The Non GAA Thread

Anyone watching the munster game today?I thought O'Leary's passes were too slow for the on coming backs which had consequences for forward passes and players running out of space.Should Stringer be given another decent chance?He worked unbelievably well with O Gara and the rest of the backs.Any opinions?

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 07/12/2008 20:45:56    158957

Conor, in a word, NO! Stringer is brutal and has been for 4 years now, altho he was magic against the AB's but hasnt played well for Ireland or Munster in years. No hope in hell he would or should come back. No chance. Twas a good result getting the Bonus Point and but for ROG's complete inability to tackle Munster would have won it. Its common for back row forwards to target the oppostion out half and run at him, and it would be hard to blame ROG if say George Smith, Richie McCaw or Shalk Berger ran thru him, but Brock James......
Thats just poor

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/12/2008 10:30:16    159072

I'd agree with liam about stringer but wouldn't be as harsh granted his form has dipped in the last year or 2 and honestly i don't think he has a fullgame game after game in the tank anymore (AB game he did with pure heart) But i think O'Leary should still be number 1 he adds a bit more with his running game but think he dose need to quicken up his ball a bit. Topoki is a big loss at the break down and pity quiny dosen't have a full game in him and leamy a loss too, Niall Ronan is getting there but still a bit to learn... over all happy with the bonus point is the greater scheme of things.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 08/12/2008 11:13:05    159112

If there ia any justice the gunners deserve to win something this year because of their exciting brand of football. They are the beat to watch. Liverpool are so bloody boring and one dimensional they should be banned as a club .

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 08/12/2008 12:09:17    159159

Any of u golfers out there take a look at this www.concrawood.ie. New course in Castleblayney, played it several times. Excellent spot, stunning scenery....

FagAnBealach (Monaghan) - Posts: 98 - 08/12/2008 13:58:49    159278

I tell ya one thing, and my missus from Tipperary would leave me if she saw I put something like this up, but does anyone else think that Munster are the biggest shower of ego maniacs around? I would not cross the road to watch them, and I'm delighted they got beat yesterday. For me, this all stems back to the RWC 07, when the Irish Team were a shambles, and if I'm honest, this bore down to alot of Munster contingent. They wont lift a leg for Ireland, yet when Munster play in the Heinekin Cup, they are a different animal. True what Ronan O'Gara said, in that some would want to buy a bit more into the Ireland Shirt. Paul O'Connel and Donnacha O'Connell......nah, for me, not up to it. O'Connell for the past 2 years has been beliving his own press, and O'Callachan should stick to promoting Mire Showers. A disgrace to Irish Rugby, regardless if they have won 2 euro cups!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 08/12/2008 15:41:51    159382

ya caff, that Donnacha O'Connell is brutal, still he is a better option at 9 than that Paul O'Callaghan...he is a joke!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 08/12/2008 15:56:50    159404

how long do yis reckon its going to be until they do something about this thread? I mean its hit 70 pages now, surely they have a limit or something. brilliant though isnt it?! Might force them to adopt an appropriate message board system. This idea of posting a message and checking an hour or so later and its still not up is crazy, then it might not get posted, gets heavily edited or by the time it goes up we all forget what we were arguing about in the first place.... ;)

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 08/12/2008 15:57:03    159406

re: Caff01

Ahhh right so it's all munsters fault ireland have been poor what about the leinster, ulster contingent they havn't really stepped up to the plate either.

I'll have to get onto the T.I.A (Tipperary Intellegence Agency, best technology as well new C.B radio purchased last week) were not as thick as we look we'll track you down and inform the missus if she fails to leave ya we'll have to excummunicate her...

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 08/12/2008 16:20:10    159438

Caff01

I tell ya one thing, and my missus from Tipperary would leave me if she saw I put something like this up, but does anyone else think that Munster are the biggest shower of ego maniacs around? I would not cross the road to watch them, and I'm delighted they got beat yesterday. For me, this all stems back to the RWC 07, when the Irish Team were a shambles, and if I'm honest, this bore down to alot of Munster contingent. They wont lift a leg for Ireland, yet when Munster play in the Heinekin Cup, they are a different animal. True what Ronan O'Gara said, in that some would want to buy a bit more into the Ireland Shirt. Paul O'Connel and Donnacha O'Connell......nah, for me, not up to it. O'Connell for the past 2 years has been beliving his own press, and O'Callachan should stick to promoting Mire Showers. A disgrace to Irish Rugby, regardless if they have won 2 euro cups!

Or maybe you should question why Connacht have no players in the Irish squad? Munster's season was long enough, the likes of John Hayes at 35 having to play every game and taking a battering all the time, and then you question their commitment to the jersey?! I think Ireland's failings at the RWC could be partly because of the coach also. Now tell me what province he's from?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 08/12/2008 16:24:50    159444

Yeah Caff - Munster rugby indeed. Not real sportsmen at all. Gimme Lance Armstrong anyday .... yawn.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 08/12/2008 16:42:06    159471

Ahh Vidic... You Legend...

