The Non GAA Thread

By the way lads - I caught an item on the end of the news tonight where a ruling by the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland (there goes the chance of this posted seeing daylight!) says that a certain Catholic publishing house cannot advertise their wares for Xmas - cribs, calendars etc! Its ok to swear, advertise violent games, DVDs etc all the same! Now I ain't the biggest religious man in the world but this country has lost it big time. Political correctness my ****!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 05/12/2008 00:19:23    157465

And lads keano is more irish than that other chap . KEANO IS A LEGEND .

in all fairness now dell boy, mick is as much of an irish man as you , after all ye are from the same country more or less, [ not that there is any harm in that,]

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/12/2008 09:46:45    157561

Yes millhouse, the 6 counties is the same as England ye tit

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 05/12/2008 10:16:11    157603

SAM, i did say more or less you must know what i mean after all ye do use the same currency.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/12/2008 10:34:55    157629

How can we get millhouse of this thing...? Any of yee lads into the Cycling. and the news that Lance Armstrong might be partaking in next years' Tour de Ireland? I for one, think he is a true true Legend, up there with with the likes of Schumacher, Federer, T Woods, S Hendry...in that they were/are untouchable in their day at their sport. Forget all the doping ***** being writin...never tested positive...ever. Vendeta against him. Cant wait for the Tour de France next year!!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 05/12/2008 10:35:34    157630

Keane was a good player, not a good footballer. He could run and kick people and the like, but not exactly creative. Personally I would sooner have Andy Reid.

Now that's funny!

u22ok (None) - Posts: 45 - 05/12/2008 10:35:35    157631

millhouse

157629 SAM, i did say more or less you must know what i mean after all ye do use the same currency.

Yes, you're more or less French then?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 05/12/2008 11:03:00    157654

ok sam we will leave it at that, after all it is a gaa board not politics.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/12/2008 11:25:19    157672

Always admired Keane as a player I have to say but as a manager I'm beginning to see a glimpse of ''Kevin Keegan syndrome'' developing. IE if things don't go his way he just ups and leaves. Must be great to have the money to just quit a job !!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 05/12/2008 11:37:44    157690

Liam, Keane the greatest player of all time !! ha ha When i think that deserters used to be shot !! What a disgrace he was to his country during that world cup, his antics were on every t.v. station in the world and the irony of it is that he then went and worked under one of the very men he strongly criticised, Quinn. Oh the strength of the pound. !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 05/12/2008 11:55:40    157722

JayoCluxton

157465 By the way lads - I caught an item on the end of the news tonight where a ruling by the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland (there goes the chance of this posted seeing daylight!) says that a certain Catholic publishing house cannot advertise their
wares for Xmas - cribs, calendars etc! Its ok to swear, advertise violent games, DVDs etc all the same! Now I ain't the biggest religious man in the world but this country has lost it big time. Political correctness my ****!

Yeah I saw that myself. Apparantly its illegal to mention christmas in an ad now!!!!
Bloody madness.

Im an atheist who hates the church yet even i can see the stupidity of this rule. Next we'll be like the yanks goin around wishing people 'happy holidays'.

Whatever happened to freedom of expression! I didnt know we lived in communist china.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 05/12/2008 12:03:04    157731

dont mind liam , he loves everybody, munster, limerick, dubs, tyrone, did you ever hear the saying too sweet to be wholesome, ballboy is your only man.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/12/2008 12:03:09    157732

Trust me my royal friend, I dont love everyone! I have many sport teams i cannot abide. Glasgow Rangers, Liverpool FC, Meath, Fr Casey's Abbeyfeale, Leeds United, Laois (nothing personal lads! Easy there now horse!) People who dont like ovaltine...its just so full of goodness.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/12/2008 12:14:24    157751

Caff01

157630 How can we get millhouse of this thing...?

Any of yee lads into the Cycling. and the news that Lance Armstrong might be partaking in next years' Tour de Ireland? I for one, think he is a true true Legend,.... Forget all the doping ***** being writin...never tested positive...ever. Vendeta against him. Cant wait for the Tour de France next year!!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Caff, open your eyes man. After beating aggressive cancer, he wins 7 tours in a sport that is, and has been for decades, totally corrupted with drugs. A sport where virtually every other top performer he beat has been tainted with drugs (Hamilton, Landis, Ulrich, Basso, Contador, Vinoukrov, Virenque, Pantani). Armstrong himself has also been tainted.

One of Armstrong's main mentors during his time at the top was a dubious italian doctor who has been convicted of providing drugs to cyclists - why would you associate yourself with someone like that if you were clean? Would they not make you sick to the stomach for ruining your sport and your chances of being successful? Nobody wonders anymore why Michelle Smith and Marion Jones ended up marrying drugs cheats.

As for a vendetta, are you seriously saying that the organisers of a race, which desperately needs good publicity, would have a vendetta out against its biggest star, if that star was clean? Even if they didnt like him personally, surely they would hold him up as an example of the right way forward, if nothing else but to boost falling sponsorship deals for the race.

Lance Armstrong is not a legend. In a brutally tough sport all the evidence points to him choosing the easy path. He is a disgrace to competitive sport.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 05/12/2008 13:04:05    157806

Its surprising so many people have been suckered in by the man united/sky sports hype. Keane a better player than McGrath???? you must be having a laugh. McGrath was a far better player in every aspect. Watch back euro 88 italy 90, usa 94 he was unbelievable.
People have mentioned Keane v Juventus as the most inspirational performance, not a patch on this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQqVsD_eK-4

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 05/12/2008 13:27:50    157834

Thomas Clarke - you are the disgrace. The final paragraph of your post shows you to be the fool you are -

"Lance Armstrong is not a legend. In a brutally tough sport all the evidence points to him choosing the easy path"

Yeah all the evidence except the daily drug tests which he was subjected to and never failed

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 05/12/2008 14:14:25    157894

"A sport where virtually every other top performer he beat has been tainted with drugs (Hamilton, Landis, Ulrich, Basso, Contador, Vinoukrov, Virenque, Pantani). Armstrong himself has also been tainted"

My dear clarkie, you have named all of the above disgraced cyclists who have been tested, caught and pleaded guilty to doping. Lance A since 1999 has been the most drug tested man on the planet...FACT! And what have they come up with...NOTHING...FACT! If you can show me one bit of evidence to say otherwise, then you are in the wrong profession. True, the sport is in dire straits drug wise, hense why the doping authorities have the stringent testing in place. All of the above thought they could slip thru' the net...but they failed.

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 05/12/2008 14:21:57    157903

By the way Clarkie, Alberto Contador has never tested positive for drugs! Think you need to get the auld facts straight before printing. All the rest...yes, but not Contador. Again, if you can prove it, then as I said, you are in the wrong profession. Trinity College I hear are looking for Lab techs to help out. You should put your name forward.

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 05/12/2008 14:25:39    157908

Thomas You're an ***, the man it a legend. He has never tested positive for anything, i hope you were not one of the ones who was defending O'Mahony who has tested positive?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 05/12/2008 14:28:10    157913

Cycling is easily the hardest sport anywhere in the world.

I would have sympathy for any cyclist who tests positive because I know all of them are at it. Therefore, you are just unlucky if you happen to be one of the ones who gets caught.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 05/12/2008 14:50:56    157950