The Non GAA Thread

Sure Son of Erin, I retired undefeated from the ring myself.

But I wasn't much cop.

I also have a sack full of Ulster medals, an All Ireland and minor, Junior and Senior club medals at hurling, but again, I wasn't much to write home about.

As I said Eamon Loughran was world champ, and recent British world heavyweight champs have included Johnny Nelson, Herbie Hide, the Nigerian bloke and a few others. Thankfully Joe Bugner was claiming to be Australian when he won his "world title" a few years ago aged about 52.

Let's just say that in my opinion Joe is no John Conteh. Now Conteh lost a few fights, but he fought the best.

And he is certainly not in the same class as "Bomber" Graham who won nothing, but lost to the best.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/11/2008 20:40:12    145401

And as an afterthought, Archie Moore, perhaps the greatest Light heavy of all time, won the title in something like his 175th fight.

That's the difference nowadays. 46 fights? The man is a novice.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/11/2008 20:42:17    145403

Working away from home, I have to rely alot on rte.ie for info and updates all the time on GAA or just news in general. I find the Champions League pre/half-time/post match analysis video's absolutely priceless between Johnny Giles, Eamo and Bill, especially if Utd are playing, and Dunphy slates Ronaldo.......every single time he plays. Rightly so I believe, as he is ****. Compare this to BBC or ITV coverage of the same games, and its like chalk and cheese....Hansen/Lineker/El Tel/Lawro drooling over him. Is it fair to say that RTE can boast the best panel around!!!!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 19/11/2008 21:16:13    145437

Yeah sons of erin, I'd be inclined to go for Hatton meself, apparently he's come on alot since being trained by Floyd Mayweather Sr.

In keeping with all this boxing discussion, I'll ask another question. How do yis think David Haye would do against either of the Klitschko brothers. Personally I think he'd get killed by either. Slight bit of a step up from yer man last week.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 19/11/2008 21:22:04    145444

Dont watch much rugby but saw 2nd half last night.Hoped Munster would win but they tried hard. This evening's Herald made me smile though seeing a picture of 4 New Zealenders wearing red jerseys jumping up and down with tongues out under the heading 'Irelands Pride'.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 19/11/2008 23:27:52    145529

was at the soccer tanight for me sins!! what ye make of the polish shoutin and roaring during our national anthem and the whole stadium quiet for theirs?? In Croke Park?? The Cheek!

Southern Dandy (Wicklow) - Posts: 789 - 20/11/2008 00:02:37    145542

brilliant atmosphere last nite in croker, nothin like roarin til your throats raw wit passion. great result too

fear_an_milsean (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 20/11/2008 10:16:00    145634

Wladimir wouldn't have a hope against David Haye (maybe a punchers chance) he is to lethargic and one dimensional. Every time he has came up against a quick fighter like Byrd, Purity, Sanders and Brewster he has looked poor and the last three i named there all KO'd him and they were all around the 225 lbs mark(light for a heavyweight), and he bored us all with his split decision over Byrd another 220lbs fighter who incidentally beat Vitali but Vitali is another animal altogether, he always looks like he's gonna knock his opponent out, Chris Byrd got a fluke shot in and KO'd him a few years back but since then only Lennox Lewis (Very under-rated) has beaten him and that was on a cut. But for the sake of boxing i hope Haye cleans up the division, don't forget, the last time we seen a Heavyweight with these skills and fighting at this weight 215-220lbs was Tyson, and Holyfield wasn't much bigger either. The thing that excites everyone so much about the heavyweight scene is the unpredictability of it, one punch can turn a champ into a chump. Forget the notion that if Haye gets hit by a heavyweight then its over, that goes the same for anyone, if you get hit flush you are going down, end off. You can't hit what you can't catch and i predict that David Haye will rule the heavyweight division for a long time.

SERVASPORT (Antrim) - Posts: 109 - 20/11/2008 10:58:47    145678

Patrique, not wanting to start an argument or dis a fellow saff, was your statement above tounge in check? and if it wasn't then are you using a bum name on here? 'cause i too know a fair bit about boxing and i ain't never heard of you, and if you are using a bum name then please drop me a clue to who you are.

