The Non GAA Thread

liamwalkinstown,,, chicken and green peppers in black bean sauce WITH onions

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 24/11/2008 11:20:28    148242

In my opinion Stephen Ireland is a great player who is on top form in the Premier League and it would be great to see him play for Ireland again. But where would he fit into Trapatoni's system of two holding midfielders? Would he change it around to suit Stephen Ireland or would he play him on the wing?

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 2019 - 24/11/2008 12:41:29    148331

Derry city where robbed but same old story refs look after the southern teams.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/11/2008 17:25:31    148690

Well guys, who is gonna win the X-factor????

SupersizeMe (Wicklow) - Posts: 173 - 24/11/2008 18:01:40    148743

So lads where has been the best place ye have ever been to and why?

Mine has to be backpacking around South East Asia.
The craic was 90,food was excellent, mingling with different nationalities.
Scenery and historical sites was breath taking fom Vietnam to cambodia.
Floating down the river in a tube(like a big rubber tyre) in Laos with a bottle of beer in one hand and trying to paddle with the other!
Full moon party off thailand, never seen a beach go so mental
Not to mention the lovely cailiní in all these places!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/11/2008 13:33:56    149356

woops

was at fullmoon party last november. Absolutely crazy, to be honest enjoyed the warm up party more, could hardly move on the beach the night of the full moon party. Bangkok was crazy also.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 25/11/2008 13:58:31    149389

Santa Ponza.
Never drank so much beer in a week. My mate was sick for a week after we came back.

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 25/11/2008 14:18:33    149414

Well Woops apart from the lovely parish of Firies I'd have to say Croatia.

Lovely country - absolutely stunning scenery. Mountains, lakes, coastline - all unbelievable.
Very cheap too. Bottle of beer - 1 euro. Dinner in a restaurant - 10 to 15 euro for 2 courses. Apartment for a night - 20 euro. Taxi - a third the price of Dublin.
Women - stunners (they put the girls of Firies to shame). Great nightlife. Everyone's up for the craic.
Weather - blue skies and 30 degrees. Water is crystal clear, although it's a bit cold and fairly salty (blame the whales).
People - very friendly, love the Irish. Croatia, along with Poland, has something like the highest proportion of Catholicism in Europe, and they know all about the Irish and our history with England. The people treated us like we were relations.

To anyone that hasn't been there - do go.

This post was brought to you on behalf of the Croatian Tourism Board! :)

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 25/11/2008 14:19:35    149418

Woops , I wonder is your username ''woops'' beacause of a misunderstanding in Thailand with one of the 'cailini!' -)

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 25/11/2008 14:34:44    149429

TRAPS Does not care about ireland one more big pay day for him revoulation andy reid should be on that team full stop.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/11/2008 14:35:16    149431

ya sammin we were there for a 5 days before the party. was might craic. but the nite itself there was some buzz around,swear it was the al lireland final or something!!

dubupnorth it actually not too hard to spot the ladies carrying a weapon! a hint is to see f they have an adams apple. then look at their hands! then prob "check" before u do anything untoward!

I think you sold me Croatia there 3inarow might tick it off on my summer hols next year!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/11/2008 15:03:08    149471

Woops are you sure you wouldn't prefer Firies?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 25/11/2008 15:15:39    149489

Tanzania for me whoops closely followed by oz.

Climbed Kilimanjaro first non beering hol and one of the best you know when its a good holiday when you don't want to come home.
But you can't even get away from the irish up there spotted a clare jersey on the way up as i was comming down (but at least i beat them up there), met a few tipp people in the pub after it and to top it off the day i was leaving spotted one of the Tanzanian porters wearing a Limerick jersey had to get a photo of that.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/11/2008 15:23:06    149496

3inarow08

Yes I agree.Was there. Great place. Met a Croatian who is a big Meath supporter, believe or not. He spends part of the year in Ireland. One negative about him is that he called the Gooch a pussycat.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2008 15:24:27    149499

3inarow the reason they built an airport in farranfore was people could away from Firies QUICK!!!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/11/2008 15:29:25    149508

Real Kerry Fan

Yes I agree.Was there. Great place. Met a Croatian who is a big Meath supporter, believe or not. He spends part of the year in Ireland. One negative about him is that he called the Gooch a pussycat.

I met a tall enough Croatian lad, late 20's/early 30's on the main street in Dubrovnik with an old Kerry jersey, he had the cúpla focail as well. He was all chat with me, he said that he worked for the Kerryman for a while and lived in Listowel. He also called the Gooch a pussycat! Hmmmm..........

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 25/11/2008 15:32:13    149515

Never been to Thailand but lived in Australia for a few years. Did a bit of travelling round South Korea , Singapore and finally Japan to and from Oz. Absolutely loved Japan. Great people and culture. Used to dabble in martial arts in my younger days so especially enjoyed Japan & Korea. Good tip for the 'ladyboys' woops. Every man's nightmare is a 'crying game' situation!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 25/11/2008 15:32:45    149517

woops

3inarow the reason they built an airport in farranfore was people could away from Firies QUICK!!!

Go away out of that! The reason it was built in lovely Farranfore was because they needed a prime site of good level land! And they knew they'd get plenty of business from all us rich Firies men!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 25/11/2008 15:36:43    149523

Speaking of farranfore, everytime i on a plane,the landing there it as rough as ****. don't know is it inexperienced pilots or what. the plane is like a ball it bounces up and down so much. still can't knock the cheap ryanair flights

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 25/11/2008 15:47:52    149543

3inarow08
met a tall enough Croatian lad, late 20's/early 30's on the main street in Dubrovnik with an old Kerry jersey, he had the cúpla focail as well. He was all chat with me, he said that he worked for the Kerryman for a while and lived in Listowel. He also called the Gooch a pussycat! Hmmmm..........

Same fellow,same place. Except it was in O'Connors Irish bar watching 2007 Leinster Final.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 25/11/2008 15:51:33    149550