The Non GAA Thread

irish by birth cork by the grace of god, this man had no pride for ireland a typical rebel just like stephen ireland,, he was just mad that he was not born in italy germany france or some soccerpower like that, i wont say brazil because they would not touch a player like him [they are pure footballers,] at the end of the day this man thought he was too good for us, but actually we played better without him in the 2002 world cup, brady giles whelan and irwin these were real great irish players, i would rate keane along the same lines as david batty and vinny jones, appealed to people who did not know much about soccer, just like caff from mayo, in all honesty what do mayo people know about soccer , mayo are a one trick pony thay only play football and are still waiting since 1951,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 04/12/2008 17:24:02    157086

Cavan man keano was right what he said about mick . Where o joke of a country training on car parks with no balls ,water, bibs, FIA are a joke .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/12/2008 17:32:45    157106

Roy Keane is a painfully shy man who lacks social skills so he was always going to struggle as a manager. His answer to problems is to run away from them, hence the World Cup in 2002 and now this.

As a player he was good at what that type of player does, but I like skilful players as distinct from runners. I am sure there are thousands of Ethiopians who are better runners than Roy.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/12/2008 17:36:53    157111

DBPC, then why did he not wait untill he got back to complain? Country first is the rule !! Mc Carthy is probably laughing his head off now as he is a successful manager. Did he not have Ireland at number 10 in the world in his time, their highest ever ranking and are his present team not up near the top of the league now ??

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/12/2008 17:44:28    157121

There are obviously (and understandably) a lot of guys on here who know nothing about 'soccer'. How can you question Keane's management? Sunderland were 23rd in their division when he took over and he brought them up to the Premiership as Champions 8 months later and kept them there. Even today a couple of wins could see Sunderland in the top half of the table - so lets get rid of 'the guy can't manage' myth.

The thing that has surprised me is his admitted lack of self-belief. As a player there was nothing he feared least of all his ability to get the job done. A lot of his recent interviews have been on the subject of himself questioning whether he's up to the job. There are (poor) managers out there who would tell you everything is under control as the Titanic sank - they never show any lack of belief - whether they really believe it or not only they know. Not Keane. The day he first questioned his own ability was the day everything changed. How did this make his players & board feel? Today was inevitable and its hard to see him move on in management if his own self confidence is so fragile. Most unKeanelike!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 04/12/2008 17:48:22    157125

Roy Keane is a painfully shy man who lacks social skills so he was always going to struggle as a manager. His answer to problems is to run away from them, hence the World Cup in 2002 and now this.

As a player he was good at what that type of player does, but I like skilful players as distinct from runners. I am sure there are thousands of Ethiopians who are better runners than Roy

spot on there patrique.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 04/12/2008 17:49:19    157127

Jayo, did i not read today that he spent 80 million on very average players. Well is this not a management statement ? If some teams spent that much they would expect to win the whole thing out !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/12/2008 18:08:56    157161

Caff01 County: Mayo Posts: 39 And, I aint from Cork or A Utd fan to note his brilliance, as most true football people will tell you anyways. You probably think that t*at Ronaldo is world class, thats the sort of muck you'd come up with. He didnt cut it as a manger...big deal....nobody died, but for you to stain his name as a player.....get a life! Caff01 are you Dunphy in disguise? How can you say Ronaldo is not world class, despite the fact he has been voted the best in the world by his peers, scored 42 goals for utd last season (and his a winger) and won the League end europe last season????

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 04/12/2008 18:22:05    157168

DELLBOYPOLECAT

Cavan man keano was right what he said about mick . Where o joke of a country training on car parks with no balls ,water, bibs, FIA are a joke .

He may have been right about the FIA but he was wrong about McCarthy. McCarthy was an employee, he was not the FIA. Roy does not like confrontration, said some unforgivable things about McCarthy, and walked away, just as he has done now.

McCarthy has an excellent managerial record, and the Irish diaspora do not deserve to be treated the way he was by Keane, who actually has English children.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/12/2008 18:49:06    157187

Cavan mc carthy is a flop how is he stuck in that division . Roy keane took sunderland from the bottom that division to the priemiership . Mick will go straight back down .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/12/2008 18:53:09    157191

JayoCluxton

"How can you question Keane's management? Sunderland were 23rd in their division when he took over and he brought them up to the Premiership as Champions 8 months later and kept them there. Even today a couple of wins could see Sunderland in the top half of the table - so lets get rid of 'the guy can't manage' myth."