SERVASPORT (Antrim) - Posts: 109 - 20/11/2008 11:20:25    145698

Haye has got potential to be a good heavyweight, I just don't think he's ready to fight either of the Klitschkos. I'd agree he's got a better chance against Wladimir, but still don't think he'd have a chance of winning yet. Wladimir is more defensive while Vitali is explosive, he has an incredible knockout percentage. I do admire Haye though, he's not playing it safe and is going after the big guns straight away and looking for a big fight every time. Hopefully he will reignite the heavyweight division again, I just don't think he'd beat a Klitschko in his next fight. Credit to the guy for sticking his neck out though.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 20/11/2008 11:40:36    145714

Servasport, I retired undefeated after three fights back in the 1960s. At amateur level you have to fight the others in your weight, their is no choice, so you cannot dodge the good ones and hand pick fights. I was drawn against Andrew Mccormick, and wisely retired.

Undefeated.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/11/2008 20:10:20    146322

shy.ted

144485 probably only manage a small bird this year with the way the credit crunch is hitting home so id say maybe a wood pigeon for me!!!!!!

theres some mighty ones roosting back around gneevguilla, i'll stick a few in the freezer

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 20/11/2008 20:53:51    146348

Robbie Keane gets a lot of flak for not scoring enough goals against the good quality teams.
For me though he must feel like banging his head against the wall every time he puts on the irish jersey.
He not exactly setting his Liverpool career alight but give him time i think.
the fact is against top quality teams ireland has been as creative as an armless painter.(no left foot Christy brown jokes plz)
Going through his irish career he has played under Mick Mccarthy,at the time I thought he used to get a bit too defensive but he like Gerry Francis with his 5 men up front for Spurs in the mid 90s compared to whats followed after him. To be honest I prac hate MM over the 2002 world cup but in fairness we got some decent results under him.
Brian Kerr as soon as we scored became as negative as the temperature in Siberia.
"i'm the gaffer" followed after and was another calamity.creating nothing and hoping not to concede.forgot that method against the Cypriots!
now we have The Trap who must be word negativity biggest fan.
Watching Ireland since Trap came on board is like watching paint dry.

Against Montenegro we didn't create one clear cut chance for our strikers.
Missing the game the last day must have been an ease for Robbie

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 21/11/2008 10:14:11    146708

patrique

146322 Servasport, I retired undefeated after three fights back in the 1960s. At amateur level you have to fight the others in your weight, their is no choice, so you cannot dodge the good ones and hand pick fights. I was drawn against Andrew Mccormick, and wisely retired.

Now i know why Antrim play in yellow, so their back bone is not so noticable.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 21/11/2008 10:32:30    146729

Anyone else feel its about time Ronan O'Gara just SHUT THE **** UP and got back to the rugby. Its not like he is setting the world alight. Warwick has a legitimate call on his shirt at Munster right now. For the last 2 months ROG hasnt been out of the papers giving out about this that and the other, whilst subsequently putting in very average performances in the red and green. Shut your mouth and play rugby. For such a bona fide "Ligind" he is really testing my patience.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/11/2008 11:10:26    146753

Robbie Keane is not a world class striker, but he s prob the best we have at the moment, I agree we had some negative managers over the years but Keane has missed some sitters and thats for Ireland , spurs and now for L pool.
When you look back at some of the missed chances ... thats the difference between getting to Euro and World Cup Finals.

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 21/11/2008 11:27:09    146766

haha i liked that one samin

ThomasClarke1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 392 - 21/11/2008 11:37:40    146779

Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 1018 Y dont u shut the **** up ronan o'gara is the a lethal player for ireland and he is the highest player in irish history id love to see you do that.

Tyronefan09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 71 - 21/11/2008 11:44:41    146787

Trappatoni bad manager any reid should be on that team.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/11/2008 13:20:31    146879

Tyrone Fan, I'd love to see me do that too!!!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/11/2008 13:35:31    146896