The Non GAA Thread

WeTheRevolution
'll keep kicking on. We'll be there come May, I'm confident of that
We? Liverpool? Cannot find it on the Mayo map?

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 04/12/2008 10:26:29    156612

Loyal

Roy Keane gone, what you think of that?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/12/2008 11:51:57    156693

HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

156605 re: patrique

Sorry bout that I read into the post as a stab at munster, being a bit defensive as there a lot of that going on lately...

Granted i see your point about ulster, is rugby still seen as more of a protestant sport in ulster hence the catholic colleges not getting involved in this day and age that's gotta stop. if so is ulster rugby doing anything to change this.

Like what, saying the rosary at half time???

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 04/12/2008 12:06:00    156719

samin10
County: Armagh

156693 Loyal

Roy Keane gone, what you think of that?

what will all the "lifelong" sunderland supporters do with their jerseys now

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 04/12/2008 12:20:22    156743

Dont know horse, i had O'Donovan on the back of mine so it has been put away since he went out on loan, so i got a new one with Reid on the back and he cant get a game. might go back to supporting utd

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/12/2008 12:36:16    156771

looks like its official this time lads. Keane is gone. Wasn't cut out for managment in fairness.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/12/2008 12:37:14    156773

how on earth did that lad ever become a manager is beyond me, only people who ever rated him, are man utd and cork supporters, never was anywhere near a world class player in my opinion, for me to be a world class player you have to be creative at the very least, keane had a good engine but nothing else , a bit like shane ryan although ryan is a more likeable character,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 04/12/2008 12:44:57    156782

samin10
County: Armagh

156771 Dont know horse, i had O'Donovan on the back of mine so it has been put away since he went out on loan, so i got a new one with Reid on the back and he cant get a game. might go back to supporting utd

Just pick one at random, head to the pub to a game on sky, and refer to whatever team it is as US and your away with it,. I remember a few years back there waere at least 1000 blacburn, lifelong of course, supporters in portlaoise.

Try Hurley on the jersey, a legend.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 04/12/2008 12:57:07    156797

Best of luck to Roy. Did not do too bad. Brought them from the bottom of the table to win promotion.Stayed up which previous manager could not do. Things were going badly for the past few weeks but fair play to him he did the right thing. Would be still playing only for the back injury. He was carrying too many teams in his day.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 04/12/2008 13:41:24    156817

"how on earth did that lad ever become a manager is beyond me, only people who ever rated him, are man utd and cork supporters, never was anywhere near a world class player in my opinion, for me to be a world class player you have to be creative at the very least, keane had a good engine but nothing else , a bit like shane ryan although ryan is a more likeable character"

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 04/12/2008 13:42:25    156818

Think he did a good job getting them into premier league and keeping them there. Fair enough he spent alot of money in doing so and some of his signings did not work out but i think he should have stayed on. I think he should have allowed himself more time, there is not a chance Sunderland would have went down, there is only someting like 4 points between where they are and the top half. Unfortunately for Keane he is his own biggest critic, i think he was expecting too much too soon. He got them up and kept them up and they are still well capable of finishing in the top half but what mid table team does not get a horrible run of 4 or 5 losses from time to time.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/12/2008 14:07:55    156843

millhouse

156782 how on earth did that lad ever become a manager is beyond me, only people who ever rated him, are man utd and cork supporters, never was anywhere near a world class player in my opinion, for me to be a world class player you have to be creative at the very least, keane had a good engine but nothing else , a bit like shane ryan although ryan is a more likeableCaff01

156818 "how on earth did that lad ever become a manager is beyond me, only people who ever rated him, are man utd and cork supporters, never was anywhere near a world class player in my opinion, for me to be a world class player you have to be creative at the very least, keane had a good engine but nothing else , a bit like shane ryan although ryan is a more likeable character" character,

Now that was a bad slip up. Mayo and Meath Same person!

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 04/12/2008 14:41:34    156874

My apoligies dear old real kerry fan. My fingers clicked on the return before I could make quote to the ignoramous that is Milhouse, so I shall do it now.

Milhouse, you have not got a clue about football lad....not a scooby do. How can you say he was not a truely world calss player when, if you ask any of the top top players in the world, if they had the pick of any guy to be at the heart of the team, Keano would be first choice...FACT!!! You are either brain dead, or just a disgruntled Liverpoll fan, cause, honestly, your opionions are not worth a ****. And, I aint from Cork or A Utd fan to note his brilliance, as most true football people will tell you anyways. You probably think that t*at Ronaldo is world class, thats the sort of muck you'd come up with. He didnt cut it as a manger...big deal....nobody died, but for you to stain his name as a player.....get a life!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 04/12/2008 15:23:43    156914

Roy Keane was a brilliant player, up there with the very best. Anyone who even tries to say different is not worth discussing football with because they clearly do not have a notion

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 04/12/2008 15:33:09    156935

Keane was one of the best players ever to grace a soccer pitch

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 04/12/2008 16:20:52    156986

Keane was an excelent player but I would rate him behind McGrath, Brady and Whelan as a player.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 04/12/2008 16:42:27    157011

millhouse
for me to be a world class player you have to be creative at the very least, keane had a good engine but nothing else

Rubbish post but just to pick up on this point. The great creative players of recent times - Le Tissier, Gascoigne, Hoddle - none ever played for the Top 3. (Chelsea were not big in their time playing). None got a sniff of a C'ship medal. Also notice the lack of 'creative' players in the P'ship of today. Cesc Fabregas is superb but will Arsenal win a title with him in the middle. Now look at Ince, Robson, Viera, Keane, Essien - stacks of honours. Somewhere in the middle you have the likes of Gerrard, Lampard and Scholes - creative and hard - and with good levels of success too.

Do you think Hoddle or Gascoigne or Le Tiss could've dragged a team by the bootlaces to win matches - think Juventus as the most obvious but one of many - no they couldn't and didn't. So it would appear that creative players are a luxury you can't afford if you want to win a League title. Don't get me wrong I am a huge fan of the creative player but as well as being a dying breed they do not seem to win titles and this has been the way for many years. I think the points above say it all about the English game and give a few pointers as to why they are so lacking internationally over the years.....

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 04/12/2008 16:43:52    157016

Keano was one of the greatest leaders on the pitch for UTD

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 04/12/2008 16:58:09    157044

To say Keane wasn't a world class player is a truely ridiculous statement. Like him or not, he was an incredibly influential player, the driving force behind Man Utd in their most successful period ever. Along with Zidane, he was one of the greatest midfielders of his era. He's a born winner and never settles for anything less than first place. This is why he left Sunderland, he couldn't handle this bad run of form they're in as he's not used to it himself. I read an article where someone was wondering would he do better at a bigger club, because as he used to play for a club as ambitious and successful as Man Utd, it's somewhat natural that the players he is now managing at a lesser club won't be as ambitious, hungry, and of course talented, as what he used to work with. It sometimes seems to be a problem with big names players managing small clubs. I've no doubt he would have steered Sunderland to safety quite comfortably but he wasn't enjoying the experience anymore, and felt he wasn't doing good enough, and Keane isn't a man to prolong the agony.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 04/12/2008 17:05:20    157059

Not into soccer at all but did this lad not desert his country and call his manager a "**** manager". What goes round comes round !! Whose the **** manager now ?? Roy could'nt cut the mustard and disappeared again !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/12/2008 17:15:58    157080