********************************************************************************************************

Well said. He did a remarkable job in his first year and did well last year. Yes he made mistakes but so does every manager. I'm disappointed to see him walk out as a few good results and they would be back up the table again. Not sure whether he will manage again but he was a fantastic player so he deserves a lot of respect despite whatever else he did in his past.

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 04/12/2008 18:58:03    157194

jesus the ignornamuses are coming out of the woodwork now. Saying Roy Keane had no pride in the Irish jersey. Ye as fickle as ****. All throughout his Irish career he wanted nothing but the best for Ireland. He tried his heart out against every team be they Liechenstein or Brazil. 92 or 93 we played Spain away in World Cup qualifier and best man on the pitch led us to a deserved draw when those days we could take on the best away from home. Best Irsih player in World Cup in Usa(yes i know Mcgrath palyed out of hi skin too) in 94. Who can forget his displays to get us to Japan. 1 mans how when we drew 1-1 with Portugal at home. And prob his most famous display that day against the Dutch. Turned sour in Japan but no one can say he never had pride in the irish jersey. Seemed that he was geeting abit too worked up after recent results with Sunderand.If they on 2/3 games on the trot the whole scenario would be so much different. If Niall Quinn thought he was a failure he wouldn't have tried so hard to keep him

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/12/2008 19:21:42    157220

Roy Keane is a greater Irish Man who did nore for this county than any one of ye idiots on here. Go way and lick McCarthys yorkshire backside ye bunch of infidels! Keano is THE greatest Irish sportsman of ALL time. Keano!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/12/2008 19:21:58    157222

A few of us are heading to Belfast for the weekend, anyone any suggestions on where to go?

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 04/12/2008 19:26:15    157226

LIAM HERE HERE Ill second that .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/12/2008 19:31:12    157237

Delboy, we on the same side! Well holy God! :) KEANO!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/12/2008 19:42:47    157250

Millhouse, are you for real or what? What are you bringing 1951 into it for you soppy git? If thats the road you want to go down, then be prepared to finish it. Obviously, your feathers have been ruffled as your getting personal now. Listen lad, have a look at every other post on this - Jayo, Liamwalk, Kerry lads etc etc.....real sports and football men/women who know what there talking about. And low and behold, you bring Siapan into it. We were shocking at 2002 world cup? We could have got to a final if we had him there! The best thing you can do now is, go back into that caravan of yours, and after you read this, turn off the stolen laptop so as you can save power to make toast in the morning...theres a good lad!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 04/12/2008 19:56:57    157262

Cavan_Slasher
Jayo, did i not read today that he spent 80 million on very average players.... If some teams spent that much they would expect to win the whole thing out !!

Slasher my friend - the top clubs would not get three players for that kind of money - thats how mad its all become. Its also hard to attract the top quality players to the NE of England - even Newcastle have had trouble with this. I read it was only (!!!!) 70 million but I agree Roy did buy a few ropes alright. And unfortunately a lot of them were bought with green tinted specs on!

ps Sad to see some people knocking Mick McCarthy. Seems you either like Keane and hate McCarthy or vice versa. I have great time for both men. Leaving Saipan aside, they have both done great things for this country. McCarthy is also doing a very good job at Wolves and never gave anything less than 100% to the Irish cause whatever his role. Lay off lads.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 04/12/2008 21:04:02    157311

LIAM Yes this time where on the same side . You sound shocked . And lads keano is more irish than that other chap . KEANO IS A LEGEND .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/12/2008 22:30:37    157378

Just a few things. In the current Man United team Tevez and Berbatov are forwards who have hacked it at international level. Ronaldo has not. Just as Henry couldn't. The two of them could score loads of goals in a poor league with the worst defenders in Europe. I remember Brian McClair scoring 45 for Celtic and no-one was claiming he was the best in the world.

Player of the year trophies are about selling merchandise. Tevez and such are too ugly to sell much.

Keane was a good player, not a good footballer. He could run and kick people and the like, but not exactly creative. Personally I would sooner have Andy Reid.

Paul McGrath was immortal, especially as there have only been about 4 world class defenders from GB and the Republic in the last 50 years. (Moore, Hansen, Lawrenson)

Brady was a world class player, great touch.

The problem is as the game is all about sales, the media tell us all sorts of eejits (Rio, Terry, Gerard, Lampard) are world class.

If you study soccer rehost nation. So it would appear that ALL the world classplayers play for Brazil, Argentina, Germany and my beloved Italy. Just like the GAA you will find pearls in other so called "weaker" teams, the same with soccer.

Ronaldo is a good player, but I don't think he would hack it in Spain or Italy.

Now Robinho....he is the real thing.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/12/2008 00:01:43    157455