The Non GAA Thread

patrique

I must also comment on Joe Calzaghe. I do not know if he is any good, as he has never fought anyone.

Your lenghty and contradictory post re: Joe Calzaghe (see above) smacks a little of bitterness and is scented somewhat with an whiff of begrudgery.
So what, it was the lads chosen trade of life so far and he took a fair few oul' thumps in a long career.
Isn't the object of the exercise for all of us to provide for our families whatever way we can. Good luck to him in the future I say, he gave the people of his town or village something to cheer about that they will always cherish. That is the most any sportsman can aspire to and he did it with great aplomb.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 744 - 13/11/2008 01:10:06    140179

must also comment on Joe Calzaghe. I do not know if he is any good, as he has never fought anyone.

Yes he beat Jeff Lacey, who used to be employed as a punch bag impersonator but lacked the mobility for the job. He also recently "beat" old man Hopkins, although Joe's da and myself both thought Hopkins won easily, and Roy Jones who was washed up 6 years ago. Is he now going to fight Ali?

Why did he not fighty Hopkins and Jones years ago? Why did he not fight the recently retired undefeated super middleweight champ, Ottke, especially as he was the same weight.

He beat Eubank when Chris was finished, and beat Reid by a disputed 2-1 decision. Now Reid is hardly an all time great. Joe's best win was against Kessler, again hardly an all time great.

Alas we now have about 90 world champs, although Joe is not one of them. This means it is easy to make a fortune without fighting anyone, like Hamed, Joe and the way Khan was going. Fair enough for the money, but you can't be called good unless you fight creditable opponents.

Patrique, if you knew anything about boxing you would not think Hopkins beat Calzaghe, as far as Hopkins being finished goes i think he proved two weeks ago he clearly is not, he destroyed Kelly Pavlik who is an excellent boxer, a 26 year old with a 34-0 record at the time.

He did not fight either Hopkins or Jones years ago because they dodged fighting him, for a start Jones was moving up and down the weights like crazy, by the time Joe became a really big name Jones was fighting at light heavy or heavy weight. It was not for lack of trying on Calzaghe's part that the fight did not happen. As far as Hopkins goes they had the fight signed up four or five years ago. Hopkins made huge pay demands for the fight, in my opinion in the hope the fight would never happen, his bluff was called and he got his demands met, what did he do then? Doubled his demands where he knew they could not be met. Fight off, Hopkins a happy man.

Jeff Lacy was the next big thing, Calzaghe was not given a chance, he was 3-1 in boxing terms that is a big price. Calzaghe completely dominated him winning 11 out of the 12 rounds.

Kessler who held two of the world title belts at super-middleweight recieved a similar hiding. Calzaghe unified the belts to become undisputed world supermiddleweight world champion.

Not Calzaghe's fault Eubank was the age he was.

He is this recently retired super-middleweight champion. He obviously did not hold the title for too long as Calzaghe only gave it up last year?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 13/11/2008 09:23:33    140222

Grand, that's me sorted Jayo.

Thanks RMD, I knew there were some relations somewhere.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 13/11/2008 09:26:04    140224

I see young Sheridan scored a couple for Celtic last night. Fair play.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9788 - 13/11/2008 09:29:27    140229

Everton to make it 4in a row against Middlesborough.
Cahill double in a 2-1 win

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 13/11/2008 11:56:57    140355

I saw that Lockjaw. But look whats happend to two other excellent young talents from Celtic in recent years. Colin Healy now plays for Cork City. Granted he had a miserable time with injuries. Liam can't get into the Sunderland Match squad half the time. Doing things up in Scotland is no comparrison to doing them at International level or even in the Premier league. He's a big lad though at 6"5. Exactly what Ireland need at the moment.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 13/11/2008 14:24:32    140505

patrique

So fair play to Joe for making money, but I wouldn't have him in the top hundred best fighters of the last ten years.

I think this is what Boxeater is saying. Funny thing is, I already said it.

"What Patrique says today................

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/11/2008 18:10:15    140768

Dear Samin, I know little about boxing I admit, but a bit more than you.

Sven Ottke:

Less than a year later on October 24, 1998, he won the IBF-super middleweight championship from Charles Brewer. After this he made 16 successful defenses of his IBF title against fighters like Thomas Tate, Glencoffe Johnson, Silvio Branco, James Butler, Anthony Mundine, and Joe Gatti. He was at the peak of his career when he added the WBA version on March 13, 2003 in a fight against WBA champion Byron Mitchell, winning by split points decision.

