked her what the craic was and she went bananas! Absolute psycho!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 10/12/2008 16:45:12    161227

spudenator

if she asks again then rings to say she cant make it, tell her you had a good night planned and could she send a good looking friend instead cause you dont want to lose your deposit money for a hotel room.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 10/12/2008 17:00:28    161243

TAKE A HINT!!!

Haha only messing. I'd say shes just a nervous one or she has one of those 'annoying best friend' types sitting in her ear.

You need to get her alone one of the nights she does go out and settle her nerves with a good...ah hem...i think you know where i'm going with this!!

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 10/12/2008 17:03:06    161245