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 08/12/2008 17:17:43    159508

3inarow. Connacht don' have the players because we get the MINIMUM funding from the IRFU. It's only around 5 year ago the IRFU tried to disband us. Munster with a new stadium under their arse, Leinster with one on the way and Ulster with a decent one. We're still on a dog track on top of a hill.

TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 08/12/2008 18:34:10    159579

3inarow08

I think Ireland's failings at the RWC could be partly because of the coach also. Now tell me what province he's from?

Eh, eddie 'O is from Cork boy....! Thanks for picking up on that actually....goes with my point!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 08/12/2008 18:59:07    159590

FAO Samin10:

Was the money down today?

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 08/12/2008 19:14:56    159600

3inarow08

Or maybe you should question why Connacht have no players in the Irish squad?

Not that i'm a big Rugby Fan anyway, and I don't profess to be sour cause Connacht are the poor relations of the IRFU, I think that if you checked, you'll find that the following current Ireland players have all represented Connacht: -

Jerry Flannery, who was actually born in Galway;
Tony Buckely
Bernard Jackman;
Gavin Duffy;
Johnny O'Conner;
Eoin Redden, who munster could not get rid of quick enough by the way before he went to be a regular for Wasps;

....and obviously not forgetting our favourite sons of the past, Simon Geoghegan, Eric Elwood, Ciaran Fitzgerald, Michael Bradley, Victor Costello

As I said, i'm not saying we set the world alight, but don't be so quick to run them down in the future fien!!!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 08/12/2008 19:18:58    159603

Caff01

Eh, eddie 'O is from Cork boy....! Thanks for picking up on that actually....goes with my point!

OK, I stand corrected. I made a stupid mistake on where he was born. But it doesn't go with your point. Your point is Munster players give their all for Munster and not half the commitment for Ireland. How can that be directed at Eddie O' Sullivan?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 09/12/2008 09:12:23    159833

Caff01

Not that i'm a big Rugby Fan anyway, and I don't profess to be sour cause Connacht are the poor relations of the IRFU, I think that if you checked, you'll find that the following current Ireland players have all represented Connacht: -

Jerry Flannery, who was actually born in Galway;
Tony Buckely
Bernard Jackman;
Gavin Duffy;
Johnny O'Conner;
Eoin Redden, who munster could not get rid of quick enough by the way before he went to be a regular for Wasps;

....and obviously not forgetting our favourite sons of the past, Simon Geoghegan, Eric Elwood, Ciaran Fitzgerald, Michael Bradley, Victor Costello

As I said, i'm not saying we set the world alight, but don't be so quick to run them down in the future fien!!!

I'm not running them down. I'm not running anyone down. I'm not the one that came on here and had a go at Munster and the Irish players' commitment. I think it's a bit rich for someone to have a go at other people's teams when maybe they should look in the mirror and address their own issues first. Perhaps you should go onto a Connaught rugby forum and pose the question "What can Connaught do to make themselves a better team and thereby help Ireland?" instead of saying "God is anyone fed up with watching Munster play well and then seeing the same lads not play well for Ireland? I was glad they lost on Sunday". What a stinking attitude.

Not arguing about which Connaught players HAVE represented Ireland, I just put a point to you asking how many Connaught players ARE representing Ireland. Stop bringing up points and facts that have nothing to do with the argument in question.

As for Eoin Reddan - the man wanted regular game time. He knew and Munster knew that he wasn't guaranteed that with Stringer and O' Leary also in the squad. So he left. And now O' Leary is Munster number 1. Again, you're trying to have a go at Munster, this time for leaving a good player go. Grow up.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 09/12/2008 09:23:12    159842

got a decent dig at it. Apologies forgot to let jayo know.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 09/12/2008 09:24:32    159844

TheRevolution

3inarow. Connacht don' have the players because we get the MINIMUM funding from the IRFU. It's only around 5 year ago the IRFU tried to disband us. Munster with a new stadium under their arse, Leinster with one on the way and Ulster with a decent one. We're still on a dog track on top of a hill.

The Revolution. Munster have traditionally been a better team than Connaught. Therefore Munster get "MAXIMUM" funding. The reason Connaught get "MINIMUM" funding from the IRFU is mainly because ye have not been as successful. Ye have not been as successful because Connaught traditionally has not been a rugby province, Munster has been.

In a just world everyone would get the same funding, or the weaker provinces/teams would get more funding to become better, but that's never going to happen. Can you see the Premier League giving maximum TV money to a bottom half team like Everton or to a Champion League chasing, top of the table team like Liverpool?

The stadium issue has to do with the basics of economics. Supply and Demand. There's a demand for a 25,000 capacity stadium in Limerick. There is not a demand for a 25,000 capacity stadium in Galway. Hence why would the IRFU or government give money to Connaught to build a new stadium when it wouldn't be used?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 09/12/2008 09:50:58    159866