The Non GAA Thread

Thanks for the replies lads! Jayo, a weight has been lifted off my shoulders! Yous are all great!

RMD, IE for me.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/11/2008 17:15:10    139851

Fierfox and Linux. hate microsoft and ie + plus anyother microsoft applications.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 12/11/2008 17:23:21    139863

No painters in here lad. Interesting the concetions you have of posters on here - I have this vision of a young chap with a suit (first since communion) and a pink tie and acne, working in an office somewhere - possibly to do with finance.

But I do get a bit tetchy admittedly - I must learn to suffer fools a little more gladly. But I get your posts now - its like humour, but just ... different.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 12/11/2008 17:25:15    139865

daytona11

Anyone any idea why Jayo and Liam are so b****y today? Are the painters in girls?

I think you'll find daytona11 that if you start on one the other will defend him, ask RMDrive! :)

Liam/Jayo, ye're related aren't ye? Uncle and nephew isn't it? Or am I mistaken?

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/11/2008 17:34:34    139877

Jaysus jayo your worse than a girl. I usually come on to the forum to get away from their mood swings. Are you a woman in disguise? A hairdresser? Nah you couldn't be. Even they don't b***h this much!!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 12/11/2008 17:43:44    139887

Triona (Thanks JC, it has a nice ring to it!), Holymoly and Liam are cousins AFAIK.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 12/11/2008 17:44:07    139888

Not true Triona. That Liam fella regularly rips into Jayo! RMD thing was a bit of a staged bunfight! We are not related at all, though we do stick together the odd time in an almost Ulsterlike fashion!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 12/11/2008 17:48:49    139893

Liam and jayo are nice lads really. We all have our bad days when idiotic posters annoy us. But most of us don't get upset about it and have a good b******g session together!

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 12/11/2008 17:52:52    139898

My understanding was that there's no plural of you, but possibly due to the Gaeilge, us Irish are compelled to say youse/ye/yis. I always say yis but write ye.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12378 - 12/11/2008 17:53:24    139901

I'd imagine you don't have to come on here to avoid women Daytona - I'd say its a fairly everyday occurrence. Ah I'm being a bit cruel there - a guy with your wit, charm and knowledge of all things must have a kind of magnetic charm - they all want to head for the North or South Pole. Bet you're a bit disappointed I'm not a girl - probably be your first interaction with the fair sex in quite some time. Try a dating agency - it might make a man of you!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 12/11/2008 17:59:48    139907

We all have our bad days when idiotic posters annoy us.
daytona11 , 12/11/2008 at 17:52

Couldn't have put it better meself. And its nearly always just you funny enough!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 12/11/2008 18:01:23    139909

I must say that in my humble opinion there is a lot of interest in rugby in Ulster, certainly higher than 55%.

I must also comment on Joe Calzaghe. I do not know if he is any good, as he has never fought anyone.

Yes he beat Jeff Lacey, who used to be employed as a punch bag impersonator but lacked the mobility for the job. He also recently "beat" old man Hopkins, although Joe's da and myself both thought Hopkins won easily, and Roy Jones who was washed up 6 years ago. Is he now going to fight Ali?

Why did he not fighty Hopkins and Jones years ago? Why did he not fight the recently retired undefeated super middleweight champ, Ottke, especially as he was the same weight.

He beat Eubank when Chris was finished, and beat Reid by a disputed 2-1 decision. Now Reid is hardly an all time great. Joe's best win was against Kessler, again hardly an all time great.

Alas we now have about 90 world champs, although Joe is not one of them. This means it is easy to make a fortune without fighting anyone, like Hamed, Joe and the way Khan was going. Fair enough for the money, but you can't be called good unless you fight creditable opponents.

And as someone who used to be an avid boxing fan, Joe's mocking of Jones was a disgrace. Seven/eight years ago at their prime Jones would have slaughtered Joe, who obviously has a glass jaw as oul lads keep knocking him over.

So fair play to Joe for making money, but I wouldn't have him in the top hundred best fighters of the last ten years.

Being from the North enables me to refuse to recognise the WBO. Has any one ever noticed that most WBO champs are British?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2008 18:43:40    139938

how many people in ulster dont care about GAA,??? do many people in leinster care about rugby, ???? I.E go to club games

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/11/2008 20:20:04    140003

Anybody any idea as to why Ireland get to only play the All-blacks, whereas England and Wales get to play both the Boks and Australia....would have been awesome to see the worlds top teams slug it out in Croker.....is it a case of the IRFU slow off the mark in getting these deals done in time. A shame Brian Hebanna will never play here!!!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 12/11/2008 21:09:21    140025

Caff01

A shame Brian Hebanna will never play here!!!

a dickybird tells me he might be guesting at the Ceili in marks on sat night,on the meacorgian

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/11/2008 21:38:31    140046

the shelled slug, last seen in ireland in 1932, was spotted in glasnevin last week,

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 12/11/2008 21:42:07    140052

Caff - not sure how they work it but it is done well in advance and I don't think it's the case of the IRFU being caught napping. Yesterday, two years ago to the day, Ireland famously beat the Springboks 32-15 scoring four tries to two - including one from Brian Habana! It was the Autumn series which saw the end of the old Landsdowne Road. Eight days later Ireland trounced Australia 21-6 at the same ground limiting the Wallabies to two Stirling Mortlock penalties. So they do get some good ones alright!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 12/11/2008 21:48:25    140062

Heres an accum bet for the weekend
Blackburnv sunderland,Wiganv newcastle,Ireland v all blacks,Dont push it paddy power gold cup,and Made it taipan (if he runs in cheltenham)

conor15 (None) - Posts: 347 - 12/11/2008 22:06:12    140082

my god i embarressed to call myself a liverpool fan after tonight, clearly benitaz ( or whatever way he spells it) has no interest in the carling cup. shocking performance. hats off to spurs

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 12/11/2008 23:32:42    140157

dhorse, did someone pay a visit to the botanic gardens ????

went last week and learned about this exciting news too

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 13/11/2008 00:15:43    140170