After successfully defending his title 21 times, Ottke stepped down as undefeated world champion on March 27, 2004. Ottke has a record of 34 wins and 0 losses as a professional, of which 6 were by knockout. He was named IBF "Fighter of the Year" in 2003.

Now I would say that most of this was while Joe was the WBO "champ", and as I said I don't count the WBO. Ottke was East German, fought in 3 Olympics, and beat Tavare at one of them.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/11/2008 18:15:15    140772

Did a little research myself

"Although Ottke retired undefeated, the legitimacy of his record will always be in question due to multiple controversial decisions he received in his home country of Germany. These include wins over Mads Larsen, Robin Reid, Byron Mitchell, and Charles Brewer"

3 Olympic games
0 medals

Probable reason why Calzaghe would not fight him is because he probably would have had to go to Germant to fight him and get robbed the way the above fighters did.

Impressive return at the Olympics by the way. Fight Joe Calzaghe my ass, Kenny Egan would be more than a match for him

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 14/11/2008 09:20:16    141197

I think Calzaghe's a great boxer, it's not his fault the middleweight division isn't as good as it was years ago. You can only beat what's in front of you, and he's done so emphatically. If he was born ten years earlier, he'd have had unreal competition, and I'd say he would have liked to have tested himself in a very tight middleweight era, against Collins etc, and Jones and Hopkins were younger too. But that was then, he is fighting now. Anyway, "Old-man" Jones is only 3 years older, Calazghe hasn't exactly got decades on him. You can't hold a world title for as long as him, and go through as many fights unbeaten as he has, without being a great boxer. He has had tough tests, and passed them all.

When we're on the subject of boxing, interesting to see there that Shane McGuigan, son of Barry, won the u-21 national championship in the light middleweight division. Was only 19 and in his first apperance in the championships, seems to be a chip of the old block. Good to see the lad is fighting for the Clones club like his aul man, even though he lives in England.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/11/2008 10:53:23    141280

Bye Bye Roy.......

Who do we think will be the next Sunderland manager?

What next for Roy?

Did he walk or was he sacked?

So many questions but apparantly Roy is gone. No link though.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 14/11/2008 14:43:43    141566

Hey!

Just wanted to let people know that the two great games of the GAA (no offence to the handballers!), hurling and football, were brought to New Delhi India this summer! A group of volunteers working with the Suas Volunteer Programme 08 ran a football and hurling camp for a week during the 10 week placement. The children aged 4-16 on the programme come from disadvantaged schools across delhi and were given a taste of GAA action and took to it like a duck to water. They had a blast and were firing sliotars left right and centre and would put some county teams to shame! If anyone wants to check it out and see some Irish students and Indian kids doing the game proud check or see how you can become involved check out the suas website www.suas.ie

Ais1410 (Kildare) - Posts: 1 - 14/11/2008 14:53:07    141584

Does anyone think we have a chance in the rugby tomorrow? Very strong NZ team but there seems to be a new confidence in the Irish team that they can get the 1st win. PP offering 9-2 for Ireland, worth a punt?

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/11/2008 15:30:55    141664

NSG, Patrique

Either of you back that horse today Andytown won at Cheltenham.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 14/11/2008 16:29:25    141721

AIS1410 from kildare,,, i had a peak at that, very good project indeed... tel me what club you are from ??? thank u

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 14/11/2008 17:11:16    141754

MID MON MAN,,u need to put that bet on in euro theres no punts any more..!!!!!! ha ha

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 14/11/2008 17:36:33    141778

Horse racing, Samin, is the one sport I do not follow. Well, I know what is fancied at the Cheltenham festival and won on Denham last year, but it is not a big interest. Pity, because if I am at a meeting I back by name, so would hqve backed Andytown.

I remember being at DDown Royal and telling everyone about a horse called Beal na Blatha, and it was a cert. The whole course must have backed it, as it came from 100/1 to 16/1 before winning. Everyone congratulated me on my hot tip and asked if I had inside info. When I told them I had been watching the film "Michael Collins" the night before, a few of them turned white.

By the way, what does NSG mean? Is it like LOL?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 14/11/2008 18:45:39    141807

By the way, what does NSG mean? Is it like LOL?
NonoSodiumGlutamate

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 14/11/2008 21:51:28    141930

Haha, that's right sons of erin forgot about that!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 14/11/2008 22:39:16    141962

Patrique

NSG is North Side Gael, who i directed that question to as well because i think he is a West Belfast man too. Backed Kauto at Cheltenham myself last year, case of heart ruling head.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 15/11/2008 20:38:46    142181